We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointed!”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is definitely overpriced. It is not even close to 5 stars. There is no door (!) in the shower and even toilet, this was a surprise for our friends and their son. Shower itself was broken with cold water. Breakfast might be ok for 3* but is not acceptable for 5*, only ham and cheese. Our friends had to change the room because of terrible smell. Rooms are dark and uncomfortable (it has nothing to the pictures on the web site). Staff is unhelpful and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey_Kolosov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We would also like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in your last stay at the Hospes Amerigo.
Regarding your comments about the bathroom, the facilities of all our bathtubs are equipped with a fixed glass screen, except for those rooms that have a walking shower. Then the shower is equiped with a glass door, and the bathtub open. As per the toilets these are equipped with a sliding door with an opaque glass.
I have to say that we were surprised with your comments regarding the variety of our buffet breakfast. This includes a selection of cheese, continental meats, smoked salmon, cererals, 6 differente varieties of fresh fruits and a wide selection of cereals, pastries and breads amongst other items. Again we are very sorry that you did not find these to your liking. I can assure you that we emphasis in the quality, freshness and variety of our breakfast.
Again we would like to thank you for your comments that most surely help us to improve our levels of service.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante to ensure that you can enjoy the true 5* experience that you expect.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
There are newer reviews for Hospes Amerigo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked this hotel online through Mr & Mrs Smith.

The hotel was absolutely incredible, we got upgraded from a Junior Suite to the Presidential Suite which was amazing!

The decor was fantastic, the staff were polite and attentive.

The location was great and the restaurant they recommended for our anniversary dinner was perfect.

We look forward to many more return trips!

Room Tip: The presidential suite was amazing....
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for chossing the Hospes Amérigo to celebrate this special occasion.
As you could experience, all the Amerigo Team is very dedicated to try to make your stay a memorable one.
Most surely we will pass your comments to all our staff and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Been before, in the apartment. Lashed up booking this time told we had been upgraded to a hotel room. What a load of rubbish front door handle broken, shower room flooded shower thermostat did not work. Got the apartment next day. Door missing off kitchen unit. Light bulbs hanging out of bathroom ceiling, cooker broken. I could go on and on. May try contacted MD but will probable fall on deaf ears.
Go on the way they are, will be 1 star soon
Plus side the breakfast was good. Some staff try.

Room Tip: So sad to see a rapid decline in standards
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
Regarding the up grade to the Hotel, there was a problem with the apartment that you were asigned and we decided to offer you a room in the Hotel. We consider this an up grade, as the price of the room in the Hotel was higher than the price of the apartament on the dates that your reservation was made.
Obviously we would like to send you our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. All the Hospes Amerigo Team works very hard to try to make your stay a memorable one and we sincerely appreciate to be informed of any problems arising during our Guests stay, so we can have the chance to try to have these solved or to change you to another room or apartament.
As you can imagine your opinion is very important for us, for that reason as soon as I was informed that your stay was not satisfactory, I approched you to have feed back about the issues that you have mentioned.
Be assured that we do care a lot about your opinion, and all our Front Office Team, the Manager on Duty or myself are always at your service to assist you at any time and listen to your comments.
As I told you after your check out we would like to thank you for the time that you spent giving us feed back about your stay, that most surely help us to improve our levels of service and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante to ensure that your stay is the true 5* experience that you expect.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Handy to Puerto del Mar bus and tram stop which gives you direct access to the airport. Staff were very polite and spoke good English. Asked all the right questions at the end of our stay. Rooms were large with good selection of accessories and DVD player in room. Well stocked minibar, with complementary chocks one evening. Good size bathroom, lots of space in closets. Nice balcony. Good cocktail bar in restaurant champagne bar next door. Small bar opposite is very lively, however I got to play guitar with a mariachi band so I was happy. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also had the chance to enjoy your favourite cocktail.
As you could experience, all the Hospes Amerigo team are very orientated to try to make your stay a memorable one.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A full package; perfect location, lovely design and spacious room. Delicious breakfast buffet and nice tapas bar. Staff friendly and helpful, especially the Norwegian woman in the reception desk Loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to sample the cuisine of Monastrell Tapas Bar and our fresh buffet breakfast.
We will pass your very kind comments about the service provided by Christine from our Front Office Team and also to the rest of our staff.
All the Hospes Amerigo Team is sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

For 3 1/2 stars this would be good. 4 stars average. 5 stars it is not.
It has no restaurant and there are no tea making facilities in any of the rooms.
Very noisy bedrooms due to bars outside, until 4am.
Facilities are minimal, if you discount the sex shop and all night bars immediately opposite.
Breakfast is Continental, a mixture of afternoon tea and breads. Ancient toasters take a while and if busy, a long wait. Cooked eggs are available at an extra cost but come on a cold plate with slices of raw tomato.
Staff were excellent and rooms large and comfortable. Central position makes walking into town easy.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one, but 3rd floor at back is furthest away from noise.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfpapamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us. We would also like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in your last stay at the Hospes Amerigo.
Regarding the gastronomy in the Hotel, we offer within the Hotel premises both Monastrell Tapas Bar and a la carte Restaurant and Islaincity sushibar. All of these outlets are in the Hotel and are managed by the best restauratours in Alicante. We are very proud to have this partnership with them and we consider them as part of the Hotel, eventhough those are run by external companies.
As you rightly said, we do not have tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, we provide this on request as you could experience during your stay and we also offer 24 hours Room Service that allows you to enjoy your favourite drink all day.
As per the facilities around the Hotel, the major shopping area of Alicante (Maissonave Street) is not even 10 minutes walking distance from the Hotel. Unfortunately regarding some of the shops nearby the Hotel, we do not have the luxury to choose the sort of business open in Altamira Street and on the other hand we are lucky enough to have some of the best restaurants and bars in Alicante within minutes from the Hotel.
As per our breakfast, we try to offer the best quality products in our buffet breakfast emphasising in fresh and local produce. As you mentioned, we offer cooked eggs with a suplement, in order to adjust the price of our breakfast for those guests who do not wish to enjoy a cooked breakfast. As we are in Alicante we offer our eggs with fresh raw tomato, nevertheless for those Guests who prefer to enjoy these grilled or any other way we also serve them when requested, as you could experience the second day of your stay.
We sincerely appreciate your comments about the good service provided by our staff and we are very glad that you enjoyed one of our large rooms and the location right in the city centre of Alicante.
Again we would like to thank you for your comments, that most surely help us to improve our levels of service.
All the Hospes Amerigo team is looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante to ensure that you enjoy the 5* experience that you expect.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Our room was large, clean and we certainly enjoyed having air conditioning. Close to the beach and an easy walk to the sights of the City. If you are renting a car, make sure it is small as the hotel parkade can be a bit of challenge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hospes Amérigo.
As you mentioned we have an underground car park in the Hotel premises. Being the Hotel a former 16th Century Convennt we have the luxury to have parking in the Hotel but on the other hand we only have 18 spaces.
In your next if you find the parking tricky, that may happen when it is almost full, please do not hesitate to request the assistance of our Front Office Team for that matter.
Again thank you for your very kind comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
661 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,231 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Address: Calle Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: $142 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing