We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

This is a beautiful historic building with a stylish interior. A fantastic place to stay, in an interesting city.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retirement-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    421
    147
    33
    20
See reviews for
178
819
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Smart hotel with good combination of modern and traditional. Good location in the old town close to the beach and marina. Car parking is available. There is a small pool on the 4th floor.
Reception staff were excellent - efficient check in and out plus printed some business documents for me.
The restaurant is being refurbished so there was no dinner service - check for when it re-opens if that is important.
Breakfast was very good - nice buffet plus a short menu of items cooked to order (€17 + IVA).
Bedroom was very large with a separate washing / dressing area. Amenities included bath, shower cubicle, two sinks, safe, mini bar, trouser press, sofa, desk and DVD player. TV did not have many English channels. Internet access via a laptop in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antrim
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

Loved this hotel, staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Booked it with designer hotels and got 3 nights for price of 2 and breakfast included. We spent 204 euro for 3 nights B&B but it was really off season so probably justifies the reasonable price. Location was great for exploring the town on foot and by bus and tram. The public transport is cheap and frequent so we coped well without a car. The airport bus service was easy to understand and we had a stop 30 secs walk from the hotel.
I was disappointed by the pool which lets the hotel down. We went up on a rainy day and the area was cold (despite a huge ugly heating system) and the roof leaked badly. There was nothing for children to do in the hotel so I would only advise it for adults. I believe San Juan around the coast has hotels which would suit little ones better. I also could not bear the pillows-far too thick, I left a note for the cleaning lady and she kindly got me a thinner one but I still could not sleep on it. No wonder my Dad used to go on hols with a thin Irish pillow stuffed into his case!!
I loved the MARQ museum and got the tram out to visit the Roman ruins of Lucentum. Also enjoyed a tapas lunch, and the next day a full lunch in Matanza Castellana, about 5 mins walk away. They still smoke in restaraunts there, but if you can ignore that, the food was typically Spanish and the service friendly. Pizza in Sale e Pepe beside the co-Cathedral was pleasent. Marina was overpriced and had little atmosphere on the night we visited.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helliedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

My fiancee and I stayed in the Hospes Amerigo from the 29th of December for 3 nights. It is an excellent offering a truly professional service by competent staff. Upon arrival, I didnt like the view of the wall from my room and our room was immediately changed to a better one. The location is perfect - everything at you fingertips - shops, beach and dining possibilities. Went to Valencia after for 3 nights and came back to Alicante for another night in the Hospes Amerigo as we liked it so much - plus our flight was leaving quite early in the morning. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.))

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yawmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton Middlesbrough England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed at the Amerigo for 4 nights. Booked with Alpha Rooms on the Internet. We got a very good rate for the Dreamers Room which was very large and situated looking out at the small street of restaurants at the back of the hotel. The hotel enjoys a very good location near to shops, bars and the harbour and sea front. Alicante is a grat place for a few nights. You can also take the tram along the coast. Would recommend this hotel, it offers grat value for a winter break.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Our first trip to Spain. Selected the Hospes Amerigo, based on our dearly Tripadvisor. Booked through the hotels own website. The "winter" rate was 155 Euro for a deluxe room. The service was excellent and so was the room. Very large with several sliding doors. As a shy person I would have liked a sliding door to close off the bath. However, you could close off the bath from the sitting/bed rom. I will not repeat the other reports, so I stop the hotel description here.
Hints regarding the hotel:
There are two lifts, but we often used the stairs. On the door next to the lift, press the emergency bar on the door and walk to the bottom. The last door enter the reception. Get a free Internet access code from the reception. Deliver your post cards at the reception. They will send them for free. To unlock the room door, turn the key and press the handle down push the door inwards. The shower. The lower control is the thermostat, the middle the handheld shower and the top one the ceiling shower. Beware not to shower against the glass door, as this will flood the floor. To operate the electric blind, use the controls next to the master bed. Pool. Jacuzzi and waterfalls are operated by the buttons in the floor next to the pool.
Hints outside:
Breakfast and dinner: With your back against the hotel entrance, walk right, right and right again into the street behind the hotel. The first and second restaurant on the right hand serves great breakfast and dinners. 6 Euro for a breakfast and 10 Euro for Paella. For great Tapas get out on the main street again and walk up just past Kentucky Fried Chicken. Nice restaurant with seats out and inside. Grab a plate and start eating. 1,5 Euro pr Tapas. They count the sticks when you leave and then you pay. Walk 50 meter further up the street and cross. The pedestrian street on the left side has many restaurants. When entering that street, there is a posh bar on the right, called Concerto, that has live music and great drinks. A cocktail 6 Euro. Beers 2 Euro. I was recommended a restaurant called Gourmet by the reception staff. Ask for direction (very close). I had paella with pasta and tuna, a beer and a wonderful mango sorbet. (20 Euro). Shopping area: Walk right, through the beautiful park and keep walking for 300 meter that direction. A high street with many shops appear.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

The Amerigo is a great choice for a break in Alicante. It is centrally located making it easy to get to all the major attractions. It is in the El Barrio area of town, which is full of wee restaurants, bars and shop dotted around the cobbled streets and lovely squares. The marina is a few minutes walk away with the beach a further short walk.

We had a dreamer double at the back of the hotel. The room was extremely large as was the bed. As mentioned in previous reviews the bathroom is a quirky design and not good for the modest amoungst us. You are supplied with robes, slippers and all manner of toiletries including razor, toothbrush etc.

The room looked out onto a bustling narrow lane with restaurants and shops, which can get quite noisy later at night, especially at the weekend when the partying goes on until the very early morning (5am).

The rooftop terrace was a nice place to chill, but the pool is nothing special and is in need of some maintenance. The better half used the spa and had several treatments which she thoroughly enjoyed. The spa is really overpriced compared to prices in the UK, but then again not something you would do everyday.

The only real dissapointment was the fact that the bar/cafe in the hotel was shut as it is out of season. For a 5 star hotel this is a poor excuse. Didn't eat in the tapas bar or have have breakfast in the hotel, so can't comment.

For what we paid, the hotel was fantastic value for money (book with hotels.com or 1800 hotels for best deals). I really did like it alot. The combination of the room, the location and the staff meant is was everything we wanted from a relaxing break in a lively, vibrant city.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing