We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite wine road warrior stops in northern Spain.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villafranca del Bierzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Micro Hostal La Puerta del Perdon
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorite wine road warrior stops in northern Spain.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I highly recommend this wonderful Hostal, which has an excellent restaurant, much frequented by the best winemakers in the Bierzo region. I have stayed here on several occasions, once with my fiancee, another time with California chef Michael Chiarello. If you don't want to heft your luggage up the stairs, owner Herminio will do it for you. The good is really good here and you can sample the best wines of Bierzo. The Wi-Fi is free and works. I would have no trouble spending a week here. The hostal is right on the Camino de Santiago, so you will see a multitude of pilgrims walking by. Gerry Dawes, www.gerrydawesspain.com

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerryDawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
69
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Room are nicely decorated with private bathroom. The hostel has own restaurant which I can't recommended because we've tried only pilgrim menu - the owner treated as a pilgrim without asking;-(- so we didn't have another option - we didn't ask for other plates because it was 8.45pm and we were told that restaurant is close at 9pm (we weren't pilgrims at all!!!!) Pilgrim menu was ok but nothing special - advantage of pilgrim menu is price and half of bottle of wine (per person) Breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anaKa134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely and friendly hotel. Rooms are very nicely decorated and clean. Food in the restraurant is excellent. Hotel is well positioned for access to Villafranca and right on the Camino de Santiago as you enter the small town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilHolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and modern. In a great location right on the Camino de Santiago and very close to restaurants and the center of town. Villafranca del Bierzo is a great little town with a beautiful river running through it. The hostal has a fantastic restaurant (the best meal I've had along the entire camino) that is opened for lunch only. Stay here if you want some creature comforts, great food, and a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Located right across the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seekingmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villafranca del Bierzo
0.2 mi away
Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo
Parador de Villafranca del Bierz...
#1 of 2 in Villafranca del Bierzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Francisco
San Francisco
#2 of 2 in Villafranca del Bierzo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
12.1 mi away
AC Hotel Ponferrada
AC Hotel Ponferrada
#2 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel el Castillo
Hotel el Castillo
#1 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Donas del Portazgo
Las Donas del Portazgo
#1 of 11 in Villafranca del Bierzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Leo Bed & Breakfast
La Casa de Leo Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 11 in Villafranca del Bierzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Micro Hostal La Puerta del Perdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Micro Hostal La Puerta del Perdon

Property: Micro Hostal La Puerta del Perdon
Address: Calle Prim 4, 24500 Villafranca del Bierzo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Villafranca del Bierzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Villafranca del Bierzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing