We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sit on the terrace, looking out over the Valley of 1000 Palms.”
Review of Meson La Frontera - CLOSED

Meson La Frontera
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sit on the terrace, looking out over the Valley of 1000 Palms.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a wonderful find.

This is a wonderful restaurant in an unspoiled village.

Traditional Spanish food cooked to a very high standard & served by friendly staff.

A little effort involved in getting to this location but it is well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anomolouswizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    36
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Child-friendly restaurant with amazing views and food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wow! We ate here as a family on our last night in Lanzarote and wish we had discovered it sooner. The smell of the wood burning grill on arrival was just lovely and to see our food being cooked really special. Lots of meat on the menu which pleased my husband and we went all out with three delicious courses of typical Canarian food. The was a play area for children and a good selection of local wines. Can highly recommend the Aubergine with honey, spare ribs and Canarian pancakes. Just perfect in every way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathykins79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional food for the carnivore”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant set on the edge of a peaceful village, with commanding views down into the valley and up to the hills. The view alone with all the palm trees reminds one of a North African oasis, a little different to your lava fields. What sets this restaurant apart, (other than the view) is the quality of the meat. Marinated rabbit, chicken or pork are traditional dishes in Lanzarote, but this restaurant manages to produce incredibly tender BBQed meat. Following the recommendation of other reviewers, we tried the aubergine and honey starter. The aubergine were in thin battered strips and tasted more like a pudding than a starter, but were nevertheless delicious. We can pass on that recommendation, along with the restaurant generally. It is definitely closed on a Monday, and quite possibly on the Sunday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Lanzarote!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were delighted to find La Frontera in the sleepy village of Haria. The food is amazing, together with the beautiful decor, polite service & stunning view of the Valley of a thousand palms. We loved the whole menu & had to come back the next day for more! Starters that were best included the fried aubergine with honey, goats cheese and fig marmalade and a lovely bean dip. My husband loved the steak and the Presa de Cerdo Iberico - pork. I loved the fish dishes particularly the crepes with prawns. Presentation of each dish was impeccable. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Indigojazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, great value!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant offers a great mix of local specialties and simply great food. For starters we had the fried aubergine with honey, which was amazing. We also had the goat cheese with fig marmalade, quite nice as well. For main we had a nice big and juicy steak, cooked right in front of us on the grill. All combined with some nice wine, a fast and very friendly service, a very nice view and very low prices made this a lunch to remember!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson La Frontera also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing