We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet location, great service and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Agaete
Certificate of Excellence
belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet location, great service and good food”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and we were very delighted. The hotel is ideal for naturelovers. (lots of walking possibilities in the neighbourhood). We liked the quietness. I must say that you, preferably, need your own car whle staying here. The food was very good. The beds were super. The swimming pool and the jacuzzi so nice. And we liked the amazing view of the ocean and the mountains. I would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramanando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    297
    80
    25
    13
See reviews for
83
487
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Nearly everything about this hotel is great - staff are really helpful and friendly, you have a great view out over the pool and sea, easy access to the town along the front and just about any facilities you want (spa, pool, squash court, table tennis). The rooms are great, spacious and very comfortable, and we loved the pool bar (lovely spot, great salads and friendly staff).
But, oh, the restaurant across the road from the entrance. The waiter was great but the main course we had on our first night was shocking ...the hake smelled and the little we ate was tough, half the potatoes were black. The soup starter was fine (though was squash not courgette as the menu said) and the dessert was more cream than anything else. We didn't go back (except for breakfast, which was good). The pizza place on the other side of the restaurant was good and we should have walked into town to one of the fish restaurants. The restaurant (but not the pool bar) is completely out of sync with the rest of the hotel and lets it down. Our advice would be don't eat there. Luckily, you can avoid it and it doesn't need to affect how good the rest of the hotel is.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Set in a fantastic almost secluded location, Hotel Roca Negra offers some really good facilities. If you like an "up market" hotel then this is definitely for you!

There's not much to do on the island unless you have a car, so for anyone who wishes just to relax, this is an ideal place!

There's a tiny village around a 10/15 minutes walk from the hotel and you can get to it via walking down the beach front, views of which are breathtaking.

The only "negative" comment I would make is that there are only a couple of English speaking staff everyone else is Spanish and speak no English at all so communication, especially in the bar, can be difficult. All-in-all everyone is very friendly.

If you're staying half board the breakfast range is very good, evening meals not to my personal liking but they serve food at the pool bar and also next to the restaurant (around the back) there is a pizzeria.

Be warned it's about an hour journey from the airport and a taxi costs between 65 - 70 euros!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK8-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Really nice hotel but with some serious shortcomings. I'll tell you about the good stuff first. The bedrooms are really smart and stylish and the decor and furnishings are really funky. Also, the breakfasts are pretty good. However, the hotel isn't very child friendly and they don't like kids messing about in the pool. Similarly, the restaurant options at the hotel and the nearby town are extremely limited and overall, we wouldn't go back there for that reason.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gussybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Hotel Roca Negra (RN) is a four star hotel which opened in January 2010.

LOCATION:

The Hotel is located in a new residential development in the port town of Agaete. It is about a 30 minute drive to Las Palmas (the capital) , 45 minutes to the airport.

In the immediate vicinity of the hotel, there are no other restaurants or bars. Agaete itself developed as a fishing port and as a ferry terminal for ferries to Tenerife. The town is quiet; there are a few locals bars though a number of cafes serving simple though fresh seafood.

As Hotel RN is located in the quiet north-western part of the island, a car is esential for touring arond, especially on days when the sun is shy coming out.

ROOMS:

The rooms are very spacious with quality mattress and bedding. Each room has a 'business desk' plus a sofa and occasional chair for relaxing. Again, each room has a terrace either looking out on the ocean or the pool area. The terrace has a table and chairs.

Bathrooms are well equiped - single though wide basin with a good mix of toiletries, toliet, bidet and shower-over-bath. The bath though is a little small, maybe to encourage guests to use the spa facilities! The water in the bathroom was just warm and a 'complaint' made to Reception on Day 1 of my two day stay was not resolved.

POOL AREA:

There is a sizeable 'adult' pool, with adjacent jacuzzi; there is also a childrens pool. There is a full-time attendant by the pool. There are sufficient sun loungers and chairs around the pool area.

There is a cafe bar adjacent to the pool, area that does excellent snacks - try the 'Royale baguette - smoked salmon with caviar, for a mere EUR4.00!

Just beyond the pool area, a nice garden is being developed though will take some time to reach maturity. Beyond the garden, cliffs drop down to the sea.

From the garden, there is a steep concrete path leading down to a series of salt-water pools. Some locals were swimming in these pools during my stay.

FOOD:

I only had breakfast during my two day stay. It was typical buffet-style with a range of cooked items (bacon, eggs etc), cereals, juices, fresh fruit etc. The cooked food was lukewarm. Overall, the breakfast quality could have been better for a four-star hotel.

GUEST PROFILE:

There was a mix of nationalities during my stay: French, British, Spanish, etc. The British were the more prevalent nationality. Many guests were couples with young children. The profile of the other guests was wide-ranging: a few singles, retired couples etc.

STAFF:

Overall, the staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. This is probably this hotel's principal selling point. All staff from check-in, cafe, pool-side were appeared genuinely interested in their guests.

SPA:

Hotel RN has a great spa for a four-star hotel. Use of the spa is extra depending on which facilities you use. I had a massage followed by a 'circuit' of most of the spa facilities - various' jacuzzis', Turkish bath, sauna, steam, salt-water bath etc. There is also a small gym with the latest machines as well as 'free weights'.

CONCLUSION:

Overall, this is good value, welcoming four-star resport hotel, ideal for a relaxing break in a quiet town in northern Gran Canaria. As it is off the 'beaten track', a car is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROWINGGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The façade is the least impressive aspect about this hotel but once you're in it's a very satisfying experience indeed. Felt slightly above a 4 star. Highlights include: a great pool area with sea views; large rooms which only need another carpet; great spa and sport facilities; very good breakfast too. Hotel is just next to Puerto de las Nieves where the ferries to Santa Cruz in Tenerife depart and arrive from. A 10 minute walk by the sea takes you to the village of Puerto, which is a typical fishermen village with a few good restaurants at surprisingly cheap prices. A sandy beach is also within 10 minutes' walk. Not the trendiest of locations, but quiet enough and pretty close to the airport (about 45 minutes' drive). More than met expectations and I'm giving it my nod as a top 4-star property.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ip202659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
216 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This is a good hotel if you want to relax and enjoy nature. In our case, we were in a meeting in Las Palmas, which meant 45minutes by minibus/taxi or 1+1/2 hour by public bus! But the fact that we had an excellent room with a great view waiting for us in the end of the day made us forget this little cons.
Our room was on the 2nd floor and was below the reception level (which is in 4th floor). The corridors between the rooms are outside and with a nice view to the black rocks.
Our room was a superior one, with plenty of space and comfortable and good quality furniture. The wardrobe was big enough and had a safebox - to activate it, you'll have to leave a 5€deposit that they'll give you back in the end of the stay. We had also a balcony, facing the pool and the sea.
The beds were quite comfortable, the A/C a little noisy.
The bathroom was spacious, with a lot of toiletries, two bathrobes and slippers.
The service was excellent, from the maids to the reception staff and restaurant staff: everyone was so nice and always tried to make us feel good and pleased!
The breakfast had an acceptable variety and, above everything, the food had very good quality: hot bread, sausages, mushrooms, bacon, fruit, cereals, fresh made juices...
We had dinner twice in the restaurant and the food was good, despite one day I ordered an avocado cream and it was bitter: when I complained, the lady was so nice and polite and she apologized and brought a lobster soup that was great!
In the summer I think this hotel can be quite busy but now it was quiet and allowed us to rest from our long days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_teresa_simoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agaete
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Cabo
Hotel El Cabo
#2 of 8 in Agaete
148 reviews
22.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,050 reviews
19.9 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
816 reviews
17.2 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
642 reviews
25.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra

Property: Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
Address: Avenida Alfredo Kraus 42 | Urb. El Turmán, 35480 Agaete, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Agaete
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Agaete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in January 2010, the Roca Negra Hotel & SPA is integrated in the volcanic rock of the marine village of Agaete at the rough and pristine coastline of northern Gran Canaria.In a remote environment, far away from agglomerations and stress, the hotel is an oasis for travellers yearning for tranquility and a deep connection with nature.The Hotel offers an outdoor salt water pool, Jacuzzi, Squash court, Gym, Restaurant “Le Rubinie” (á la carte), Restaurant “La Caleta” (italian specialities), Pool Bar “Roca Lounge” and Cocktail Bar “La Colombaia”.For Body and Mind, nothing better than a visit to our SPA “Ossidiana”. Reward yourself with this gift of wellness and relaxation. Finally, the hotel surroundings propose a large variety of activities that invite us to enjoy nature: mountain biking, trekking, diving... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra Agaete, Gran Canaria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing