We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning architecture”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stunning architecture”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The building is stunning, full of history and in a superb location. Staff are excellent and very service-orientated. Rooms are very well appointed and equipped. I love the interior design of them.
Pool area is rather small but there are two nice little sun traps on the roof by the spa with great views of the city.

Minor issue is the tapas bar opposite, which has live music on many days, people hanging out in front and chatting. Ergo, it is really loud and I would therefore avoid having a room out front again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms out front on weekends. Tapas bar opposite very loud into the early hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    426
    148
    33
    21
See reviews for
181
826
47
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you fancy TV flat screens, bathrobes and other niceties of the kind, and you have spare money, AND YOU DO NOT CARE UGLY VIEW AND SURROUNDINGS, then go there. Otherwise choose something else, unless you can have a guarantee to obtain rooms 322, 321, 320 or, alternatively, 222, 221, 220, which can have a glimpse of the sea and, necessarily, a lesser view of the ugly surroundings.

Now, you are going to tell me that Alicante is not precisely what you would call a nice and beautiful place and, therefore, ugly view and surroundings are not necessarily a bad thing, since it is typical of the town. It is true and untrue at the same time. Because, wandering about I saw nice squares, with hotels on them, e.g. in the Piaza del Ayuntamieto, which would necessarily offer a nicer (and less expensive staying).

Also, is it conceivable that a supposedly five stars hotel does offer coffee and tee making facilities? Apparently it is....

Pity, holidays is precious thing, people pay a lot (and not only in terms of money) to have them and the professional of tourism make unduly unjustices to themselves.

And a last thing. At some moment tourist authorities should also control the advertishment about hotel swimming pools.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a sea glimpse, in particulat in ordrer to reduce view of ugly surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Haris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

lovely hotel in central position for exploring Spanish Old Town. Five minutes walk to beach. Use of roof terrace, small gym, sauna and rooftop indoor swimming pool. Quality linens and excellent bathroom and shower facilities with top quality products. Great bar and restaurant, advisable to book restaurant for week-ends. Staff friendly and helpful. Airport bus service 5 minutes walk and excellent prompt for 2.70e.

Room Tip: avoid breakfast at 18e overpriced and extra for some cooked items. Great places close by to eat, Ley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ileana318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us and also for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are very glad that you enjoyed all the Hotel facilities and services in your stay with us, including the service provided by Monastrell Restaurant and Isla Incity Lounge Bar.
Be assured that we will pass your very kind comments to all the Hospes Amérigo Team.
We are really looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for our honey moon in May of 2011. We picked this hotel for location. Arrival went smooth, The room was smaller than expected, and the bathroom had broken tiles and glass edges. The hotel staff were friendly. Sadly the hotel walls were paper thin and at 6:40 every morning we could hear the garbage trucks and delivery trucks out side our room, we were on the 4th floor. The rooftop pool was small but hit the spot. The roof top bar was not stocked with the drinks you would expect at a 5 star hotel, so i settled for a Corona. The hotels joining restaurant was shockingly rude, we dropped in on them late one night for two oysters and a piece of cake and the waiter was kind enough to build a 10 euro tip into our 14 euro bill. I would not recommend you stay here. For the money you can get more. Hopefully they have refurnished by now.

Room Tip: Say way from the main road, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Speel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hospes Amérigo in May 2011.
We would also like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to meet your expectatios and provide you with the service that you expected.
Again we would like to thank you for your comments and we hope to have the possibility to welcome you to our Hotel, so you can have the chance to see the improvements in the service in both the Hotel and the Restaurants and Bars since your last stay.

Looking forward to welcome you to the Hospes Amérigo in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just had six days in Alicante at the Hospes Amerigo. Weather windy but the sun was lovely once a spot was found out of the wind.

The hotel is very good. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a very wide choice. Only grpe would be that the chairs on the tiled floor need buffers to remove the alarming screeches every time a chair is moved.

There was much to do in Alicante - numerous lovely walking areas, a 1 hour 20 minute tram ride to Benidorm which is barely worth a visit but the ride there and back for Euros6.60 is great fun. We also took the trin to Elda. Again, the ride was excellent value but Elda hardly worth a vist in spite of its history.

Room tip - Avoid the Rooms at the front of the hotel as the Tapas bar over the road is very noisy on Saturday nights.
Eating Out - The Taberna del Gourmet (one street down) has excellent tapas and very friendly service. The El Medina in the small sqaure behind the Ayuntamiento was our favourite - excellent paella.

Room Tip: Try to avoid front of hotel as the Tapas Bar opposite can get noisy at nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suffolkmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We would like to sincerely thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We are very glad that you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable rooms and the quality of our fresh buffet breakfast.
As you have had the chance to visit not only Alicante but also other nearby towns in your next stay if you are planning to stay for a few days and the weather is good we also recommend you to visit Altea which is a small charming town just after Benidorm where you can enjoy the narrow streets, the architecture of the typical Mediterranean houses and the small restaurants and bars located by the Church.
Again thank you for your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated with a lot within walking distance. We were in an apartment close by the hotel which was fine in all respects; clean and roomy. The hotel staff were extremely helpful. We only sampled the breakfast menu which was excellent quality but on the expensive side. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Hotel in your last visit to Alicante.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the apartments located at only 50 metres from the Hotel. As you could experience staying at the apartments allows you to use all the facilities in the Hotel including the pool area and gym.
As you have already sampled or fresh buffet breakfast we recommend you in your next visit to try the gastronomy of Monastrell Tapas Bar, Monastrell Restaurant or Isla Incity Lounge Bar.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for one night, but wished it could have been more.
Lovely modern room, comfortable bed.
Perfect location for the Barrio area and Cathedral.
Highly reccomended, and we will definately go there again, and definately book through easytobook.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank SimoneSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hospes Amérigo in your last visit to Alicante.
We will pass your very kind comments to all our Team.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future and that you have the opportunity to enjoy again the best of Alicante's city center.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing