We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Casa del Tio Americano
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Albarracin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picture perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stopped by Albaraccin on our babymoon enroute to Barcelona and are so glad we did. The hosts were lovely and friendly giving us useful tips about exploring the town, and inviting us to share a sangria at a local festival. The rooms are quaint, rustic and comfortable and ours opened up onto a beautiful terrace garden where we enjoyed breakfast and the gorgeous views. Beautiful little b&b to relax in and well worth the stop.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    32
    2
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
144
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Another stop on our trip with family and friends from Canada and it couldn't have been better, from the welcome we received right through to departure. We took 5 of the 6 rooms available in this small hotel. Its more like staying in someone's home than a hotel experience so if you want anonymity perhaps its not the place for you. If available try and get the one of the two garden terrace rooms.Its a place to relax in and enjoy the wonders of Albarracin right from the garden terrace in front of your room. This was our 4th visit to Albarricin and we have now found the place we want to return too when visiting Albarracin again , which we will sooner than later. The rooms and bath room are not particularly large but they are quiet and wonderfully peaceful. A great experience and good value for money.

Room Tip: don't hesitate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This accommodation is simply outstanding. The room was even better than what we expected, views over the old city, clean, comfortable, beautiful cava on arrival, a lovely terrace to sit in amongst the roses, what more could you want.

The breakfast was outstanding, beautifully presented, excellent quality and plenty to choose from, all fresh of course. The home made jams were sensational as was the coffee!

We had problems finding the accommodation as we did not believe our GPS was right but one should never doubt their GPS! We managed to drive into the main square, most probably up one way streets the wrong way, then we asked for directions from the Tabac shop, the lady who works at the hotel just happened to be driving past and we then followed her to the right area! If you are travelling here by car, go through the tunnel then take the next right up to the car park, it is then only about a 100m walk to the hotel, quite simple when you know how.

When we checked in we also had the kind assistance of Marcus, who helped us very much with where to go, what to eat and showed us to our room - thank you Marcus for going out of your normal day to help us feel so welcome.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to others, thanks so much for making us feel so welcome here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel could not have been better. Albarracin is amazing, and the views from the hotel are so peaceful and beautiful . This place is the perfect getaway ! Wifi available and free .
Clean spotless, good price confortable rooms ... We will repeat. The breakfast very good and the ppl at the hotel are extremely helpful ! Loooooved it

Room Tip: choose a good room 4 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lachiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a late but sincere hotel review for our visit of July 2012. We traveled for almost a month in Spain and visited more than 14 cities. Our choice of lodgings varied greatly, from this little B&B to a 5 star hotel in Barcelona. La Casa del Tio Americano is my home away from home in this magical mountain village. Thanks to DariusKakalia for pushing me to consider an overnight visit!

We booked directly through the hotel's website, where we could look at the various rooms online and specify which one we wanted. We had the lovely #3, with a little balcony overlooking the rose garden and a window facing the valley.

http://www.lacasadeltioamericano.com/main-index.htm

Before arriving, I was a bit nervous about the reservation. Communication by email was excellent but the innkeeper would not take my credit card information! She also did not require any prepayment. What if we arrived and there was no room available? I had the typical North American traveler's doubts. I asked my good friend and Spain expert, BennyMalaga. He explained that La Casa was following traditional Spanish customs and trusting their guests (he was right, as always!).

The hotel asked me for approximate time of arrival in Albarracin. They wanted to make sure someone would be waiting to receive us. We were late and when we arrived, the door was locked and no one seemed to be around. I knocked for a while and then made a telephone call. It turns out the innkeeper was in the garden and didn't hear us knock. She welcomed us warmly and brought us a nice refreshment.

Albarracin is a magical place. Each winding street, every building, every door and even the knocker - they all have a story to tell of Albarracin's Mudejar past. We wandered around that evening, had a delicious dinner in a little restaurant nearby and slept with the windows open that night. Refreshing mountain breeze, even in July! The perfume of roses.

The next morning, we went down for breakfast and were invited to choose between a garden table or one in the cozy living room. My son, ever the gourmand, opted to sit near the buffet table. This was one of the most enjoyable breakfasts we had in our month in Spain! I took notes on my phone to share with TA members. The most special items included:
- local cheese and honey from Albarracin
- quince jelly cubes made from their own quince tree
- ham from nearby Teruel (famous for ham)
- plenty of fresh fruit and bread
- unlimited coffee and juice

I was in heaven! The friendly owners told me about their uncle, the 'tio americano'. He had left Albarracin to make his fortune in South America. When he returned to his homeland, he built La Casa and lived there happily with his family. The building has been modernized very carefully to preserve its original historic integrity.

Parking: there's a new parking area on the far left of the mountain. La Casa is very close to it. Go all the way across town and hairpin right on c/ Los Palacios. Parking is 150 m from hotel.

Must See's: the Museum of Albarracin, the Mudejar castle ruins, the walk along the stone walls of the village.

Room Tip: Book directly on the hotel's website and specify which room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gigis_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We took a chance and booked this hotel very much last minute. It was a little difficult to find as the hotel is hidden inside a mountainside town where you have to park the car at the entrance. But once we got our bearings it was only a 2 minute walk from the car park. Angela welcomed us warmly and we were able to choose our room. Room 2 was fabulous and has the most amazing views of the mountains and the other side of the small town.
Although there is no mini bar in the room (this doesn't bother us) there were bowls of sweets and we were given complimentary Cava. There was also fresh fruit available at any time during our stay in the dining room.
As a previous reviewer states this is a B+B place, but as there are many restaurants in easy staggering distance we didn't find this a problem and ate at the place recommended by Angela. Lovely meal.
Our room was traditionally spanish, but with all modern conveniences, extremely clean with lovely toiletries and even slippers for us both.
Very pleased with our stay here and if we are in that part of Spain again we will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Room 2 has fantastic views and a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annievilla3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a difficult hotel to rate because this is more a B&B than a hotel (especially after my wife and I have been staying in a number of large hotels over the preceding 2 weeks). First, Albarracin is a 'must see' place...terrific! Second, the few staff at Tio Americano were very, very pleasant and hospitable. The hotel is quite small and tucked away, and I think might be best described as 'cosy, quaint and charming'. We didn't have the best room in the house (room 1) but the view was fantastic...main issues were that our room door was immediately behind the reception desk (so a bit noisy at times), and the small bathroom window (needed to provide reasonable room ventilation) actually opened to the hotel front door (....no further explanation needed without being indelicate). However, taking continental breakfast on the garden terrace was a real highlight and we will remember that for many years. Evening meals were taken in restaurants recommended by the hotel...and these proved to be good choices. As other reviewers have highlighted, there are a couple of shortcomings that are relatively minor but did detract from our overall satisfaction...and which could be easily remedied - provision of tea/coffee facilities and a bar fridge. Sometimes you just want a coffee or a beer when you want it and without have to go out to get it. (To be fair, tea & coffee was made for us a couple of times but it didn't seem to be the 'usual' practice, except for breakfast.) Perhaps minor things...but for our 2-night stay, the difference between a good experience and a great one.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albarracin
0.2 mi away
Albarracin Hotel
Albarracin Hotel
#5 of 8 in Albarracin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#1 of 8 in Albarracin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caseron de la Fuente
Caseron de la Fuente
#2 of 8 in Albarracin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arabia & Apartamentos El Recreo
10.2 mi away
Hotel Suiza
Hotel Suiza
#1 of 2 in Bronchales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
17.3 mi away
Parador de Teruel
Parador de Teruel
#5 of 13 in Teruel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa del Tio Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa del Tio Americano

Property: Hotel La Casa del Tio Americano
Address: C/. Palacios, 9, Albarracin, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Teruel > Albarracin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Albarracin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La Casa del Tio Americano 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Casa del Tio Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing