We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base location for other places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We used this Holiday Inn as a base for driving to Gibraltar and as well to Tarifa to take the ferry to Morocco. As many here have said, this is not really a place to visit for its own sake, but if you're driving, this location was great. Easy access off the highway, grocery store nearby, a substantial breakfast buffet, and pleasant staff made for a good stay. The rooms aren't particularly large (especially if you're a family of four) but were sufficient for our needs. We were there for 3 nights in total, but checked out for a night as we were heading to Tangier for two days, and were returning to the Holiday Inn after. There was no problem with our leaving the majority of our luggage in the hotel so we didn't need to leave it in our car our drag it through Morocco.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments about your stay in our hotel in Tripadvisor.

I will ensure to pass your comments on to our team and look forward to see you again in a very near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 369 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband, 15 yr old son and myself stayed here in August 2012. Difficult to find with the Sat Nav although best advice find the cinema and McDonald's then head towards two very distinctive white towers. Hotel is new and very quiet location. We had a double room with the sofa bed made up. When we arrived we were missing a pillow for the extra bed, bath towels and the soap dispenser was empty. Within five minutes of asking we had everything. Staff are really friendly and the housekeeping staff although not english speaking were great. The room was obviously all newly furnished, light and airy. It had a hairdryer, long mirror beside the hairdryer and plenty of electrical sockets. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom was lovely had great lighting for night time as well as day. Breakfast was ample, fresh croissants, fruit, cheese, meats, rolls, cereal and cake.
Plus points: Out of town, quiet location, 24km from Gibraltar so we could easily visit. Very friendly staff and lovely,clean rooms and foyer.
Minus points: Not enough parking for the hotel, ok now but when the area is more built up this may be a problem. The breakfast trays had been wiped with a smelly cloth and they did not smell nice, we stopped using the trays on the second day as the problem still persisted.
Finally we would happily stay here again the staff made us very welcome.

Room Tip: Location is good but you must have a car. Great to visit Gibraltar. I have only marked down on the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capdan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you were very confortable with us and We appreciate your kind words to our staff.

Your comments are extremely valuable for us and motivate us to continue improving our services.

We look forward to having you back at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

After a long drive to and from morocco we needed a safe clean place to stay to recharge the batteries for the drive ahead, the holiday inn exceeded expectations perfect, from check in to check out will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Absmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel in Tripadvisor. We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in a very near future,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have visted Algeciras recently and I have stayed at the hotel Holiday Inn Express , it s not located by the beach but the distances are about 30 minutes by car to the best beaches and why not a scape to Gibraltar ( dont forget your passport !!!!) if you are travelling by car ( parking is free at the hotel ), which makes a great election to choose because the hotel is great ., the price is very good related to the service ,and compaing it with the price of other hotels nearby ,remember its high season!!!
The service is excellent , the staff is so nice and friendly ,we met the director of the hotel having breakfast with the clients a couple of days and was asking everyone if our stay at the hotel was being fine, also you can have a chat with them at the bar at ngiht while you´re having a nice drink, they are always willing to help you and provide you whatever you may need .
Breakfast is more than good, it has everything you need , its got a nice variety of choices ,
And the staff is always taking care of what is over to replace it inmediatelly.
The room was exactlly how I like it , simply decorated but nothing is missing there ,
The bathroom very clean and you can tell the hotel is brand new in the furniture .
One simple advice, if you open the window the a/c will turn off inmediatelly , apparenlty it happens pretty often , just make sure that you close it properly again and the a/c will funtion back again .
Due to the location of the hotel , there is absolutelly silence during the night so sleeping is very pleasant

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hoteI.

It is a really pleasure to receive such a positive comments about our hotel, staff and surroundings.

We hope to see you again in a very near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is great for one night stopover close to the highway. It is new and delicate.
The location is in the middel of nowhere and the suroundings not very interesting but it includes a large cinema center. Breakfast is basic but good. Free parking on the premises.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBlakstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you about your comments about our hotel. We are glad that your stay was nice.
We hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards,

Marta Domínguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

During a recent trip to Gibraltar I opted to overnight at this hotel.
Locating it was not easy, as the hotel sits in the middle of a huge commercial complex with many warehouses, multiplexes and just a few signs. Even my GPS got lost!
Yet once I found it I was extremely satisfied. The hotel is quite new, with the rooms being well equipped according to the latest Express standard. The ladies at the reception were extremely courteous and went off their way to help out, giving full advice on how to find restaurants in the area (I discovered that just five minutes away there was a typical fishing village with restaurant offering wonderful catch of the day fare).
Finally the value/cost ratio was sensational, having spent 33€ (yes, thirtythree euros), inclusive of a good buffet breakfast!! All in all to recomnend warmly if you're driving through the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luigi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words. We are happy you found your stay pleasant. We hope to see again you very soon.

King regards,

Marta Domínguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed because there is a bus stop on the other side of the Movie Theaters right off the highway (thanks Gigglypuff2) (exit 113 off Rt E-15) so you can avoid the traffic/parking issues. The staff is friendly and the building is new. The hotel is behind the cinemas and shopping mall/McDonalds from the Highway. The bus is 2.25 Euros and just minutes to the La Linea station right near the Gibraltar entrance. Easy to find Gibraltar from the bus station - just look for it (runs every 20-30 minutes). The walk from the bus station in La Linea is only a 5-10 minute walk to Gibraltar (easy/safe). The bus ride was only about 15 minutes (est. 5-6 stops). On the way back, the bus stops on the other side of the highway so you need to get off there and walk over the highway back to the hotel/theater area. The theater mall has restaurants in the evening.

The hotel is clean and the rooms look new. Everything was in good order and very inexpensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paperbackaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel. We hope to see you again in a very near future.

Kind regards,

Marta Domínguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Barrios
4.8 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Campo de Gibraltar
NH Campo de Gibraltar
#1 of 4 in Los Barrios
378 reviews
6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Guadacorte Park
Hotel Guadacorte Park
#3 of 4 in Los Barrios
308 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios

Address: Carretera la Termica s/n poligono Industrial Palmones, 11379 Los Barrios, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Los Barrios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Los Barrios
Price Range: $53 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re staying for business or pleasure, you can expect ultimate comfort and convenience with the Holiday Inn Express Algeciras. We have 119 stylish and comfortable bedrooms all equipped of the highest standard and quality. Convenient dining options are available at the hotel including a complimentary continental buffet breakfast and snacks and soft drinks are available 24 hours at our vending areas. Familiar rooms available for two adults and two child. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Algeciras Hotel Los Barrios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing