We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We always look for a good hotel, and this was one of the best - if not THE best - we've ever stayed in. The warm welcome in reception started it all off - fresh lemon juice for tired and thirsty travellers. Our room was just lovely. The only slight problem was that the walk-in shower ended up wetting the whole of the bathroom floor, but that was the way it was designed and installed. A better-fitting shower door would have solved the problem. Breakfast on the mezzanine floor - the best we've ever had. If you couldn't find something that you liked to eat from the vast selection available then you deserve to go without. I particularly liked the selection of fresh fruits, the homemade yogurts, the Iberian ham, and if you wanted anything cooked specially, like boiled eggs, it was done. We were comfortable, it was relaxing and restful, just what we wanted. I'd love to go back, but not sure I could face the 'cattle class' flight again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretStoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    421
    147
    33
    20
See reviews for
178
819
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

First time in Alicante & only staying 2 nights.
Initially slightly puzzled by fact that there was no front entrance from the street.
The entry is just off street but when we entered the hotel it looked very nice & the young lady on reception could not have been any more helpful both in terms of the checkin & some information on restaurants & how to get to local landmarks.
This was all topped off by the fact that we were given a room upgrade.

The room was wonderfully spacious & very comfortable with a very strong Wifi signal.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will use hotel again if back in Alicante.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiffnockIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the grim exterior, it just blends in with grim Alicante. Once inside the hotel is very welcoming and extremely good value for money.

Great wifi everywhere, but do ask for the code on arrival. The breakfast is one of the best I've ever had. Our deal was B&B so I don't know the price on its own but a real banquet.. Nice gym and small pool on the roof..


Check out the bar/ restaurant across the covered walkway, it's owned by the hotel and is as good as anywhere to have a drink and a bite to eat...don't waste your time looking farther afield

We parked in the covered car park on the marina, it's an hourly rate and has its own security and is € 5 a day cheaper than the hotels valet parking and just as safe. It's a pleasant 5 min walk to the hotel..I promise

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sbz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel had everything. Service, unpretentious, great bar, clean rooms. That's all I need. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in Alicante. And by the way, a short walk to the beach!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSG924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from a five night stay at the Hospes Amerigo. We received exceptional service from all members of staff. I would recommend this hotel for its service, cleanliness and location. The sun terrace offers superb views of the castle and the Cathedral. The pool is small but, large enough to swim a few lengths before a wonderful breakfast. If you are looking for a friendly hotel as a base to explore this lovely Spanish city Hospes Amerigo would be perfect. A big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday such a success.

Room Tip: Room 125 is very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bezz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clacton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last summer and had a wonderful time, so when we wanted some late sun there was no where else we wanted to go. The hotel is great with everything you need, clean and smart, the staff are very friendly and always helpful. We enjoy Alicante it's a city break, beach holiday rolled into one and with some great tapas bars. Looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ToneClacton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hospes Amerigo – Alicante
The moment you enter this historic building you will become aware of the atmosphere of a leading world-class luxury hotel. Ideally situated with close proximity to the Beach, Restaurants and Bars in Alicante. The Wow factor hits you straight away, from the luxury furnishings to the lavish Art work.
This was our first visit to Alicante, so I wanted a True Spanish experience in this lovely seaside location, but we also enjoy the best things in life, so Hospes Hotels were our only choice, and as they are a small chain, Service is their NO.1 Priority.
Check-in was a breeze, we were taken to see two different room’s, and given a guided tour of the whole building, I then realised that we had made the right choice, and the holiday had begun.
We opened the door to our room 321, which had the best view down to the sea, it was perfect in every way, lots of toiletries, and if you forget anything don’t worry, they provide everything, with Robe’s and Slippers, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, safe, window security shutters. I bed was very comfortable, and the room lighting could be changed to suit your mood.
Spent a lot of our time on the roof top terrace, with loungers, and the Pool, also Sauna in Changing rooms, a Gym, and full Spa facilities, just take the lift up to the 4th floor, stunning views over the roof tops towards the Castle.
We had breakfast on the last day, which was well worth the price, with lots of choice, just ask.
If you Love, Luxury, Style, and Service, then Hospes Hotels are the New Bench Mark in Hospitality.
I would like to thank all the staff at Hospes Amerigo, for making our stay such a wonderful experience, you should be very proud.

Lee Wood
Pendle Pictures

Room Tip: This hotel is a perfect location, so street noise is possible, just ask for a quite room, nothing is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PendlePictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing