We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different lanzarote”
Review of Caserio de Mozaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caserio de Mozaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights end of November 2007. The hotel is an old converted farmhouse in the middle of the countryside, about half an hour's drive north of Arrecidfe airport. You need to rent a car to stay here, but definitely worth considering if you want to see a different side of Lanzarote from the beach resorts. It's location in the middle of the island makes it ideal if you want to see as much as possible in a short break. It is not the place to go if you are looking for sun and sea.

The hotel has about 10 rooms and a couple of suites. We booked a suite (costing little more than a room), and it was very comfortable with a stunning picture window giving views across towards Teguise and the sea beyond. It was unseasonably cold when we stayed there, but we were provided with a couple of oil-filled radiators which kept us warm. The bedroom was comfortable, the bathroom huge with a bath and separate shower - but no door, it was open to the small (cupboard-lined) corridor which connected the sitting room and bedroom.

The large restaurant at the hotel serves very good food, and seemed to be quite well patronised by locals. There is a small bar, but only big enough for about 4 people, so on a chilly evening there is not much to do except eat and then retire early - the tv did not have any english-
speaking stations, only spanish and german. Would imagine in warmer months it would be very pleasant to sit in the garden or on the terrace with a refreshing cold drink, but not in November!

The breakfasts were served in a smaller room and were self service with a good choice of cereals, cheese, cold meats, fruit etc and eggs cooked to order. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the hotel clean and very peaceful.

Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
2  Thank thetwojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2008

We spent ten nights at Caseria deMozaga, covering the Christmas and New Year period 07-08. Overall, it was a positive experience - the the buildings are attractive and low-key, with some nice original details retained, and the garden area with its stark, striking plants and black 'catlitter' sand is a pleasant place to sit and read.

However there were a few significant drawbacks. Our room - Garden Room number 10 - was small for a ten night stay, and a glass door between the bedroom and bathroom made us glad we know each other very well. It was also quite chilly at night, but there was no additional heating so we had to wrap up in the extra blanket provided - not ideal.

Our shower also habitually overflowed heavily, and following the progress of the large puddle which amassed, we found a pool of stagnant water under the wardrobe, which may well have been there for several weeks and would have accounted for the room's damp smell. We alerted the owner to this problem, and though he was polite he did not seem overly concerned. Our toilet also ceased to flush during our stay and took several attempts to repair. There was no offer made to adjust our bill at the end of our stay as compensation for the nuisance.

We had been attracted by the reputation of Caseria's restaurant, but on arrival found that for most of the nights we were there, kitchen staff were reduced and only a set menu was on offer. The food offered was, in the main, pretty grim. Indifferent soups, fish which did not taste fresh, and poor cuts of meat. On the two nights we were able to eat a la carte, the difference in quality was immeasurable. I would advise anyone to check very carefully about the food on offer before committing to eat at the restaurant. If the set menu is on, give it a miss.

The staff at Caseria are very hardworking and pleasant - our waitress worked every night alone, and was run off her feet but was delightful and very helpful in recommending some great wines, and the breakfast staff were both lovely ( breakfasts are plentiful and good, and the freshly squeezed orange juice is a good start to the day).

I feel that the management at this hotel are perhaps a little complacent and need to iron out some of the detail on order to bring the standard up to where they clearly wish to have it.

Nonetheless we enjoyed our stay and would try another 'Casa Rurale' if we return to Lanzarote - which is a great destination; far better than we expected.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank BrightonianMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank orflore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank alessia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Suite Nummer 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christiane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank carlito1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bartolome
1.7 mi away
Finca de la Florida Hotel
Finca de la Florida Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Bartolome
84 reviews
7.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
10.3 mi away
La Casona de Yaiza
La Casona de Yaiza
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
624 reviews
8.6 mi away
Casa el Morro
Casa el Morro
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Tomaren
Casa Tomaren
#1 of 2 in Mozaga
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caserio de Mozaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caserio de Mozaga

Address: Malva 8, 35562 San Bartolome, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > San Bartolome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Bartolome
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caserio de Mozaga 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caserío de Mozaga is a traditional canarian farmhouse built in late XVIII century and listed in the Historic Catalogue of Lanzarote located in an estate of approximately 10.000 sqm.8 double rooms, two of them with private salon.Each room has bathroom fully equipped with bath, hair dryer, amenities, magnifying mirror, wifi, satellite television and heating.•Lounge•WIFI: free access•Laundry•Private Parking•Car rental•Massage Service•Doctor Assistance•Fax•Help and advice on the variety of activities to be found in the island: cultural, nature, sports, gastronomic and special events.•Breakfast from 08.30 to 10.30 a.m.•Caserío de Mozaga counts with a restaurant -independently managed- located in the old stables of the farmhouse. It opens every evening from 19,30 to 22,30 p.m. Tuesday closed.Macaronesia GardenAtractive garden of volcanic sand planted with endemic plants of the island and samples of blossom flowers, cactus and a large variety of bushes and flowers of the macaronesia region.You can enjoy Aloes,Echiums, Aeoniums, Cardones , Veroles and different types of lichens, buganvilleas, canary palms, drago and big rubber plants.We have no umbrellas but the rubber plants and palm trees will protect you from the sun , and you will enjoy the relax of reading or sleeping under their shade. New solarium area with rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caserio de Mozaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caserio De Mozaga Hotel San Bartolome
Caserio De Mozaga Lanzarote/San Bartolome, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing