We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room on the Beach”
Review of Colva Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colva Residency
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Colva
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had been to South Goa and Karwar in Karnataka this summer. In the last lap of my tour I booked my accomodation in two A/C Delux rooms for three nights. Sea front rooms of that category in the ground floor are good and the non a/c rooms in the first floor just above the Reception have sea views. Rooms where I stayed are of average size but those are cleaned and linens are changed every day. Staff managing the accomodation part are helpful. The rooms required urgent renovation and the A/C machines fitted in the rooms are of primitive era and the temperature is fixed. The worst part of this lodge is its restaurant service run under the name of Little Goa. Please remember that room rent of all the GTDC lodges are inclusive of breakfast which is served in buffet system but in Colva it is not. In buffet system you have so many options of choosing your food. If you ask them why it is not served in buffet they will answer that unless the occupation of the lodge is full there will be no buffet. They will not permit you to choose both veg and non-veg items. Food quality is also not good but the price can compete with any good quality restaurant. Actually after the first night I along with my colleague had our lunch and dinner from a private restaurant just by the side of the lodge. So all the good thing of the lodge is eclipsed by the worst catering service.

Bhaskar Ghose.

Room Tip: Sea front A/C rooms in the Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ghosebhaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Have been goa last week and observed few points.. Hotel staff was not cooperative ,Food quality was very poor, overall service was very poor. i dont recommend any one to stay there ,it is not worth staying even at the off season rates..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11Amit55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This Goa plan was made all of a sudden and had just 1 day to do all the booking. With inputs from family n friends we decided to stay at Colva Residency as its located just on the beach. The location of the resort is really the most positive thing about it. But being a govt resort, it lacks some of the shine n show. But I must say if u want to stay in a budget hotel, this resort will rank 1st in the list. The room service was good and the people were helpful and nice. But avoid food at the resort, its just not worth it. You will find many hotels around the hotel especially the shack's at beach are awesome. Go for Benny's Shack or Dominck's Shack.Anyways the rooms r big n spacious. Bathroom was also clean n big. Overall it was a satisfactory stay.

Room Tip: try the rooms on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MayukhDutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have been to Goa many a times. Twice we have stayed in Colva Residency. The biggest advantage of this hotel is it is bang on the beach. No other private propety has such proiximity to the beach. But the food is not good in the hotel. The room service, cleanliness is good. We took a non AC room this time in the ground floor, which had a sit out area and a very nice view of beach can be seen. Room was good with a good view,clean bathroom,properly made beds with fresh linen.
The cottages are best avoided and inside are not good, but service is very good to them.
There are lots of Indian/Multicuisine/South Indian/Continental cuisine all round Colva beach so food is not an issue at all.
River cruise trips, North and South Goa tours are available from the resort itself.
I would recommend this for families.

Room Tip: First floor AC rooms have better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anshuman8_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we have been to Goa on 18th Feb 2013,unfortunate to stay at colva residency..I booked a sea facing ac room well in advance( 3 months before) and paid the full amount including taxes for 4 nights. They allotted a cottage , but after two nights they asked us to shift to a near by hotel.On enquiry we came to know that they have allotted the same room to some other influential person.This type of action is not expected from a place like Goa,that too from a tourism hotel. Goa 's main industry is tourism, if the govt owned hotels behave like this their tourism suffers and gradually the budget class tourists shift to Kerala.
Regarding the food----there is a fixed complimentary break fast. Don't take it better to remain fast.
The only plus point is the location, beach is very near to the residency.

Room Tip: Better to stay in some other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sriniwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed in Colva Residency for 3 times in a row.My first stay was in the AC rear view room,near the garden. I would suggest the first floor rooms as the ground floor ones are easily accessible from the garden. Room was good with a nice view,clean bathroom,properly made beds,no complain about the housekeeping. Once I tried the cottage also,but found it not that much well maintained compared to AC rooms. This room looked shabby and not well lit. An AC next room made grinding noise and the whole place was waterlogged due to rain at night. Insects are another kind of problem here,they easily invade the rooms at night. Even I chased away several frogs,whenever I tried to keep the room door open they tried to enter without paying the room charge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The location is awesome,this is something called staying "on the beach". The backside of this property is not at all well maintained,but the front garden and surrounding area is good for relaxation and walk. They have a restaurant called little Italy which serves Goan cuisine and north Indian items,but a smart tip is to eat outside. Food is good,service...slow. Reception people have an attitude,but one lady is very helpful and well mannered.They arrange for sightseeing tours with expert guides,we befriended some of them,especially Dada,Sachin and Sailesh....They are very informative and helpful.Prices for those trips are moderate,but the room charges are high,if compared to the other properties around this place. Food charges are moderate....the main drawback is,this place seems quite dull and boring. In the evening they play some music,but that's quite old...The main reason for going back there is actually something else. They have an excellent massage center,Bhargava Ayurveda.......... Gosh,it's a miracle! My age-old back pain vanished for the first time after taking massage there. The owner of this set-up is a very polite and well behaved lady,one must try some treatment there during stay in Goa.
The service is overall good,awesome location,one can chill out in the garden or sea facing tables in restaurant and watch the activities on the beach....still there is some room to improve the quality of service. Management should not take their customers for granted,at least some nice behaviour is expected from people in hospitality industry.Cleanliness is not a big issue,but they should do something serious about the pest problem.Last but not the least,the quality of food and entertainment should be improved. Paying such a high price only for a room doesn't justify in Goa,they should add some more "spice" to it :). Overall,satisfactory experience in Colva Residency,the GTDC hotel on Colva beach.

Room Tip: 1. Sometimes they provide complementary breakfast,but wise decision is to avoid that. Especially don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chalojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The worst hotel I ever been in. Dirty rooms in terrible condition. This was my 11th visit in Goa and I have seen a lot but nothing like this. The bed was dirty and hard. The walls were in terrible condition. I got big problems with my breathing. A room as mouldy as this shouldnt be in use. Changed room once but not to anything better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colva
0.3 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
0.1 mi away
Graciano Cottages
Graciano Cottages
#15 of 17 in Colva
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Salcette
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colva Kinara
Hotel Colva Kinara
#3 of 17 in Colva
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colva Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colva Residency

Address: Colva Residency 4th Ward, Colva 403708, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Colva
Price Range: $25 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colva Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colva Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colva Residency Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing