We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and cozy hotel with friendly atmosphere and service.”
Review of AC Hotel Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Alicante
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stylish and cozy hotel with friendly atmosphere and service.”
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We found this hotel as a perfect match for us: Modern, stylish, very easy to access with a very friendly staff and as we booked later another night the booking was easiest I have experienced. Really worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWilburry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    404
    141
    30
    18
See reviews for
88
342
53
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

It is definitely a fantastic hotel. Everything is spotless and modern.
Room, staff, breakfast, dinner is just fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAITHGLASGOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

We stayed at the AC Alicante for 4 days in Spetember 2009 on a long weekend in the city. This was our first trip to Alicante and we had a great time.

All areas of the hotel were exceptionally clean. The rooms, whilst small were had everything you needed including a free minibar which was a nice touch. Minimalist in design they had good storage, comfy beds and nice toiletries provided. Wooden floors could have been a problem if you had noisy people above but we did not experience any problems. The only negative with regards to the room was the view, or lack of one. Although front facing, the view was of the commercial dock situated in front of the hotel although considering the location of the hotel I don't think any room would have a good view.

The location is the major drawback of this hotel. Sitauated on the outskirts of the city on the road leading from the airport, it is a good 25 minute walk to the old part of town and beach. Whilst the main shopping area with a selection of bars and restaurants is approximately 5-10 minutes walk (behind the hotel) most people may well, like us, be heading down the esplanade to the old town and beach. Doing this twice a day takes up almost 2 hours of your day. Whilst not a problem for a short stay, anyone staying for a week or longer may find this tiresome. This not withstandaing however, the walk is an easy one (completely flat) and once you get to the marina (approimately 10 minutes), it is a pleasant walk with plenty to see.

I have read, and indeed did read before I travelled, previous posts regarding prostitutes around the hotel. During our stay we never saw this and felt very safe the whole time. We returned to the hotel late each night and never had a problem. There is one back road which runs paralllel to the esplanade which did have prostitutes on it most evenings but only a small number and they were not blatant about it. They did not cause a problem and you do not need to use this road if you don't want to.

The included continental breakfast at the hotel was excellent with plenty of choice, frequent ref-filling and a pleasant dining room. The bar area was also nicely done out although we did not eat or drink in te hotel other than breakfast so I cannot review.

The gym/steam room/jacuzzi was nice although again, the view is of the commercial dock so felt a bit "industrial" rather than relaxing. Again, very clean with a nice shower/wash room attached. Fridges full of bottled water in the gym. The rooftop pool looked nice, although small with limited loungers, but the weather wasn't good enough for us to try it out.

Alicante itself was a really pleasant suprise. Although there is not loads to do, the beach is nice if the weather is good (it wasn't for us) and there are lots of good restaurants to while away a few hours if the weather isn't (which we did).

Alicante is a very typically spanish city and the restaurants and bars were filled with locals so it does not feel like a "holiday" destination which is nice. There are so many bars and restaurants tucked away in small squares and plazas which are worth exploring.

The trip up to the castle is a long walk but good exercise after all those long lunches. If it's too hot or for those who having mobility problems, there is a lift whose entrance is set into the mountain side directly opposite the pedestrian bridge from the beach, near the tram stop. The view from the top of the castle is definately worth it.

All in all we had a great time and enjoyed our trip. The hotel is excellent value for the price, and would undoubtedly be a lot more if it was in the heart of the city. Whilst we would probably stay in the old town if we went again, I would not be upset to return here for a cheap break and put up with the walk.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouselou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as we were catching a flight from Alicante to Marakech, Morrocco. This city freaked us out. Graphiti everywhere and there's really nothing to do. However, if you need to catch a flight out of Alicante this was a reasonable priced spot for one night.

Rooms are immaculate and free minibar is nice. Restaurant is nice. Very nice hotel inside. I just wasn't impressed with Alicante as a city but it looked like if you went out of the city a bit to Benidorm there were a lot of vacationer hotels. So if your visiting here and planning on staying for more than a day I would head out there. The hotel is very nice and I would recommend. The area is a little shady.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I have just returned from a long weekend in Alicante staying at this hotel and cannot fault it. We were a little dubious reading the reviews about the ladies of the night and the area we were going to be staying in but we only saw the working girls on one evening and they were no trouble at all. On arrival we found the hotel to be of great quality, the rooms were excellent and Ana the receptionist was extremely helpful. We cannot comment on the food as we had room only and ate out every night but the menu seemed ok. The hotel is probably a little too far out for people who are not that keen on walking (about 20 minutes to the casino/beach area) but all in all we couldn't fault the place, especially for the bargain price we got it for using lastminute.com. If you choose to go, make use of the leisure facilities (jacuzzi, sauna, gym and pool) - they are a great asset!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snailey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Even though the hotel is located near a busy road it doesn't matter. You can't hear the traffic and only a short walk away from shopping and nightlife.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oj2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2009

a modern, well equiped hotel with every luxury you'd want. location is a 5 minute walk from the main city. very quiet with lots of good qualities (bath robes, slippers, mini-bar, radio, cd player, TV).

never got round to using the gym, but the steam room and bubble bath were wonderful. the roof-top swiming pool was fresh, no, bracing. there is a bar on the roof terrace (but it was closed, preumably not too late in the holiday season).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp302007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
626 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,131 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
776 reviews
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,458 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#7 of 49 in Alicante
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Alicante

Property: AC Hotel Alicante
Address: Avenida Elche 3, 03008 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#6 Business Hotel in Alicante
#7 Family Hotel in Alicante
#8 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AC Hotel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing