We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant time!”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I booked our 4 night trip to Alicante for my husband's birthday as we could get a direct flight from Newquay. We loved every minute of our stay in Hospes Amerigo and Alicante. The hotel was a delight, the staff were so helpful and accommodating. The cleanliness of our room was outstanding and it was beautifully presented. We had breakfast in the hotel on our first morning just to experience what other reviewers had said and it didn't disappoint. My only disappointment with the hotel (as with all other hotels) is that there are no sports channels to watch especially as England (football) were playing whilst we were there. As Alicante does not really accommodate the English (unlike Benidorm) we had to trawl many bars to find one that showed the game.

Our 4 nights were over all too soon but we are looking forward to returning to Alicante and Hospes Amerigo as it did exactly what it said on the tin!! A brilliant time and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in september as girls weekend away. I had read loads on the internet about this hotel and was so glad we booked it. It was an oasis of calm, and although it appeared that there were a few people staying there it was very quiet. We arrived late Saturday night and we greeted very warmly , we had booked two rooms and they were both different. The shower is amazing and the free tolietires are a plus if you are travelling via budget airline. The whole hotel was very clean with an air of luxury but not too pretentious, staff very helpful. I would agree that the beds are extremely comfortable, the automatic blind was a bit tempremental but we managed. The tapas bar attached to the hotel was great with very friendly staff and they have a set price menu for lunch @ 15 euro. We did not book breakfast but went onto the esplanade and had cofee and croissants instead.

There are lot's of bars just around the corner and on saturday night the whole place was still buzzing at 4am.

There is a great salsa bar situated behind the casino on the marina but it doesn't get going until about 2am even on a Sunday!. Beach is only 5 min walk away .

Loved the hotel and alicante will be going back again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverlyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed at Amerigo for a week this September. Can't recommend it enough if you need a break, especially with your partner. Rooms are beautiful, beds extremely comfortable, fantastic lighting, gorgeous shower, plenty of wardrobe space, safe and mini bar (expensive but you can stock it yourself), two lovely sinks, mirrors etc., It has everything you would need, tv but if you speak English only BBC world news and CNN, you can rent DVD (e10 deposit refundable) if you want to relax before going out for the evening. Little balcony (not big enough to sit on) and patio doors give lots of light. For smokers little oasis as you can smoke in your room, ashtray and matches supplied, if you are with non smoker you can open patio doors and it should'nt bother them. Check out lots of websites for prices as hotel website is more expensive than most, in Ireland 1800hotels had best deal. You can book with breakfast included, worth it if you can get it, at hotel you pay e17 per person, if you can get it cheaper than this take it, food is beautiful, lovely buffet and can also order off menu (included in price). The hotel is gorgeous, calm and relaxing and beautifully decorated. Staff are friendly and helpful. Lovely pool area on roof with sunbeds and places to sit and relax. Hotel is very well situated in the old town, and just behind the strip at the beach. Lots of lovely restaurants and bars around there and a short walk to main shopping area which has department stores and lots of interesting shops. For a break away for a few days Alicante is very nice but I would'nt like to stay in middle of summer, I'd imagine it would be very hot and crowded. Off season is perfect, still lots of people around but not too crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We spent both a single night and a 5 night stay at this hotel. We found the staff extremely helpful and when put into a twin room by mistake we were instantly moved into a far better room. Whilst checking in we were given iced tea, and assisted by staff to our room and then shown around the facilities.And no tip expected!
The rooms were all different (the three that we saw) and very spacious and had all the amenities that we wanted or needed.
The room that we spent the five nights in was quiet and right at the top of the hotel, but we also stayed at the front and though you could hear the traffic, I would not describe it as noisy.
The hotel is also perfectly placed for the town and beach, 5 minutes to both.
We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone as it was not astronomically expensive but felt like it was!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Yep. Lovely place. Good points: Well situated. Close to beach and good part of town. Beautiful spacious clean luxurious room. Comfy bed. Safe. Smelled good. Quiet Air Con. Room slightly lacking sunlight due to the nature of the building. The rooms look into a courtyard rather than out to outside but the lighting in the rooms is lovely. Free DVDs to borrow. General Use internet free in lobby. Not much on TV but plenty of trashy MTV! Attentive and helpful staff. Nice rooftop.
Nothing really that one could say that was bad about the hotel itself. The pool is small and uninspiring but it is a rooftop terrace and what was lost in pool was made up in loungers...padded and comfy. We heard the breakfast was amazing so treated ourselves. It was almost £40 for both of us and it was nice but nothing I haven't seen before. Nice for a treat I guess but skip it if you're on a budget. One complaint. We ordered one morning toast and coffee. Cost €18 for two. The toast was ridiculous. Take a small baguette, cut 4 tiny thin slices and that was it! A mouthful at best. There was little more than ONE slice of ordinary bread there and that was for TWO peoples breakfast. I was just plain angry! The price was well steep anyway, but the portion was just an insult. I don't mind paying but I want to actually get something to eat for my money please! To be fair though this was just a small gripe in an otherwise lovely stay. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewalkaboutkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We spent a week at the Amerego in Sept 09 and cannot fault the place. Location is excellent, yards from the beach, marina and a vast array of restaurants. Room are nice, well decorated, clean and spacious and the staff were very helpful.
Would not take the breakfast though, not that there is anything wrong with it but it is EUR17 and the cafe Polidoro which is 10 yards from the hotel does a similar thing for less that EUR5!
Must recommend the Sale Pepe pizzeria which again is a 2 minute walk from the hotel, great food, great wine and great service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I have just returned from a week at this relaxing hotel and can't wait to return.

Location

This hotel is without a shadow of doubt in the very best location in alicante. It's in the heart of the old town, in the safest area in the city and less than a minutes walk from the esplanda/marina. It's also surrounded by restaurants and bars. Personally, i'd recommend the ones in the many streets to the back of the hotel.

Hotel

Rooms: We stayed in a room on the second floor to the front of the hotel. We were so impressed on arrival. We found the rooms to be extremely spacious with high ceilings, plenty of storage space, huge comfy king size bed, sofa, pristine bathroom with a great shower and air conditioning. As other reviewers have noted, there is a large array of toiletries provided. You most certainly will not need to bring any on your trip as everything you could possibly need is provided, and unlike other hotels their products are top class, organic and luxurious. One thing that really impressed us was the room servicing. Our rooms were always serviced to the highest standard with plenty of fresh towels and toiletries left each day.

Senzone Tapas Bar: We didn't eat in the bar as there are plenty better value restaurants surrounding the hotel. Weather permitting, it is a lovely place to have a pre-dinner drink in the courtyard outside in the evenings, and with a glass of champagne at just E3 you can't go wrong!! Don't expect much of an at atmosphere though, it is a hotel bar after all.

Top Terrace: The top terrace is very peaceful. While there are only around ten or so loungers, we never had any difficulty getting two between 11a.m.-12 p.m. each morning. The pool, while essentially a dipping pool, is small but refreshing with a wonderful view of the castle.

Staff: I suppose I have to say that I did find some of the staff at reception a little gruff from time to time but they were always professional in dealing with requests.

Having seen a number of other hotels while walking around alicante, i can't tell you enough how wonderful this place is in comparison. It's so easy to relax here. The melia, which is just around the corner, looks so impersonal, dated and unappealing by comparison. There's also great little bars just around the back of the hotel. For restaurants, i'd highly recommend Al medina (E55 for 1 starter, 2 mains, bottle wine, and 2 espresso) in the square to the back of the hotel and the little restaurant (night menu's for E10.90 each for 3 courses plus drinks!!!!!!!!) in the street in front of the hotel opposite trbecka pub.

All in all you most certainly will not regret booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank char
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
693 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
849 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#7 of 50 in Alicante
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Address: Calle Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: $140 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing