We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was the 5th time we have stayed at the hotel we thought we would try the apartments which were added about 18 months ago.
What a good choice the apartment was about the same price as the hotel but you got a lot more for your money as it was very spacious with all the things you would need .
The front of house staff were great lead by Hose and Louis.
Would highly recomend.

Room Tip: Get an apartment
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRIKER9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kinds comments.

As you have mentioned, we are also managing 9 apartments at only 50 metres from the Hotel.

Amérigo Premium Apartments are very convenient for families or for those who apreciate enjoying self catering facilities such as a fully equiped kitchen.

Also Guests staying at the apartments can make use of all the facilities of the Hotel including the pool or the gym both located on the 4th Floor of the Hotel.

Again thank you for your comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very son.

Yours sincerly,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
There are newer reviews for Hospes Amerigo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is in a good central location, close to the beach and ideal for the castle. The beds are very comfortable and have soft cotton sheets.
The staff were very friendly and directed answered any questions we had. we did not use the pool as it was January although it is under cover in the winter months.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the service provided by all our Team and the location right in the city center and only a few minutes walking distance from the beach.

As you very well mentioned, we have a pool located on the 4th floor, that during the winter months is heated and covered. During the summer months we open the roof so you can enjoy the good weather of Alicante.

Again thank you for your comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very son.

Your sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Very centrally located, beach and lovely prom a 5 minute walk and lots of bars and restaurants/tapas bars in vicinity. Staff very pleasant and helpful. On arrival, our room was too warm and there were no slippers provided. A quick word with reception and on return from our exploratory walk we found the temperature in room had been turned down and slippers waiting for us.
Breakfasts were excellent, really good choice of pastries, cheese, fruit etc not to mention orange juice actually tasting of orange (unlike so many hotels offering watery juice of no taste) and cava. Cooked breakfasts to order were delicious.
Decent toiletries which were replenished daily, 2 wash basins, shower in bath plus separate shower- although this did soak the floor even into the toilet area which was rather annoying. Towels good size but for a 5 star hotel should have been thicker.
Excellent free wi fi. Comfy bed with 2 pillows each. Room 311 was very quiet but little natural light. However good lighting for reading in bed.
Would happily recommend this hotel.
Would also recommend lizarran tapas bar on Ramblas just round corner from hotel, wonderful choice and great prices.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014
Google Translation

En primer lugar queremos agradecerles el tiempo que han dedicado en hacernos llegar sus comentarios.

Estamos encantados que pudieran disfrutar de la hospitalidad y servicio ofrecido tanto por nuestro equipo de Recepción tanto como por el resto de personal del Hotel.

En referencia a sus comentarios sobre el wifi, Amérigo Premium Apartments están situados a escasos 50 metros del Hotel y disponen de wifi independiente. Durante su estancia, lamentablemente tuvimos un problema de conexión con nuestro proveedor de internet que a día de hoy ya está solucionado plenamente.

Tal y como comenta el Hotel dispone de una piscina en la cuarta, que tenemos climatizada y techada en los meses de invierno y con el techo abierto durante los meses de verano para poder disfrutar del excelente clima de Alicante. En ambos casos siempre con unas excelentes vistas del Castillo de Santa Bárbara especialmente de noche.

Por otra parte tomamos buena nota de sus comentarios sobre las camas de los apartamentos, para nosotros es muy importante garantizar el sueño de nuestros Clientes e intentamos tener los mejores colchones y ropa de cama en nuestras habitaciones.

De nuevo agradecer sus amables comentarios que sin duda nos ayudan a mejorar el servicio que ofrecemos a todos nuestros Clientes.

Esperamos tener el placer de recibirles muy pronto en cualquier de nuestros Hoteles en España.

Le saluda atentamente,

Francisco Capó
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

OK its a well located hotel, beautiful building we got a nice price so can’t complain much. However it’s not a 5 star hotel, its a 4 star in a 5 star building!. Room was quite but tired, lamp by bed fell off wall when you touched it, TV was the size of a large laptop. Shower looked nice shame it could only produce luke warm water thanks to the broken thermostat. The Spa is a bit of a joke just a pool with 3 different water features; terrace is probably nice in summer. Breakfast was not bad but nothing special. Positive sides, staff very friendly and helpful, was clean and an excellent location.

Room Tip: Avoid the atrium if you want some quite
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eggyg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the service provided by all our Team and we are happy that you enjoyed the location right in the city center of Alicante.

On the other hand we would like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay.

We have passed all your commets to our Maintenance Department to ensure that all our rooms are kept in perfect condition, as your experience unfortubately does not reflect the usual standards of service of our Hotel.

As you very well mentioned we have a pool on the 4th floor. Due to its locations it enjoys the best views of Alicante, specially during the night. But unfortunately it does not allow us to increase its size and it has been designed to be a relaxation are and not for swimming.

Also in the summer months our Guests enjoy both the sunbeds on the roof top terrace and the proximity ot the beach at only a few minutes walking distance.

Again we would like to thank you for your comments that most surely help us to improve our levels of service.

We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future, so we can have the chance to make your stay a memorable one.

Be assured that all the Hospes Amérigo Team will do our best to exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,


Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We did enjoy our Superior room, spacious and quiet though overlooking the street (but hey, it was December!), and the delicious breakfasts. However, the lack of an air pump in the bathroom is a serious drawback. Surely something could be done about that? Also, the tv set seemed distinctly old, with a remote control from which numbers had been rubbed out by countless users. On the other hand, the comfy slippers are a plus, and the whole structure is definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our spacious Superior rooms and our delicious and varied buffet breakfast.

We take very good note of your comments regarding the air pump in the bathroom and we have already passed those to our Maintenance Department to see how we can improve this.

Again thank you for your very kind comments that most surely help us to improve our levels of service.

All the Hospes Amérigo Team is looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Don't be fooled by the rather ordinary entrance. Hospes Amerigo is a lovely boutique hotel that was once a convent. The rooms are beautiful with high ceilings and large windows. The hotel is perfectly located, and the beach is just a short walk away. The Castle is also only a ten min walk from the hotel. The Bodyna spa was put to good use by the husband, who also recommends the gym.
Do not miss the lovely Monastrell restaurant next to the hotel, the food was top class. The breakfast spread was excellent, the service was great. Overall, we had a memorable and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dharini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the hospitality of all our Team as well as all the facilities including the new changes introduced in our delicious buffet breakfast that you could experience in your last stay. For us is very important that not only the service but also the variety and quality of all ingredients exceed your expectations.

Again we would like to thank you for your very kind comments and we are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,


Francisco Capó
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

second time we have stayed and we would probably never stay anywhere else in Alicante, close proximity to Beach and old town.

Up the road from shopping areas and café squares,.

Rooms really comfortable and the hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sital c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for becoming a regular Guest at the Hospes Amérigo.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and the service provided by all our staff.

As you very well mentioned the location of the Hotel, allows you to enjoy the best of Alicante including the beach at only a few minutes walking distance.

All the Hospes Amérigo Team is looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Francisco Capó
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
661 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,222 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Address: Calle Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: $142 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing