We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull competence doesn't make great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gravina Cinco
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Cardiff
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Dull competence doesn't make great hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

There seems to be a lack of reasonable quality, reasonably priced, centrally located hotels in Alicante. This seemed best of the bunch from reviews and research. Hmmmmm.....

First a list of positive things
* It's minutes from the beach, two streets from the nicest square and metres from great museums
* The junior suite is roomy and has great balcony
* The air con works
things you also need to know
* It has zero, zilch street appeal
* No disabled access, six steep steps - forget wheelchair
* Only public space is breakfast area/cum reception and baggage store (complete with do not leave luggage unattended sign). Second rate 'local artist' hangs on walls
* We arrived day early - entirely our mistake - so were given standard room for one night: these are small, view less (unfinished building site well), literally beds (two fall-down-the-gap ones) a chair and bathroom. Furniture (see later) steel and formica utilitarian. Styleless taken to extremes (see later)
* Breakfast: operates from tiny bar in the communal space: noisy hand washing of dishes the soundtrack; fresh eggs; toaster broken on day one, still broken day four; bread stale day one; yoghurt, cheese, ham (?) replenished; execrable 'juice'. In summary, adequate but will not light your day
* Hotel says wifi available. Ok it is, in lobby (see above). Wasted an hour trying to book hire car, eventually sent next door to sister hotel where, after reboots charming, Englishless handyman succeeded in getting going. In hotel no wifi in rooms (1st floor just, but not in 6th floor junior suite). Lots of guests saying "is it working?"
* Said handyman had to open room safe twice - eventually advised not to use.

The junior suite: roomy, that's it. Sitting area has bed with cushions, one chair, nasty small table/desk already full with tv and ashtray (yes room used by smokers, you need joss sticks). Doors open to balcony with two chairs and two deck chairs plus dying ficus benjamina. Corridor with bathroom leads to bedroom same as room above but small double bed. Window/doors open to same building void. Air con works.

Staff at desk - rotating with Tryp Hotel next door - sufficient English to help sort problems (wifi, toaster, safe etc) and charming handyman who only works until 2pm so don't jam safe after then .... This is run like a budget chain eg Express by Holiday Inn (see our entries for Alicante) but without the attention to style (yes, a EHI is MORE stylish than this) and quality control. It needs a design and management overhaul preferably by someone who knows what hotels should be about: it's customers and their experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pdconair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    79
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
96
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for 4 day in July13.
This was a really lovely clean hotel right in the centre-only a short walk away from Bars, Restaurants and the Beach.
Room very clean with FREE Mini Bar, Water, Cruzcampo(beer) Fanta and Coke.
Full lengh doors open to a julliette balcony, air conditioning very good.

Breakfast was buffet everything from eggs, bread ham, cheese, coffe, juice etc. No hot breakfast but this was good enough to set you up for the day. Room and Bathroom kept very clean.

Would stay again if in Alicante.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delverson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Manager at Hotel Gravina Cinco, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello!!

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience ion TA,

We hope you had a nice stay in Alicante and look forward welcoming you soon again!!

Carlos Bosch
Manager
info@gravinacinco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel & Location: located right in the middle of the old town and close to the beach/castle. Lots of good restaurants, bars near by.

Rooms: we had a junior suite, so no complaints about that. The rooms (bedroom + living room) were spacious enough and everything seemed to be clean and nice. I particularly enjoyed having a large balcony overlooking part of the old town and the beach (see pic).

Food/drink arrangements: FREE mini bar is definitely a lovely touch - it is filled with beer, fanta, coke and water on a daily basis. Breakfast includes all the basic foods such as fruit, yoghurt, bread, ham, cheese, jam, eggs, etc. You can have pastry, water, hot drinks and fruits throughout the day, which is great.

Staff: friendly and helpful.

Overall: great hotel, good value for money and I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite if you can - great balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pioneeringventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Manager at Hotel Gravina Cinco, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello!!
Thank you for staying with usand for sharing your experience on TA. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward welcoming you again.

Carlos Bosch
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was good to live near the central part of Alicante. Close to the beach, restaurants,shopping, tram and bus. It was also good to have free coffe and cakes , water and fruits during the day.The minibar was also free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Agneta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Manager at Hotel Gravina Cinco, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello from Alicante!
Thank you for staying with us in Gravina Cinco and for sharing your experience on TA.
We look forward welcoming you soo again.

Carlos Bosch
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpe, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently had a great 4 day stay at the Gravina Cinco. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, in particular Javier Molto who was on the reception desk in the daytime. He was so helpful and informative and no question or request was too much trouble - always friendly and smiling and a great asset to the hotel. The room was average size, clean, well equipped and the beds very comfortable. Our room was at the front with a mini balcony overlooking the street and was quiet during the time we were there (weekdays) The free minibar in the room was a bonus and replenished daily with water, Fanta orange, coca cola and beer. The minibar and the 24 hour refreshments were part of the reason for our choice of this hotel. Not only was there 24 hour tea, coffee and fruit but also cake and pastries! What a bonus!! Underground parking for the duration of our stay was also another reason for our choice. A further reason we chose the hotel was because of its proximity to all the things we wanted to see and we were not disappointed in this. It is within the old town, yet within easy walking distance of the ayuntamiento square, entry to the castle, Santa Maria Church and St Nicholas Cathedral, two art galleries, the beach, the esplanade, the port for our boat trip to the Isle of Tabarca and also numerous restaurants in the old town. The walk to El Corte Ingles only took 15 minutes at a leisurely pace, as did the walk to the Mercado Central, via the Ramblas. We were highly satisfied with all aspects of the Gravina Cinco and would happily return there again on a further trip to Alicante.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Gerente at Hotel Gravina Cinco, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por tus comentarios, confiamos poder recibiros de nuevo, para la próxima estancia podéis reservar una doble con salón,donde no tendréis problemas de espacio además de disfrutar de una agradable terraza.
Hasta pronto!!
Carlos Bosch
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

we stayed in the gravino cinco on the 6thand 7th may. i must say very friendly hotel and the gentleman in reception sorry i didn,t get his name (had dark glasses) was a really nice gentleman. as it was our anniversary we had a bottle of champagne and chocolates which i thought was so nice. the rooms in this hotel were small but very very clean. the breakfast which ws included in the price was continental, different slices of ham, eggs, fruit, juices, plenty of fresh bread and some cakes. if you wanted you could have coffee and some fruit and cakes all through the day. we also had some water, cans of drink and some beer left if the fridge for us each morning which wasa lovely touch. the hotel was in a prime position for visiting alicante

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhian190927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were very disappointed with the room, it was overlooking the back of the hotel so no view at all, everything seemed very squashed, you could just about manage to walk around the bed, to have the patio doors open you had to sit on the bed, the wardrobe and dressing area where sort of behind the window so it was very dark in that area, not good at for girls!
We were on the 5th floor, after a good long walk around the town we went back to the hotel, tried to get the lift only to find it full of the cleaners stuff - not good!
We didn't bother staying and checked out within hours of checking in, when we said the room was far too small the lady on reception shrugged and said all rooms were the same size!

Don't be put off though, if you literally just want somewhere to put your head this hotel is a good price in a good location and the man that checked us in was really helpful about the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piglet_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Mendez Nunez
Mendez Nunez
#18 of 49 in Alicante
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Centro
NH Rambla de Alicante
NH Rambla de Alicante
#10 of 49 in Alicante
521 reviews
Centro
Hotel Rambla
Hotel Rambla
#20 of 49 in Alicante
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gravina Cinco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravina Cinco

Property: Hotel Gravina Cinco
Address: Calle Gravina 5, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravina Cinco 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gravina Cinco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing