We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel To Stay In Goa with pathetic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Colva
Reviewed December 24, 2010

Hi all,
I was travelling to goa with my wife and had come across the hotel via traveguru. Read the reviews in trip advisor and had booked this hote via trave guru. Must say that the hotel is located in a pathetic location i.e. very close to the fishermen area in colva. the floors of the rooms are very dirty. only bathroom and the pool was good. The staff was pathetic and the minimum time taken by them to attend our calls were not less than 1 hour. Overall if anyone is looking forward to spoil your holidays he/she must definitely book this pathetic property located in a pathetic area very close to colva beach. The area used to smell of fishes. though i am a non vegetarian still will not prefer such a smell. watch out for Mr Mandor the accomadation manager full of negative body language and extremely rude. So guys dont fall for the attractive pictures and take an informed decision.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vineetkansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 419 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at the hotel with family. We came for relaxing and just going to beach. This hotel is walking distance from the beach. The rooms are just fantastic. The color combination of white pearl and turquoise green of the room is beautiful and romantic. It has biggest toilet with separate tub bath and shower area that even Taj hotel dont have.

One one BIG PROBLEM, there is hardly any hot water. There is only warm water. I had complained to the hotel and they only switched on the water heater only once. Of the 3 day stay, only one time i got hot water. That was really a shame from such a good hotel.

The swimming pool was very clean and beautiful. My daughter enjoyed playing in the pool. And i enjoyed having beer in the pool. Yes, they serve beer while playing in the pool.
There were lot of foreigners in the hotel and some where staying for like month and they where at the pool for the whole day.
The free breakfast has improved now. I read earlier in other sites that they were only serving toasts. But i saw they had something like - One south indian dish, boiled potatoes, pork and ham, fresh omelet, fruits, juice, toasts, and many things.
The general staff is polite and helpful except the receptionists on the front desk. They are really dumb and stupid. If you ask anything to them like what you can do in Colva, they have no answer.
In general the Colva beach is not clean now. The road from hotel to beach is very dirty with all fisherman's market. Lot of dirty fish smell as they are drying the fish on the road. There are no good restaurants around colva. We went to 'Fishland restaurant" , that is walking distance from hotel. It was just OK.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameerhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

The staff is impolite and non-courteous. Our room was very dirty with spider webs. The breakfast was dull with no variety..no fruits, buns, muffins etc. just toast, omelet and one south indian dish n thts it. bad power back up..once the lights went it took 5 mins to come back till then there's a complete black out. Services are very bad. The staff will not smile or say sorry and instead make faces if you complain. ovrall a bad property, do not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronny028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We went for a 2 nights stay .. stayed in their standard room booked thru' travelguru at a very reasonable cost. The place is walking distance from Colva beach and their are some wonderful beaches nearby. The hotel is tastefuly designed in shades of white and turqoise . The room was very clean, well designed .. Bathroom has tub and shower both.. The room had an ultra luxury bed, LCD TV , iron , kettle, fridge .... Staff was curteous..Swimming pool was big and well maintained..Only improvement point -- Breakfast was standard and did not match the luxury feel of the place... Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richasarathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were planning to Goa from a very long time....but due to busy schedule wasnt possible. I know we had chosen not the perfect time to Visit Goa(Monsoons), but still we are highly satisfied with our small Trip.
The biggest satisfaction comes from this cool, sweet and Trendy Resort, The Pearls Oceanique.
First of all I would like to Thank Mr. Abhiranjan for his truely kind gesture. Thanks for the chocolates!!! We felt as if we are in our knowns as everybody was so friendly there.
Mr Vijay on Reception was also very nice, friendly & kept us engaged in talking with him.
Mr Rama from the Bamboo-Top resteraunt was very nice guy, he told us many things about the Goan culture, talked about many things and also presented us a special dessert of Goa(Sorry I forgot the name)
On Every Friday, Management arrange a DJ Party, we enjoyed every bit of the music,liquor & Delicious Food (Totally Free for In-House Guest).
Bedrooms are amazingly decorated, We loved the bueish-greenish & White combination. They made it so simple but elegent, My hubby really loved the bedding....
Washrooms are fitted with Bathtubs and include all basic needs.
To summarize I just want to tell everybody, that donot expect more when you are away from Home, Then every hotel or Resort will be OK for you.
Thank GOD i found a very YUMMY place.....in a very affordable price........Go Goa!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anishakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

for me pearls Oceanique Resort was a good experience as the ambiance there was very cool and silent to relax and refresh, as from the room # 404 1 could see the beautiful fields every moment and from the balcony the view of the pool. the staff were all so king and do give you the best services. i am sure next time i m in south Goa i am in Pearls Oceanique resort...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank pearl1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We were looking for a decent hotel at a decent price in the high season in Goa.

As we wanted to be in a quite area of Goa, we were advised by an local to choose Southern Goa, Colva Beach.

The Oceanique offered the best price and had the best reviews for this category.

The room was very big and clean. Nothing special, not luxurious but clean with friendly staff. The beach is 5.10 min. walk away and was really empty and quiet.

To get there you have to walk through an area were the locas dry fish , and when you walk through the area you do smell it. Still, the smell of the drying fish did never reach the beach itsself.

Within 10 min. walk you get to the main area of the village were you can get very good and cheap local food. We only had dinner once in the hotel, the food was ok, but it was the better choice to have dinner in the village or at one of the excellent small restaurants on the beach. The breakfast did not really stay in mind, I think it was ok for a quick breakfast . Don't excpect a massive Western style buffet.

I would recommand it to everyone looking forward to long days on the beach, as the pool is not that great. But normally one does not travel to Goa for the hotel pool but for the beaches. Very good choice regaring the value you get. Very very friendly staff!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colva
1.2 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colva Kinara
Hotel Colva Kinara
#3 of 18 in Colva
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soul Vacation Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva

Address: Beach Road | 4th Ward, Colva Salcette, Colva 403708, India (Formerly Pearls Oceanique Resort)
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Colva
Price Range: $126 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst of lush green paddy fields, a whiff of sea air, a crafted beach resort, where you are assured to experience hospitality at its best. The Resort is ideal for everybody to have a great time of their life, with south Goa’s most popular white sand beach, the Colva is at a walk able distance of 500mts, offering exciting water sports and oodles of entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearls Oceanique Hotel Colva
The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing