We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & welcoming!”
Review of Skylark Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skylark Resort
Ranked #3 of 19 Colva B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was travelling Asia with my partner and we arrived in Goa at 4am which was 9 hours later than planned. The original hotel we had booked turned us away and we were stuck in the middle of nowhere with no place to stay. A very kind Rickshaw driver helped us find our way to Colva and Skylark. A young gentleman woke from his sleep and without question set up a room for us (even though they weren't open to the public until the weekend) and was so friendly and welcoming & the rate for the room for very reasonable and cheaper than the one we had previously booked. The twinkling lights in the palm trees, the clean & spacious room and the first class service saved me from getting the next train out of there :) I only stayed for 2-3 nights however I would have stayed longer if I didn't have a million other places to visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VictoriaCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Skylark Hotel is a peaceful haven in the centre of all the hustle and bustle of Colva, the rooms provide all the necessities together with very comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge and decent flat screen TV.
The hotel, rooms and swimming pool are all meticulously maintained and very clean.
We left the nearby Bollywood Sea Queen Hotel 3.5 weeks early and booked into the Skylark which proved to be our savour for what otherwise would have been a very miserable holiday!!!
The staff and all very pleasant and very helpful and made us very welcome as did the owners Debbie and Smowkon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlesT924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday and were invited to join the other guests for afternoon tea in the garden. With scones and jam! Very English. But the owner is from Bury St. Edmunds in Suffolk. Our poolside room was spacious and clean, and the A/C worked fine. They don't have a restaurant, but the Leda is next door, and breakfast can be served in the hotel garden. As a resort, Colva has limitations, but the Skylark was a delightful place to stay, close to the beach, but not alongside it. The trip was a mixture of business and pleasure. Staff were always helpful and friendly. Recommended.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms on the ground floor are best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillipKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night on may 03 2013,We were 9 of us. As listed in TripAdvisor it's not a B&B, you just get 10% off on some near by restaurant. The management told it's not there mistake and mistake of TripAdvisor :)
Coming to rooms, it was decent and clean. We stayed in family room and we were given rooms on other ends coming as a group we felt bad, we actually booked this a week in advance.
AC was efficient enough in 2rooms and hand shower was broken and as the plumber was vacation we were given a bucket and mug. More importantly they have a rule of using the swimming pool 8am to 7pm and the cleaner was rude he started putting chlorine exactly at 7pm :(
Finally for the price it's not worth. You get better deals around this area. .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sathyanmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We completely lucked out with the Skylark. We honestly had no idea where we were headed, other than we wanted to be in Colva, which was rumored to be less crowded and more family oriented. We chose the Skylark based on other tripadvisor reviews, and we could not have been happier. The hotel is in the center of town; you can walk to many restaurants (try Jamie's around the corner!), the beach or the ice cream stands. There is also a nearby taxi stand for venturing out, or the hotel will call you a taxi. Despite its central location, the Skylark feels completely removed. Set just off the main street, one walks into the Skylark and finds a perfectly situated group of rooms around a beautiful pool. Adjacent to the hotel is the Leda restaurant that serves food throughout the day, including bringing it poolside or to tables on the nearby lawn. The ground floor family room was perfect, tasteful, and had a great bed and nice bathroom with hot water. I traveled with three children who were free to go in and out of the room and into the pool. There were other families there, too, and some make the Skylark their annual vacation. It's easy to see why. This was the most relaxing place we stayed in India, and we do hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferB103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Came up with this little gem while looking for accommodation. Nice location, just around the corner from restaurants, shops etc., Every one of the staff bent over backwards to help us. Owners made our stay feel like home away from home. Beach a few minutes walk. We had a ground floor family room which was a great size. Such a peaceful spot. Would certainly recommend it highly

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor family room overlooking the pool. .They are the largest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned after a 3 week stay at the Skylark. The hotel is a quiet oasis in Colva with a nice garden and a great swimming pool. The Hotel does not have a restaurant or bar but don't let that put you off. In an adjoining building there is the Leda restaurant and they will serve you breakfast, lunch, snacks and drinks in the hotel garden. There is also a small coffee shop which will serve you in the garden and around the pool and a small wine shop which also stocks beer, cold drinks and water.

We travelled with Jewel in the Crown which meant that our room was upstairs in the older block and did not have AC, fridge or TV. The room was small and basic with a small balcony and cleaned every day. They operate a good system whereby you place your keys in a basket at reception and the maids know then that the room is empty and ready for cleaning. A good idea. The room is probably a 3/5 rating i.e. as no fridge no ac but we knew that when we booked. Also we are not lovers of AC. The first 5 days were hot and uncomfortable in the room BUT, and I know this is going to sound strange, they were having a heatwave. The start of March was extremely hot and humid with temperatures hitting 38 - 39 degrees and everyone was struggling, tourists and locals. These are the sort of temperatures they get in May. After the first 5 days it all went back to normal at 33 - 34. We then felt more comfortable in the room and had no problem sleeping. We found that opening the front door to the room and the balcony door for a couple of hours late afternoon really helped to cool the room.

We had a look at the rooms in the newer block which have AC, fridge and TV and they were very nice. So if that's what you want then book direct with the hotel and book your own flight.
A great place to stay, nice owners and pleasant staff. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you want AC and fridge then book direct and sort your own flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshyokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colva
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colva Kinara
Hotel Colva Kinara
#3 of 18 in Colva
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
1 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#9 of 39 in Salcette
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Resort

Address: Colva Beach 4th Ward | Colva Beach, Colva 403708, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Colva
Price Range: $69 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skylark Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Skylark Hotel Colva
Skylark Resort Goa/Colva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing