We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Spent two nights at the hotel and it wasn't a good experience.
Good points:
The interior of the room is well designed.
Centrally located.
Good toiletries

Bad points:
The room was very noisy. It was like living in the middle of the street. When we complained they said it was because it was a Saturday night and the next day it would be better, which it wasn't. They also gave us the option of moving from the second floor to the third the next day but we arrived late the next day and we didn't think it was worth it as the noise was so bad.
The room was freezing. We did everything to make it warmer but it continued to be super cold.
The rooms are a bit dark and the views are non-existent.
You never really feel like the staff are helpful. When you have a problem they encourage you but do nothing else to actively solve. For example, when we complained about the cold the helpful thing would have been to come upstairs to help us regulate the temperature if possible or check if there is a problem. Instead, they drew a picture of the system to explain what we already knew.
In most five-star hotels your luggage is carried to your room, and then carried to your transportation. It was our wedding night and I was busy slugging around with luggage. This is just a serious lack of detail.
The breakfast room gets very crowded. The selection is not bad but when you have to queue for everything it makes you lose your appetite. There is only one waitress taking orders for coffee and omelettes, etc so it takes a while to get everything, when at all...

All in all, if you have experienced five star hotels this one cannot be considered one. It is at best a three/four star hotel. If they pay more attention to detail the quality could improve into the five star range but at this stage it isn't.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid junior suite 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKDGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    421
    147
    33
    20
See reviews for
178
819
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hello,

I have spent a long week-end at the Hospes Amerigo. My husband already stayed over there when on business trip. It is a beautiful design hotel. Very charming/zen rooms with good bedding and nice bathrooms. Just make sure you ask for a quiet room; you could be bothered by the street noise.

The Amerigo serves very good breakfast. I would also recommend you try the tapas restaurant. They have fantastic Jamon Iberico. Everything you will order is excellent! Service is also great.

The hotel is located in the old town - so no sea view. But the sea is only one block away! So location wise it is excellent; also near the shopping area.

During my previous stay in Alicante I stayed at the Porta Maris. We actually paid the same as the Amerigo. I would definitely go back to the Amerigo - there is no comparison! These are two different worlds! :)

Drop me a mail if you have specific questions! Sara

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - avoid the street....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Potteries
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for five nights in May 2013 in the Hospes Amerigo. The building is a former convent which has been sympathetically restored and modernised. It is very centrally located - just a couple of minutes’ walk from the marina, and close to monuments such as the town hall and cathedral, art galleries and museums, as well as shops, bars, and cafes. There is also a roof terrace overlooking the city and the castle, although there were no sunshades provided, so we were unable to sit there for long.

Our room was spacious and well-equipped, with sofa, coffee table and flat screen tv/dvd player, and the bed was very comfortable. The only minus was a lack of any lighting above either the bath or the shower – and as some other reviewers have noted, the shower base is too shallow and so water overflows onto the bathroom floor.

There was a good breakfast selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, pastries, bread, cheese, meats, smoked salmon, scrambled egg, and bacon – even sandwiches and cava. Eggs and omelettes were available on request. However, breakfast service could become a bit haphazard when it was busy – with one waitress prone to forget orders. It might be prudent to provide a coffee machine and hot water so that customers can serve themselves, if they wish.

The Monastrell restaurant is located on the hotel premises but is separately run. The bar offers a great range of tapas dishes, while the restaurant has an excellent menu and a reasonably priced wine-list. There is also a sushi bar in the hotel itself, although we did not eat there.

From the welcome when we arrived until the moment we left, individual members of front-of-house staff were consistently friendly, helpful and professional. We can’t remember receiving such excellent customer service in any other hotel in which we’ve stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate-and-ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 day break to escape the wet and windy English weather. From the moment we arrived in reception the service was exceptional. A welcome drink upon arrival and a very warm greeting by the reception staff. We stayed in room 312 it was perfect looking down onto the courtyard area. It's a lovely old town setting and therefore the energy and excitement can be heard but from our room with the air con on and the large glass doors closed brilliant nights sleep every night. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard every day. Toiletries are lovely korres you wouldn't need to take any of the basics if like us you were travelling light. Fabulous shower and bathing facilities. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, however we ordered coffee every morning to the room which came very promptly it was 6 euros and they are large pot of coffee you get about 4 large cups from the jugs and very nice indeed. I personally think its an upmarket hotel and tea and coffee making facilities are not appropriate.The pool terrace area was pretty quiet no bar open as not really in season but I think it opens in the next few weeks. Always clean fresh towels on every sun lounger first thing every morning. It's not a pool really it's more of a spa area lovely view in the evening as well of the castle lit up.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel and I would not hesitate in recommending a stay here. We shall defiantly be returning in September as it was quite simply an unforgettable experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiesukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 days over the May bank holiday. Alicante is a wonderful city but Hospes Amerigo was the real star. The staff at reception were fantastic and could not have been more helpful. Room was excellent as was the buffet breakfast. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hospes Amerigo for three nights in May 2013. We had a warm and welcoming reception from Jose one of the receptionists and throughout the stay they were pleasant and helpful.

We had a Dreamers room which was larger than I expected and very comfortable, and had a balcony at the back overlooking Calle Major (?) As some have said because of the bars and restaurants below there was always a buzz and general noise coming from there. But for me that's part of the holiday experience , and anyway closing the balcony doors eradicated the noise.

I used the sun terrace on the 4th floor and although I didn't use the small gym it looked perfectly functional and adequate to me. The terrace bar was not open while we were there

Breakfast was included in our rate and was plentiful. The only slightly negative comment I would make, was that coffee had to be ordered from the serving staff who were very busy restocking the breakfast buffet and sometimes took a while to get round to us. Might be more efficient all round to have coffee available on a do it yourself basis at the buffet?

The beach is a 5 minute walk away and 12 euros for a parasol and two sun loungers. As long as you keep your ticket you can leave and come back at anytime during the day, provided there is space off course.

We frequented the bar directly across the road from the hotel, Tapa Cena (?) and for two of us paid less than 12 euros altogether for plentiful delicious tapas and beer, over a period of about 1. 5 to 2 hours . Nice touch that the bar staff come round with a tray of tapas regularly and you pay for what you take.

C6 bus to and from the airport stops extremely close to the hotel and costs €2.75 for a single journey. It takes only about 25 minutes

Altogether a great short break in the sun and we will return to the Hopses Americo and Alicante

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

booked room with a view deluxe double,. no view not sure any room as a view apart from the street or the passage so basically looking onto other buildings ok city hotel, the foyer is very appealing at night especially with a great bar next to it but after the foyer the carpets are grubby,. our room was large great shower/bath dressing area ROOM324 although could all be touched up a bit, definately not 5 star beaware when booking if you ask for room with a view they say yes we have them heard that first hand at reception,. The plus for the hotel is its located near some great bars etc breakfast outside the hotel is in abundance Also request kettle and cups as not standard
robes slippers and great toiletries included ,. also remember saturday night is noisy all night,.

Pool on the grotty side and the spa area is pretty basic was hoping it would be a return spa hotel but no not this one

Room Tip: room 324 could sleep 2 +1 on the settee saturday night is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#7 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing