We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Colva
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here in Feb this year. must say that the resort is exceptionally beautiful but more than the exteriors it is the service that impressed me. Thanks Hanif for being ever so helpful and warm. Loved the candle light dinner you provided for us. I am missing the resort already and it is just 24 hrs since we left.
The ground floor rooms were oh so beautiful,would recommend everyone to insist on getting one, you can just step out of the room and there the swimming pools invites you. Well maintained and clean room, though the bath tub was slightly stained. Well maintained pool too.breakfast buffet is limited compared to other resorts but food is good.
Will definitely return again and again. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipanwita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 408 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

On arrival we got a friendly reception and found our bed beautifully decorated. That's about it. The staff are not very friendly one in particular cooking the eggs was obnoxious. We were treated very much as second class guests in favour of the Russians wno make up approximately 90% of the guests and are definately give preferential treatment.
We used plates and a knife for chocolate cake on our first day,a week later the dirty plates and knife were still in our room. Cups were rinsed under tap not cleaned properly and put back tea stained. Our first change of sheets we were given 'clean' sheets with somebody elses blood stains!! Towels were not always left we often shared one towel.
We complained to the manager and things improved for 2 days but soon slipped back into can't be bothered mode. We will never use this chain of hotels again.
Apalling doesn't seem a strong enough word.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EddieT739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place has got one of the best decors of the rooms. The rooms are very well decorated and lighted with attached balconies facing the pool. The Location is very near to the beach- just a 4-5 min walk to the beach. The restaurant doesn't have a wide offering , which is a negative, but the service and ambiance is just awesome. The bar- Copper bar has a great ambiance to it as well. The swimming pool is pretty big and very clean.Overall a great place to say for a serene experience of south Goa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travorkates005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I Stayed here for 3 nights and I must say it is a very good Hotel, all rooms are Pool facing and well maintained. This hotel is around 200-250 meters far from beach, food in restaurant is also good. The Resort looks awesome at night, rooms are neat & clean, very quiet and hotel staff is very friendly. I asked them to arrange pool side dinner and I must say that it was done very well. You can get bike or car on rent from the hotel as there is a counter just outside of the hotel. Overall I had a pleasant stay and would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrigariousTraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Oceanic… is nothing of all it claims to be and pictures they use for advertisement are probably stolen from somewhere else: It is not on the beach, the advertized SPA does not exist, WiFi is outrageous expensive for being in India and personnel is not friendly nor really helpful. By the way, it is called now ‘Golden Palms’: they probably rebranded due to their bad reputation gained under the previous name.
The above was the better part as, when it comes to the rooms, they look way run down and well-populated by insects of all kind. When we were seen to our room, the food of previous guests welcomed us just before our door. I moved the rests to an area more distant from our door and there they remained ‘till the day we left, surrounded by insects and even a crow biting on them.
As we went into the room it stunk and several dead insects were scattered around the place. You’ll find that the floor is darker in the areas occupied by chairs or tables, this is because they clean around furniture (and cleaning is a big word if you consider the results). We found spider nests and ‘archeological’ dirt in all areas that were not easily reachable (under the bathroom mirror, around corners) and crusted dirt on each angular surface.
The bathroom does not have windows not is equipped with any air ventilation nor communication to the outside so it always stinks and the floor is usually dumpy. The bath tab is so dirty that you could not even think to use it.
I would not recommend to take any food from the buffet as it looks like it’s laying there since days.
They had us paying in advance for 2 days, otherwise I would have left before (and I was really longing to leave).

Room Tip: Just don't choose this place and avoid any other 'resorts' claiming to be at the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ampurias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Extremely unclean hotel and all the staff are rude and service is way below acceptable levels.
First of all they did not have the rooms ready and made us wait outside with all our luggage which took a few hours. Even after checking in they did not get us the required things for the room. Then there was breakfast which was not even good. Apart from that, they kept losing power all the time , like every 30 minutes or so.Their lunch and dinner menus are very incomplete and the staff do not seem to get any orders right. Nobody at the hotel was having lunch or dinner at the hotel, but instead were choosing to go to shacks nearby the hotel which were serving much better food.

On the second day, they did not have hot water for taking bath and instead of apologizing the staff were arguing with all the patrons of the hotel. They did not even provide towels or toiletries despite many phone calls to room service or even visiting the reception. Apart from that they refused to give drop to a nearby place after checking out, though they advertise that they give dropoff to the airport which is quite far away.

Overall our experience was horrible and this feeling was echoed by many other families who were also staying at this so called resort

Room Tip: The best way to choose a good room here is to not book here and instead go to some other hotel that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ketan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at Golden Palms (formerrly Pearls Oceanique) from 6-17 December 2012.
It's a shame I didn't hook up with the British reviewer below as I was there at the same time. I'm a Brit too.

The hotel is a 5-10 mins walk from the beach. The shortest route is through a fishing village or you can have a nice 10 minute walk down the road. There are taxi's at the hotel to take you down to Colva Beach Road if you wish - 100 rupees or just over £1.

Almost everything about the hotel was excellent. The photos do do it justice.

The pool was cleaned everyday and it was refreshing dipping in. There are plenty of loungers and umbrellas if you want to stay in the shade. The pool bar is cheap and do snacks through the day.

All the rooms are pool facing either on the ground or first floor. Mine was on the ground floor so you can open up in front of the pool. All the rooms have a porch or balcony you can sit out on. The rooms have air con and a fan - so pleasant after walking around in Goa.
Rooms also have a fridge, kettle (with tea coffee facilities), plasma TVs (can get several movie and sports channels), 2 free bottles of water a day, and a lovely bathroom/shower. Excellent.

I went Bed and breakfast. The breakfast is buffet type with a good selection. I even went for the evening meal - buffet for 450 rupees.

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

While I was there the guests did seems to be lots of Russians and asian honeymooners - but it never felt crowded.

Colva itself is great - dead cheap and quiet. This is definitely not party central which is how I like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room - preferable in block 1 or 2 - these get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colva
0.2 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colva Kinara
Hotel Colva Kinara
#3 of 17 in Colva
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva

Address: Beach Road | 4th Ward, Colva Salcette, Colva 403708, India (Formerly Pearls Oceanique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Colva
Price Range: $112 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst of lush green paddy fields, a whiff of sea air, a crafted beach resort, where you are assured to experience hospitality at its best. The Resort is ideal for everybody to have a great time of their life, with south Goa’s most popular white sand beach, the Colva is at a walk able distance of 500mts, offering exciting water sports and oodles of entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearls Oceanique Hotel Colva
The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing