We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise and great food and friendly service”

La Puerta del Perdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $53
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hostal con desayunos ,brunch y cenas para alojados. Desde JULIO 2018 Estoy en pleno cambio con la sala , (Restaurante ) ahora experimento nuevos servicios, nuevas propuestas y sobre todo que mi labor sea del agrado de todas las personas que lo quieran probar.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Such a nice change from the standard pilgrim's fare. Small (only 7 tables) and slightly hidden around the corner from the Santiago church and opposite the castle. Have full menu as well as daily specials. Very, tasty and use of lots of fresh local ingredients.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 290 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

So glad I read reviews and sought out this fabulous hidden treasure. A new friend from the Camino and I wanted something other than the pilgrim’s menu for lunch. I had the ox tail stew and my friend tried partridge with beans and we were both delighted. A little red wine from the region made the perfect lunch. Service and quality above and beyond. Would definitely go again

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jimthomison05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

This is a small cosy restaurant with a great atmosphere. I had a tagliatelle entree, which was actually spaghetti. Veal stew for main and a rice pudding dessert. It was all tasty and well presented. It was complemented by a nice bottle of local wine.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterWinCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

La Puerta del Perdón does great food. By and large it's a sophisticated take on typical food from the Galicia/Leon area. It's important to mention the two regions, El Bierzo, the shire that Villafranca is part of, is in Leon and so has ties to the foodways of the Castilian highplains, but it's in the mountains and on the border of Galicia, so the foodways of northwestern mountains and coasts of Spain are also part of its cuisine.

If you aren't staying at the hostel, reservations are essential. I had the potato croquettes (a house specialty), the oxtail (another house specialty), and the monk's sigh (a third house specialty). The croquettes were a mix of beef and seafood and were delicious. Warm and creamy on the inside, crunchy on the outside. The oxtail was a family recipe and the meat was tender and tasty. The monk's sigh was a light pastry filled with cream and whipped cream, served with a demitasse of chocolate. A local red wine complimented the meal nicely.

I regretted eating alone, because I would have loved to have tried many of the other dishes on the menu.

In terms of making reservations, Pilar was very nice and communicative. And, she even took the time to come out from supervising the kitchen to greet all the guests.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

Beautifully decorated great hotel. Great hospitality, good food and wine. Really cosy and suitable for a romantic get away.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank bob80868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Puerta del Perdon also viewed

Villafranca del Bierzo, Province of Leon
Villafranca del Bierzo, Province of Leon
 
Villafranca del Bierzo, Province of Leon
Villafranca del Bierzo, Province of Leon
 
Villafranca del Bierzo, Province of Leon
Villafranca del Bierzo, Province of Leon
 

Been to La Puerta del Perdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing