We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“handy for the rock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“handy for the rock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in November 2013. Very new hotel, so the amenities are very good. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was quite good. Shopping is close by. It is a little tricky to find as it is behind the shopping mall and theaters and the driveway wasn't finished. Parking lot is a little limited. I'd go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for spending your time at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar and for sharing your experience about your stay on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your overall experience and our customer service and We sincerelly hope that we will be your place to stay in Campo de Gibraltar.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    160
    45
    5
    3
See reviews for
135
104
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our vacation itinerary was screwed up thanks to British Airways (I will never fly them again). So, we quickly had to find a hotel near Gibraltar for a reasonable price. I was travelling with my adult children so needed two rooms. We were quite surprised by the quality and value of this hotel - located just minutes from the Spain-Gibraltar border.

Driving up, you get a bit worried since the road isn't the best and it is in a very industrial area. But, it was a long day and we just wanted to get a snack and a few shots of Caballero (a liqueur native to the Andalucia area of Spain - where this hotel is located). When we arrived inside, the staff was very welcoming and the hotel lobby was clean but nothing spectacular. The room rate for each room was only 50EUR/night. Since I was a Priority Club member, we got WiFi for free.

We went down to the restaurant and ordered a couple of appetizers, the Caballero, a few beers and other beverages. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant and we met a family from the United States also staying there - who we saw a few days later in Seville (what's the chances of that?!). There were soft, comfortable couches near the bar/reception where we relaxed before going to bed.

The accommodations were very nice. We had 2 rooms, each with twin beds. The rooms were very clean, well appointed, and roomy - but, not much of a view. But, for 50EUR, I was ok with it. If ever in the area again, I would stay here.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a room with a view, don't pick this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burnsomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely.

I truly appreciated your comments about our staff service and attitude and you can be sure that your warm comments will be shared with our them.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is located on the outskirts of the Algeciras. It is situated in a industrial area making a good option for business travelers though it is very close to the Highway.

The hotel is a low cost hotel with very little or no service. The rooms are Ok though pretty small. The room has a Hairdryer, TV and an Almirah as amenities. The Wifi is chargable but the connection is good.

The staff is pretty warm but it being a low cost hotel has no room service. The lunh and dinner is menu is pretty limited and the food is very average in taste. The Breakfast is included and is the only saving grace when it comes to the food.

Apart from the same there is no recreational facility in the hotel. It has no gym or pool.

Overall a good place for a short business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishish_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director General at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for spending your time at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your stay with us is highly appreciated and we wish to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Andres Roda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as its not too far away from Gibraltar and Tarifa by car.

The address of the hotel is a bit misleading - if you are using a sat nav, don't type in "Palmones" as it will lead you to another retail park which is a few miles away from the hotel. It will be easier to drive along the motorway and leave at exit 113B - you should come across a Macdonald and a few large retail stores such as Media Mart and C & A before you see the hotel - which is hidden behind these stores.

The hotel had plenty of free parking spaces located to the front of the hotel.

The room was large and comfortable with modern decor. The bathroom was of a good size and very clean. The room had tea making facilities which was convenient as none of the other hotels I stayed in Andalucia had tea making facilities inside the room.

Room rate included continental breakfast (served till 11am) which offered quite a good range of cold meat, bread and fruits.

Staff was friendly and if you register to become a "Holiday Inn Priority Club" member prior to arrival then you can get free wifi. Otherwise you can get wifi for a small charge.

Food wise I didn't find any decent restaurant in the nearby town Algeciras so I went to a small restaurant called "Ziryrab Meson" (see my other reviews) in a small village near Los Borrios (15 minutes by car). They served really good Mediterranean food. Otherwise you can eat in the nearby Macdonalds or in the hotel but it served mainly fast food (e.g.burger and salad) without any local distinctiveness.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to visit Gibraltar and/or Tangier and have access to a car (I recommend that you leave from Tarifa port which is less than 20km from the hotel).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace_from_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! It is always a great pleasure to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with others!

We really hope to see you again in a very near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is typical Holiday Inn Express - lovely room and great complimentary breakfast. We had problems finding the hotel with the satnav which didn't recognise the address. The location of the hotel is in a commercial zone which is Spanish for an industrial estate. However, just left of the entrance and down the road a bit was an American diner called Fosters of Hollywood and a tavern type pub which meant that you could have a meal and a couple of drinks without having to drive or get a taxi. We had planned to spend a day in Morocco but read reviews and spoke to too many people who advised against it because of the hassle with people selling things over there and decided instead to spend a day in Gibraltar. For this trip we couldn't have picked a better base as it was only a 20 minute drive away. Staff were very friendly and bed was very comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tonopase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director General at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for spending your time at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar and for sharing your experience about your stay on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel in industrial Estate. Good for a quickstep over. Room very good and clean. Do not take a room beside building site. Noisy! Breakfast okay and included with room. Close to gibraltar and Algeciras. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms good but not beside building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director General at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was very glad that I chose this hotel. Room was perfect, breakfast enjoyable, good location for us (Close to Gibraltar, where we spent a day, also close to Algeciras from where we took the ferry to Ceuta). If you have a car (like we did) and want to visit Morocco and/or Gibraltar this is the perfect hotel to stay in! There was no queue to Gibraltar (5 mins in and 5 mins out). Restaurant is closed on Sunday so unfortunately we couldnt try that out, but the front desk lady gave us a buy 1 get 1 free voucher for Foster Hollywood, just across the corner. (Great restaurant! Try the BBQ Rib!). If you fancy a Morocco trip (Tetuan and Tangier), you can book it with the hotel for 45 € pp. (inkl. ferry ticket, tour guide and lunch at a very nice restaurant in Tetuan).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Istvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director General at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for spending your time at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar and for sharing your experience about your stay on Tripadvisor.

W are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful feedback in relation to our service.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Barrios
0.1 mi away
NH Campo de Gibraltar
NH Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 4 in Los Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
4.2 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios

Property: Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Address: Carretera la Termica s/n poligono Industrial Palmones, 11379 Los Barrios, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Los Barrios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re staying for business or pleasure, you can expect ultimate comfort and convenience with the Holiday Inn Express Algeciras. We have 119 stylish and comfortable bedrooms all equipped of the highest standard and quality. Convenient dining options are available at the hotel including a complimentary continental buffet breakfast and snacks and soft drinks are available 24 hours at our vending areas. Familiar rooms available for two adults and two child. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Algeciras Hotel Los Barrios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing