We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, proper food”
Review of Familia y amigos - CLOSED

Familia y amigos
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The dishes in our restaurant are all made using recipes from family or friends. We've decorated like a family stay, so after enjoying a good meal can also enjoy a pleasant conversation.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely, proper food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Unfortunately I only had the chance to visit this restaurant once during a 10 day stay in Alicante, I will most definitely visit again when I definitely visit Alicante again. I had a main course and cheese for desert, main was rabbit with plums, quite simply fantastic, it was so good I would have ordered it and eaten it again if possible. The cheese was lovely and the wine also. My wife had, if memory serves me, a salad which she enjoyed and a cheesecake for desert. She was also very impressed with the meal and desert. The staff are friendly and relaxed. Next time I am in Alicante I shall certainly try the Menu del dia and will certainly be along for a lovely evening meal. Familia and Amigos you are certainly one of my amigos now and if that is the type of food eaten by your family I would like to be part of that also. Bravo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJJ387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarón M, Gerente at Familia y amigos, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Mike, thanks for your words, no doubt you are already a member of family and friends and as such have a familiar corner in Alicante. We are happy to welcome you again soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    41
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent local dishes in a comfortable and friendly place”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We hadn't made a reservation but they accommodated us all the same in a very polite and welcoming manner.
They pride themselves on a menu which seems to be tried and tested with local authentic dishes your mother would make.
We were not disappointed. Excellent service within a comfortable setting - nice comfy with backs seats and well illuminated. We over ordered as the portions ended up larger than we had expected and very reasonably priced.
A nice touch was they offered their local liquor as a freebie as we were not going to fit in desserts. They did this twice and you felt they didn't rush you out of the restaurant when we finished.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank International T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarón M, Gerente at Familia y amigos, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello, thank you very much for these words so flattering, is a real treat for us.

We are proud of our work and we try to surprise every day. Sometimes we get it. Thank you very much for the review. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The rest of the diners were Spanish and nearly all were going for the Menu del Dia,which I would have probably chosen if I was local. So went for the Carte.
A delightful starter of Anchovies with Spinach,the Anchovies stuffed with the Spinach. My main was fillets of baked Halibut,cooked to perfection.
Nice wine list with reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarón M, Gerente at Familia y amigos, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Delighted with his assessment. On these occasions try the menu of the day, will not disappoint. Even if you come for a few days in our city, we would love to surprise you again. ​ Regards.​
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly staff”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

A nice and quiet restaurant with friendly staff and good food. The staff was attentive and serviceminded in a relaxed and not so formal way. While we were there, two other tables complemented the chef. I had the "family secret" on the menu, and my girlfriend had the rabbit dish - both recommendable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarón M, Gerente at Familia y amigos, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks Alex, for us it is a pleasure to read your words. We are encouraged in our daily work. We will continue to surprise on your following visits. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A most relaxing, enjoyable dining experience..just like being with "family and friends "”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Just wanted to say that we had a lovely experience at this restaurant :a most pleasant and relaxing place to eat in Alicante...we arrived tired, late at night in Alicante, and found this gem of a restaurant very near to our hotel...from the moment we stepped into the restaurant we certainly felt we were amongst family and friends ..the name of the restaurant certainly lived up to its name..the staff was friendly and helpful and the atmosphere relaxed with lovely decor and background music and very spacious, relaxing and comfortable..the food was really nice:spanish home cooking ..all spanish favourites home cooked which was lovely..we ate twice there during our stay in Alicante and will certainly return on our next trip there as the whole expeience was so pleasant in every way..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinolaCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarón M, Gerente at Familia y amigos, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much. It is a pleasure for us to take your time to leave us a positive review on this website. Thank you very much again. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Familia y amigos also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing