We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Relaxation at the Hacienda del Buen Suceso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Buen Suceso
Ranked #1 of 2 Arucas B&B and Inns
Swndon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Relaxation at the Hacienda del Buen Suceso”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

It was a pleasure to stay at this luxury hotel in a most wonderful setting. The grounds are excellent set amongst banana trees. The views are good and the whole atmosphere in around the hotel is very good.
It is a relaxed hotel with friendly and helpful staff. All questions and requests were answered and followed up. There is no pressure to buy drinks or other services .No one bothered us. We had the building and grounds to walk around in with no pressures on us. Breakfast is self service and is served over a long period of time. Swimming pool is clean and heated and for a December holiday this was a most welcome break with sunshine and shelter when it was necessary to be that slightly bit warmer.
Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icySwndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
10
62
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for two weeks, the first week there was a wedding on the saturday and the music continued through the night until 5am the next morning.
The hotel restaurant served the same menu for lunch and dinner and the only change came if there were half board guests staying. The menu left a lot to be desired.
The pool was dirty as was the pool area, things only got done if you complained to the reception.
The building is beautiful but the facilities are poor. The cleanliness of the hotel rooms was also not up to 4/5 star standard, The prices were high for the accommodation but it did not reflect the level of service you were given.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermaid0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arucas hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Me and my partner went to celebrate my 30th birthday in Arucas. We got all what I had asked for - silence, private environment rather then crowd, good weather, sun and pool.
The location of the hotel is ideal - it's close to a small town Arucas and if preferred other ancient towns are in easy access, too (Teror, San Felipe). The bus stops just in front of the hotel. Other tourists might have missed the overwhelming service but we preferred NOT being troubled continuously and liked the quiet environment very much.
I recommend this hotel to all of those who would like to explore the northern part of Gran Canaria while staying in a nice building. We loved the banana plantation and the few guests!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adel_Ealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

This Hotel sells itself on its building and setting. The photos look great, and it looks like it could be a welcoming small boutique hotel.

Unfortunately, the hotel is simply a cash cow for the owner. No money is spent on anything other than the essentials. They do not expect returning guests, and don't waste money on service. The service is worse than I would expect at a 2* B&B. What sort of 100EUR a night hotel doesn't provide fresh coffee with breakfast?

A few specific examples: Coffee for breakfast is instant. It sits in a big tea urn from 7am to 11am - kept at a steady 60 degrees according to the dial. It is foul. If you want a fresh coffee, you'll be paying 1EUR 60 for it - but you'll have to walk to the counter to get it because there is no table service. There are no eggs in the buffet - of course you can pay for them separately (again, at the counter).

The rest of the breakfast is a sorry looking affair. It tastes worse than it looks. There are only about 20 rooms here, and it's not often full. A buffet doesn't work in this situation because the food is not replenished from when it is first served. There are 10 sausages in a food-warmer at 7am, and if you come at 9.30am there will be one sausage and two scraggly bits of bacon left (I kid not).

There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Instead there is a single kettle in the courtyard balanced on a rickety table. You can make all the instant coffee or tea you like. But there's no milk. And mostly no cups. You could drink it out of the kettle though.

We didn't eat in the restaurant because the breakfasts were so abysmal. I can't see it being any better.

Once you're checked in, you are really on your own. You won't see any management, nor will anyone talk to you unless you have to approach them for something. Then it will be functional.

On the positive - not that I would ever recommend staying here - the building is beautiful, the facilities are fine (but the steam room is only turned on if you ask, then wait a few hours for it to warm up). and it is very peaceful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddockScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel in March 2009. Upon arrival we were extremley impressed with the facilities and how the hote looked. It was also quite remote and lovely and peaceful exactly what we were looking for.

This is hotel is however extremely let down by the food and the service. Breakfast got worse day by day; the bread was stale everyday and the coffee was instant, you were also expected to by extra for eggs which at over 150Euro's a night is completely unacceptable.

The bar was also closed between 3-6pm; as this was something I was aware of I wasn'r too bothered. However it did seem to be the time when most of the guests were around. Something they should surely capitalise on.

We ate in the restaurant twice and I can honestly say that they were amongst some of the worst meals I have ever eaten! Mu husband's 'Hake Roman Style' was a piece of battered fish with chips and no greens or sauce to speak of. All the fruit they offered resembled tinned fruit cocktail and one meal consisted of a frozen breaded piece of Chicken - which was listed on the menu earlier in the day as a fish with onion and white wine sauce. Given that you have to pre book by 3 to eat in the restaurant this was a little unfortunate.

There were also almost no staff present and no management during our stay and although one of the waiters was extremely friendly it was the best some of the others could do at breakfast to acknowledge us.

This hotel is beautiful and has a lot of potential however we left feeling that the owners had just converted it in to a hotel in order to make the most profit and did not really care about their guests stay or the quality of what they were providing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melhuntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

If you want a holiday with a difference and with a more authentically Spanish feel then could be what you are looking for. We went in the first week of May which is considered the start of the low season. The hacienda is beautiful and original with massive stone walls and dark wood doors, beams etc. Thres is plenty of space both in the room and outside with comfortable chairs and lounger's plus a huge lounge to sit and read out of the sun if that is what you want.
We were given room 6 which is a junior suite in the quietest end of the hotel, loads of wardrobe and drawer space and a bathroom with a proper water supply to the shower (English hotels take note) the room originally was very high and had a mezzanine floor added over half of it with a couple of sofas and a small table.
When we arrived there was a noisy wedding in progress, but we were in a quiet room at the back of the hotel and given a bottle of sparkling wine in the room and a free dinner as compensation, so no complaints there.
This is in a not so touristy part of the island so don’t expect English to be widely spoken, this includes the hotel staff, while the manager, Maria and receptionist, Jessica both speak English very well and are wonderful and helpful to talk to, the remaining staff try hard with what English they have and communicating with them is just part of the fun.
The restaurant does a very limited menu which changes every day, the food is good and well presented. Breakfast could be more interesting though.
To eat out we found La Bodega in Arucas, opposite the church, it looks like just a bar from the outside but go in and up the stairs to the restaurant, the food is good and averagely priced, the owner speaks good English and will help with the Spanish menu.
There is also the Casa Brito in Visvique, which offers an extensive menu and a more formal style of service, they have an English menu which is just as well because the staff don’t speak much English, prices are much the same as anywhere else.
If you go with Thomas Cook the package includes car hire, the travel agent told us we would get directions to the hotel when we pick the car up, all we got was a map. To get there find your way to Aurcas on the GC1 and GC2 and then look for the road to Banaderos, the Hotel is one km from Arucas and has a nice big orange sign!

  • Liked — Quiet and Spanish
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eb_Db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanueva del Rosario, Spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

We have just returned from an Easter week at the Hacienda and we are sad to report very disappointed by the experience.
It looked fantastic on the web-site and the rooms, pool area, gardens, and spa are very pleasant.
However, sadly the lack of service lets it down very badly. The Buffet breakfast - with very weak luke warm coffee served from a canteen - deteriated as the week passed going from quite reasonable to very poor. Initially offering a selection of meats, cheeses, fruit ,yoghurt and a hot buffet option to some processed ham, cheese and congealed eggs!!
The hotel does not have a bar as such - you can only purchase drinks when the restaurant is open 12:00 - 15:00 AND 18:00 - 22:00. There is NO pool side service - you must go and fetch. When questioned they showed us the kettle and a few tea bags/instant coffee for guest use near reception.
Should you want to eat in the restaurant you MUST pre-book by 15:00 or you will get turned away!!! Even if your car won't start and you are unable to drive to nearby Arucas - as happened to us - if you don't pre-book from a very limited menu, they can only offer pizzas, a tuna salad, or ham or cheese!!!!
All the staff lacked the helpful service you expect from a smaller privately owned hotel and there was NO MANAGEMENT present during our stay. They all lack any idea of how to make your stay enjoyable - they were having some training on this when we left!!
Our room, although large and quite pleasant - the Jardin room (20) - was very dark (with an extremely small window) and had the feel that it wasn't used that often. It was away from the main Hacienda (below the kitchen) down some pretty steep steps.
In summary this hotel has huge potential but currently offers no more than a very expensive B&B (€1000+ for one week) in which to stay. Needless to say - we won't be returning or recommending to friends!!

  • Liked — The concept of a peaceful location
  • Disliked — No Service!!! An Expensive B&B!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arucas
10.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
7.5 mi away
Hotel Rural El Mondalon
Hotel Rural El Mondalon
#1 of 1 in Marzagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Las Calas
Hotel Rural Las Calas
#1 of 4 in Vega de San Mateo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,921 reviews
6.2 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida
Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida
#1 of 7 in Santa Brigida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Buen Suceso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Buen Suceso

Property: Hacienda del Buen Suceso
Address: Carretera Banaderos Km 1.0, 35400 Arucas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Arucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda del Buen Suceso 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda del Buen Suceso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Buen Suceso Hotel Arucas
Hacienda Del Buen Suceso Arucas, Gran Canaria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing