We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very very noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were met by some fabulous staff, they were great. The pool was minute and very shallow, however quite fun as no one else in there when we arrived. Add a few more people and it becomes crowded. Rooms were fab although we had room service every day to mop the floor as shower leaked. Food was fabulous really fabulous and the local wine was great. However our biggest bug bear was the noise at night. We overlooked the street and the local bars which seemed to run all night. There were drunken people shouting and screaming at midnight through to six in the morning each night of our three night stay. We like a drink or two but when you are in your room it is nice to be able to sleep which we couldn't do. We watched late night DVDs on the tv which was very small and the selection of DVDs very very old. Beautiful location though would use the hotel again but would ask for a higher room maybe overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We would also like to thank you for your very nice comments regarding the service provided by all the Hospes Amérigo Team, as you could experience we always try to go one step forward to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one.
On the other hand we would like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay. As you mentioned, there was noise coming from the Street, this was due to the Carnival Parade taking place on those days. Because of the location of the Hotel right in the city center and because the event was taking place not very far from the Hotel until very late at night, we could not avoid people passing by the Hotel and making noise.
I hope we can have the chance to have you back in the Hotel and show you that this has been an isolated incident and we can due better in your next stay with us.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, so we can handle your reservation personally and ensure that your whole stay is a memorable one.
All the Hospes Amérigo Team is really looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    409
    146
    33
    20
See reviews for
174
804
47
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

For a Spanish 5 star hotel this is truly excellent. We were on the 3rd floor at the back which was very well appointed and lovely and quiet. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant.

The breakfast was wonderful. Hot option to order then lots of cold meats , cheese, cereal, breads, pastries and fantastic coffee. There was no sense of being rushed and the waiter was excellent.

Wifi in room was perfect... Important for my partner!!!!!

I am often disappointed with 5 star hotels in Spain and Italy. But not this one. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to sincerely thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hospes Amérigo and could sample our fresh and varied buffet breakfast and the hospitality of all the Amérigo team.
We are all looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here at the end of January for 3 nights. Locks on doors were a bit dated with a heavy paperweight keyring attached. Breakfast was very basic and mostly pastries although you could order cooked. We had a double room and I was very disappointed as it was 2single beds pushed together and I could feel the joins in the bed when I tried to cuddle!! Rooms also had no kettle so couldn't make myself tea or coffee. First time stay in 5star hotel in Spain so not sure what to expect. Overall, was acceptable but not awesome....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterflies399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We would also like to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to meet your expectations in your last stay at the Hospes Amérigo.
Regarding your comments about the room facilities, we always try to meet our Guests' requirements when assigning rooms and bed types in this occassion unfortunately we were not able to offer you the doublé bed that you requested.
We have reviewed your comments about that breakfast, as normally we have very good comments about the quality of our breakfast buffet. Being the buffet separated in two areas, one with pastries, bread and diary products and another with fresh fruits, cold meats, cheese, fresh orange juice and a selection of small sanwchiches. I understand that for some reason we failed to show the full offer available in our breakfast buffet.
As you mentioned we do not have tea and coffee facilities available in the room as a standard but we have these available on request contacting our Front Desk. In your next visit to the Hotel please let us know in advance that you require these service in your room and we will have it ready upon your arrival.
Again we would like to thank you for your comments that most surely helps us to improve our levels of service.
We are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante and have the opportunity to offer you the service and the 5* experience that you expect from our Hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We are just home from a truly relaxing stay in the lap of luxury. We were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff. We had only stepped out of the taxi and there they were, ready to greet us and take our bags. The hotel is spotless. The food is divine. We booked a junior suite and it was enormous. The hotel staff are so professional as well as being friendly. The cleanliness of the suite was 100%. The staff all seemed to be highly motivated and courteous.It is located so near to everything. The promenade is close by c 200 yards away from the hotel. The high ceilings and wonderful elegant decor enhanced the ambience of the suite. The buffet breakfast offered a wide range, fruits of all sorts,breads, small cakes, croissants, fried breakfast, scrambled eggs with salmon, yogurts, cheeses all varieties displayed. You were not rushed out of there you could sit back and enjoy the breakfast nobody came over to you and started clearing off plates etc. Hope to return there again. Money well spent!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublinbelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your last stay at the Hospes Amérigo and could experience the service and facilities in one of our spacious and exclusive Junior Suites.
We will pass your very nice comments to all the Hospes Amérigo Team.
We are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

A true 5 star hotel. All the staff were friendly , attentive and couldn't do enough for you. We had a dreamer room which was very comfortable, robes and slippers ,balcony and marble bathroom. Ideally located in the old town for sightseeing with fabulous restaurants in walking distance. We also had an amazing meal in the Michelin starred hotel restaurant Monastrell .

Room Tip: No need to go for the highest price room. We were very comfortable in a dreamer room which was excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality provided by the Amérigo team and the gastronomy of Monastrell Restaurant recently awarded 1 Michelin star.
We will pass your very nice comments to all our staff and we are all looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Hospes Amerigo for five nights in February. It's absolutely lovely. The rooms are spacious and the high ceilings add to that quality. As Alicante is not the most beautiful nor most interesting city, having a hotel of this quality was key for us. (Alicante's fine, but if we'd stayed at a less nice hotel, I think we'd have been disappointed.) The roof terrace and pool were relaxing, sunny and uncrowded. The breakfast buffets were delicious and stocked with a wide-ranging variety of quality foods. And the hotel is reasonably priced. I couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: Room upgrades are often available. Check with reception. And the rooms that face the alley can be lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameybergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your experience of the Hotel service and facilities was one of the peaks of your break.
We also recommend you to visit Alicante from May to end of September, so you can also enjoy "El Postiguet" beach and the good weather of Alicante at only minutes walking distance from the Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I like bright airy hotels with wide open views but this is not always possible on a City break. The room had high ceilings but despite the deep window the room was dark because of the closeness of the surrounding buildings. Couldn't fault the quality of the room though. Buffet breakfast had just about everything; including entertainment as the tables are not numbered and whether you get what you ordered or some-one else's was a lottery. Staff friendly & helpful. House maids did an excellent job. The pool area is great for relaxing but the pool was very shallow. Interior beds by the pool were very limited. Location for getting to the restaurant area of the old town cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hospes Amérigo including the quality of our rooms and our buffet breakfast.
We have passed your very valuable comments regarding the service of the hot dishes that as part of the breakfast menú we prepare and serve to order. I am positive that in your next visit to the Hotel you will experience an improvement in the service, with a good coordination of all the members of the breakfast team.
Again thank you for choosing our Hotel in your last visit to Alicante and we are really looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing