We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Puerto De Las Nieves(Agaete)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel JM El Pino(Teror)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
El Lance(Firgas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
320
323
98
29
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
323
98
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirect access to the poolsteep pathpool barclassic roomgran canariaoutdoor jacuzziother hotel guestslovely hotellocal portsea viewfour star hotelcomfortable roomevening buffethire carlas nieveshot and cold foodthe cliff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 785 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Look what can I say I am an experience traveller and if you like total peace and quiet away from the crowds and of an evening you like to drink your supermarket bought wine and sit and read a book on the balcony then this is the place for you.
There is nothing actually wrong with Roca negra it is voted number 1 in agate as its the only hotel there, it's clean and average as far as hotels go the big thing for me was it was soulless and had not atmosphere.
If you are used to fine dining then you will find the local restaurants appalling to say the least, however there is a lcool little bar on the dock side which looks really local but juan the owner is very hospitable.
Of course everything is a matter of opinion but in my view Roca negra is dull and lifeless ,with average breakfast a pool bar that struggled to serve 5 tables and a couldn't care attitude at reception, on the plus the fishing village is pleasant and the Italian restaurant at Roca was a surprise.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo90Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We arrived a week ago, and were greeted very warmly by the lovely receptionist. The hotel was surprisingly impressive, in the most stunning location near the edge of a very picturesque coastline, with its rugged beauty ! The hotel room was very large, clean and zen, and looked out into a beautifully landscaped swimming pool area. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay, and we were looked after. The only thing that the hotel could provide, is a better room service and an a la carte menu in the restaurant. Apart from this, our stay was flawless ! We highly recommend a stay, there !

Room Tip: I possible, ask for a double room on the swimming pool level looking out onto the pool and sea.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yosimarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel, and chose it based on the reviews we read on Trip Advisor - we weren't disappointed.

The hotel itself is situated in a beautiful peaceful location overlooking the small town Agaete on the northern coast of Gran Canaria. The hotel itself is very clean & modern, all the rooms look out over the swimming pool. The rooms on the ground floor have little patios with direct access to the pool, those on the higher floors have balconies with wonderful sea views. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and the food was good. It is a short walk from the hotel down to the sea front at Agaete, and to natural salt water swimming pools. From from the port it is possible to cross by fast boat over to Tenerife one hour away.

We found Agaete a good base to explore the island from, with some spectacular drives along the coast and up into the mountains. Hiring a car if staying at this hotel is highly recommended. The hotel itself is just under an hours drive from the airport, along good roads.

The only negative things I would say about the hotel is that the pool was a bit too cold for us (it was a shame it wasn't heated), and there were no tea & coffee making facilities in the room - but this seems to be the case with most hotels in Europe. We also found the air conditioning a little noisy at night, but this is only a very minor complaint, and it didn't cause us any problems. The weather was generally good, but not as reliable as the weather in the south.

If you want a relaxing peaceful holiday, away from the main tourist hot spots, in a really good hotel then I'd highly recommend this one. It is particularly suitable for couples, or people staying with friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor have patios with direct access to the pool. Rooms on higher floors have balconies with lovely sea views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sbickers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

having travelled to Gran Canaria 10-12 years ago and staying at the busy end of the island and really not liking it I was worried when my husband said he had booked for us to go again - but I neednt have been. Roca Negra is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful and rugged location. If you're looking for lots of bars, restaurants and full english breakfast then this hotel and area is not for you. If you want a peaceful, relaxing time local food and drink and a chance to practice your spanish (mines not very good) then Roca Negra is the place, Staff are friendly and helpful, some with more english than others. Food is good although limited choice, but plenty of veg, salad and fruit and lovely desserts and cheese. We were staying B&B which gave us opportunity to explore the local port area for lunch and dinner - lovely. The hotel is immaculately clean, pool area lovely, kids pool and jaccuzzi hot, adults pool a bit chilly. Gentle, but initially hilly walk into port area along sea front - if i can do it most people can. Great place for a few days in the sun - 4/5 nights would be enough - perhaps 2 weeks would be too long. A good place to stay if you're island hopping as catamaran to Tenerife leaves from port. Would like to visit again, especially later in the year to see how different it might be later in the season

Room Tip: ground floor has small garden leading onto poolside and short walk to bar. 1st and 2nd floor have better sea views
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyashfield a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you're looking for a place with the perfect seaside view where you can relax and enjoy excellent italian food away from mass tourism, then this is the perfect choise.
All rooms have a seaside view.
Rooms a nicely and modern furnished with comfortable beds.
The food is very tasteful.
Nice area for long walks at the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank concegoes4barca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews