We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Volvo Ocean Race

Museo Volvo Ocean Race
Ranked #8 of 129 things to do in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Volvo Ocean Race Museum is a modern installation where visitors can enjoy a close-up view of the world's longest and toughest professional sporting event and learn about the heroes who battle the oceans in this race around the world. Take a trip through the history of the regatta and the marine world in this state-of-the-art interactive space - the only museum in the world dedicated to a race considered the Everest of Sailing.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

A free, interactive and awe-inspiring insight into Ocean Racing. Great videos and comfortable viewing. You can even steer a 60 foot yacht around a race course. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dobby1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    132
    35
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

A very welcoming compact Museum with videos, photographs, facts & history of both the Volvo & Whitbread Ocean Races. Excellent layout & enjoyable for all the family. It has free entry with professional polite staff. We recommend it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LUXESHOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“suprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

went to the museum after coming across it on a walk out. I was very pleasantly surprised, not been a sailor or having any great interest in sailing thought it may be dry and stuffy but I and my husband found it extremely interesting and informative I would definitely recommend a visit (and all for free) two hours passed very quickly

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So much better than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was a bit sceptical when we visited here (we went in because it was raining and it's free), but it turned out to be so great that we stayed until the staff told us they were closing. The way they managed to tell the story of the Volvo Ocean Race is informative, interactive, and personal. It was even interesting for someone like me, who is not familiar with sailing at all. It helped a lot that everything is in English.
The best part was the photo exhibition. The pictures were great and whoever made the texts underneath them did a great job.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HellyP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Not particularly interested in ocean racing but was captivated by the way the museum was laid out. We visited in January and it was very quiet which gave us the opportunity to spend time digesting all the information and using the interactive models. Spent over 90 minutes could have spent longer but got thrown out for the siesta. Would go back again if we had time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bench2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Volvo Ocean Race also viewed

 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Museo Volvo Ocean Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing