We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Agaete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2012

having travelled to Gran Canaria 10-12 years ago and staying at the busy end of the island and really not liking it I was worried when my husband said he had booked for us to go again - but I neednt have been. Roca Negra is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful and rugged location. If you're looking for lots of bars, restaurants and full english breakfast then this hotel and area is not for you. If you want a peaceful, relaxing time local food and drink and a chance to practice your spanish (mines not very good) then Roca Negra is the place, Staff are friendly and helpful, some with more english than others. Food is good although limited choice, but plenty of veg, salad and fruit and lovely desserts and cheese. We were staying B&B which gave us opportunity to explore the local port area for lunch and dinner - lovely. The hotel is immaculately clean, pool area lovely, kids pool and jaccuzzi hot, adults pool a bit chilly. Gentle, but initially hilly walk into port area along sea front - if i can do it most people can. Great place for a few days in the sun - 4/5 nights would be enough - perhaps 2 weeks would be too long. A good place to stay if you're island hopping as catamaran to Tenerife leaves from port. Would like to visit again, especially later in the year to see how different it might be later in the season

Room Tip: ground floor has small garden leading onto poolside and short walk to bar. 1st and 2nd floor have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyashfield a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 755 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you're looking for a place with the perfect seaside view where you can relax and enjoy excellent italian food away from mass tourism, then this is the perfect choise.
All rooms have a seaside view.
Rooms a nicely and modern furnished with comfortable beds.
The food is very tasteful.
Nice area for long walks at the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank concegoes4barca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

beautiful hotel, nice food, professional and gentle staff, unique setting, looking at the northern, almost untouched coast. Puerto de las nieves is 5 minute walk away (there is also a fast ferry for Tenerife, 1 hour trip but expensive). You can get there by a bus connecting directly Las Palmas to Puerto de las Nieves-Agaete, or by renting a cheap car at the airport. Northwest of the island is much less touristic and west coast has breathtaking views all along its side. Dont miss a visit to Pinar de Tamadaba, that you can reach with a rather long walk directly from the hotel. You will be happy to stay there, alone or in good company!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Etheldreda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

On the plus side, the Roca Negra is very new, in good order, and modern. Beautiful views and lovely rooms. The staff are all friendly and helpful except in the restaurant where they are quite rude. A great place to relax and very laid back.
On the minus side, you're in the middle of nowhere and will definately need a car. They advertise a heated pool but it was freezing. We had breakfast included but this becomes very old after a few days as it never varies. You have to love cold scrambled eggs a lot!! Also, take your own coffee as there is none in your room, and the stuff at breakfast you can seal a roof with....we didn't eat other meals there, but went to the village where you can get good value and quality. We suggest the piella for 2 at The Dido De Dios!!
A nice place, great for a romantic break or a very short stay only.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 3rd. floor as the views are stunning and with the tiled floors you won't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for two days and the main problem we had was the food! The resturant was only open at certain hours and the bar had expensive sandwitches/ salads for 7 euro! We are both vegeterians and found little on offer either in the hotel or in the nearby town which was geared to fresh fish lovers. The set menu in the hotel was 24 euro per person and had not much to offer.
On the positive side, the rooms were modern, clean and designed very well. The staff were very friendly. The pool was lovely, good depth without being too deep.
We were disapointed at the lack of English language stations, we tried to connect our DVD but we were told this was not allowed by the management. There was no bank link machine in the hotel and we had difficulty getting cash out in the local port.
Its a very quite place with not much to do, when we were there it was quite breezy.
The best thing about this hotel was the spa, the massage were amazing, some of the best ive ever had! Although they are the same price as at home 60-80 euro for 45 mins. The indoor spa pool was expensive at 25 euro per person and was not free to hotel guests or included in the massage price. There was no hotel entertainment in the evenings and it was a long steep walk to the port in the dark. Most of the resturants close befor 10.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deewicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Roca Negra hotel is situated in great place, it is very clean, and november also very quiet. You need a car, otherwise might come boring... We made trips to all over the Gran Canaria, everything is quite near.It was really nice to walk that road which went near the sea to the village of Agaete. Staff was friendly, but i was bit disapointed because they didn't notice my birthday. And the food... I can't understand how food can be cold every breakfast and dinner even when the restaurant was just opened. (couple times we had to wait until they remembed to open the restaurant...) We had also a 5 meal dinner... it was terrible. Exception was Restaurant Lacaete, it was great! (open only weekends...). Best in the hotel was bartender Andrea, thanks to you!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jursti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Very nice hotel loved in the mountains of Agaete; closed to the Puerto del Deo de Dios.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agaete
0.3 mi away
RK Hotel El Cabo
RK Hotel El Cabo
#2 of 8 in Agaete
169 reviews
25.1 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
20.3 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,232 reviews
22.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,293 reviews
17.2 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra

Address: Avenida Alfredo Kraus 42 | Urb. El Turmán, 35480 Agaete, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Agaete
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Agaete
Price Range: $110 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in January 2010, the Roca Negra Hotel & SPA is integrated in the volcanic rock of the marine village of Agaete at the rough and pristine coastline of northern Gran Canaria.In a remote environment, far away from agglomerations and stress, the hotel is an oasis for travellers yearning for tranquility and a deep connection with nature.The Hotel offers an outdoor salt water pool, Jacuzzi, Squash court, Gym, Restaurant “Le Rubinie” (á la carte), Restaurant “La Caleta” (italian specialities), Pool Bar “Roca Lounge” and Cocktail Bar “La Colombaia”.For Body and Mind, nothing better than a visit to our SPA “Ossidiana”. Reward yourself with this gift of wellness and relaxation. Finally, the hotel surroundings propose a large variety of activities that invite us to enjoy nature: mountain biking, trekking, diving... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra Agaete, Gran Canaria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing