We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay - this hotel could be great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay - this hotel could be great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just back from a 14 night stay in the Hotel Spa Porta Maris. We booked a standard double room on the harbour view side to avail of afternoon sun. Rooms with seaview get morning sun. If you want a seaview room with double bed (not 2 singles) then you have to book a premium room. All standard rooms with seaview have twin beds.

After a 15 minute taxi ride from the airport we were checking in. On check in we were advised that we could either pay 50% or 100% of the entire bill up front. As I have never encountered this before I was somewhat taken aback. There was no mention of this on my booking confirmation or on the web site. Seemingly this is a regular policy allowed by spanish hotel legislation. This is not in itself an issue but it would be nice to know in advance.

Although we had requested a room on a high floor we were a little disappointed to be allocated one on the 2nd floor (we were later able to move). The room itself was a good size with king bed. There was a flat screen tv, safety deposit box, pillow menu. The balcony overlooked the casino. No real view of the harbour. As others have said the music goes on until about 6.30am. Once the balcony doors are closed you don't hear it - you definitely could not have the doors open though. The bathroom was clean, with great shower and plenty toiletries replaced daily - shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, toothbrush and toothpaste, vanity kit, comb.

The tea and coffee making facilities which we had requested were not in the room but this was quickly rectified when we mentioned it at reception. Milk, coffee, tea etc were seldom replaced - eventually we got tired of asking. We bought a jar of coffee. Such a small niggle which is annoying and could so easily be dealt with.

We had external spa circuit included in our package - this provides access to a small indoor pool, jacuzzi (luke warm) and foot bath. There were a lot of children there when we went in. There is also a little outside area with a few sun loungers. We did not feel it was anything great and only went once. The spa is confusing and there is little information provided. You need to get a voucher at reception to enter - you then have to ring a bell to get access. Once you get into the spa you take your voucher to the reception (near the Melia) to get towels and locker keys. It would appear that the spa forms part of the Melia as the reception area is located on their side. We were able to use the showers in the spa before leaving - they are not warm though - practically cold. Although not an issue for us as we loved the beach you should know that unless you book the suites you have no access to an outdoor pool ( I think there is an option to pay for access to suites pool but it is expensive). The hotel will keep your bags for you if you have a late departure.

As we were staying for 14 nights we requested to be moved to a higher level and got a lovely room on the 5th floor. This was still overlooking the casino but there were gorgeous views of the boats/yachts and the harbour, the city of Alicante itself and the Castle. You would still need to keep the balcony door closed at night. The room was brighter than the 2nd floor room. The bathroom did not appear to be as modern but had everything and a great shower. We were delighted with this room.

We managed to get Wifi in the room most of the time which was great - on smartphone, tablet and also to download books on kindle.

The breakfast is fabulous and served in a lovely bright room with sea views. There was freshly made orange juice and other juices, fresh fruit - melon, pineapple, apples, oranges, kiwis etc - selection of cold meats, cheeses, fish. The hot food was sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms. Nice selection of bread and pastries. Tea, coffee and sparkling champagne to drink. Also choices of cereal and yogurts. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

There is a bank machine in reception as well as some computers allowing internet access. There was also a number of newspapers available to read.

Beach towels can be got from reception - just leave a €10 deposit. Towels can be changed daily.

The hotel has a great location - the Spa Porta Maris and the Melia is one long building and situated just around the corner from the beach. The beach was busy but we got sunbeds and loungers and this was fine. If coming with your own chair and umbrella in peak season I would imagine it to be very crowded. The beds and umbrellas closest the hotel were €6 each (€18 for 2 loungers and 1 umbrella). Walk a little further and for €12 you get 2 sun loungers and 1 umbrella. You could also get a chair for €1.50 Just sit on a bed and the guy will come around to you to pay. Buses to San Juan were frequent and were close to the hotel - at the start of the beach. The tram stop near the hotel is not longer in operation.

Opposite the beach there is a 24 hour shop, pharmacy, tobacco shop. There is also a stall selling international newspapers - this is at the beginning of the beach.

There are some lovely restaurants and we enjoyed Taberna del Gourmet, Nou Manolin, Sento, Sal and Pepe, L' atalier, Ibericos- to name just a few.

The elevator to Castillo Santa Barbara is across the road from the beach and costs €2.50. The last elevator up is 7.20 pm and the last one down is 7.40pm. The hop on hop off bus is €10 and would give you your bearings - we had one day of rain and did this that day. The Volvo Ocean Museum is free and is worth a visit. Just come out of the hotel and go left.

We took a trip to the Island of Tabarca - just over an hour each way and costs €18. Sunbeds (2) and umbrella were €14. There are a few restaurants and little gift shops.

Once the inital small issues were resolved we had a great stay. We would recommend to friends and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marcolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    505
    173
    58
    33
See reviews for
222
593
34
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just before we left the UK for Alicante we looked at some new hotel reviews for this place that had been added since we booked it and were worried that the negative comments would ruin our stay.

Well, it's in a great location just a few minutes walk to the town. The receptionist was efficient at checking us in, even though our room wasn't ready at the time, but we knew it wouldn't be as we'd arrived early. When we did get to our room it wasn't quite what we thought it would be. We were in room 529. I think the room details on booking.com gave us the impression that our junior suite was in the Suites del Mar part of the hotel, not the Spa Porta Maris part. which is where we found ourselves Therefore, we were disappointed with the room we were given.

On the positive side, it did have a splendid terrace/balcony that was L-shaped and gave us great views of the sea, city and marina, and had enough seating and tables for the two of us.

It had a separate lounge area which had its own flat-screen TV and doors to the terrace. The bedroom had an enormous bed and plenty of wardrobe space, a safe, TV and doors to the terrace. The bathroom was ok, but not fantastic. It had a shower over the bath, not a cubicle like we’d expected. The soaps etc were sparse and the tiny bars of soap lasted just one shower and turned to jelly!

There were tea/coffee making facilities but the tea bags consisted of mint tea usually...yuk, who drinks that? There were just two little milks. At one point we had 13 sugar sachets, 5 mint tea bags, 2 decaf coffees and just 2 milks. I had to leave a note for the maid to give us black tea bags and more milk. A card on the serving tray said we’d have to pay 1€ for each additional item. Just ignore that, we weren’t charged.

It seems they have serious portion control on the bathroom and drinks supplies. The hotel was, however, not cheap and I expected a better quality and supply of those items for a 4 star hotel.

The room was fairly clean, in that the bathroom, floors and bed were clean. Everywhere else, like ledges and shelves were dusty. The bed had one of those long bolster pillows which was hard, but there was a better one in the wardrobe which we used.

The cash safe broke down once and we couldn’t open it, although the engineer came promptly and fixed it.

We had just one drink in the hotel bar. We ordered two gin and tonics. The waiter brought a tray with goldfish bowl sized glasses filled with about 5kg of ice! Into which he poured a tiny amount of Larios gin and then a whole bottle of tonic into each glass. This cost us a staggering 14.60€. so, give the bar a miss.

We looked at the Melia Hotel next door and this looked a whole lot better appointed. We’d stay here next time.

Room Tip: Junior suite rooms on 'The Level' in the Suites del Mar part of the hotel will be better. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furfoxache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in early August and found it to be a great place. Free wifi in rooms would have been nice but bar area was excellent. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the location of hotel is excellent. We didn't have the breakfast option but the local eateries were excellent. The meals we had in the bar were great and the staff there were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69WendsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I've just come back from staying at this hotel, and although I had a fantastic holiday in Alicante itself - the hotel made it all the better. Upon arrival I was very disappointed however as the double room we had booked had been double- booked as they said I had checked in too late - after a discussion with reception and stating that they should have called me to check, the very next morning they went above and beyond sorting the problem out for us. We where very lucky to get a good deal which included the spa at no extra charge - I would recommend doing this if you can. The pool area was very peaceful with amazing views, with a jacuzzi, fresh towels and a gym if you wanted to use it - we found this better than going to the busy beach. Our room was huge, with lots of treats (don't even pack a toothbrush as they provide them!) including dressing gowns, slippers, luxury bedding for a great nights sleep and a shower with sea views - it was very special. I think the hotel is expensive, but if you want to treat yourself then please go - it is ideally located for everything and literally 15 minutes in a taxi from the airport. I hope I get to return to this hotel again one day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Or at least he said his name was Oscar as he didn't wear a name badge. A rude little man in glasses .. if you have him serve you say your wait for someone else on reception. He refused to provide a receipt when we checked out and became very aggressive. I said I want evidence to show we had no outstanding fee to pay and asked to speak to the hotel manager to which he replied that he was on holiday (this is mid August time). The rest of the hotel is fine, but no out door pool and the spar set-up with getting a ticket and trying to access the unmanned area needs attention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at the Suites del Mar a couple of nights in July. The Suites del Mar seems to be only a sectionof the Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar.My review only refers to the Suites del Mar section.

I really liked this hotel. The rooms are good and have impressive views into the sea. My room had a shower that was looking into the sea. The rooms were quiet and clean.

The hotel has four stars and its cleaningness, service, prices, etc match that standard. The hotel does not claim luxury but offers great service, beauty and value.

I had breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast was rather good. It does not offer a great variety of dishes, but that is fine for.

Overall, I was very happy with this hotel, and I would certainly recommend it provided that its room prices are below around 200 Euro per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathew2055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our second visit to the Suites del Mar in Alicante. We also stayed 4 days in April. For 2 adults and a small child, the suites provide the perfect room. We enjoyed a fabulous view of the sea and pool, nice sized balcony. Our son loved the jacuzzi tub and we enjoyed the luxuriously large shower. Comfortable beds and a decent buffet breakfast with good opening times. This time we were able to enjoy the hotel's pool and outdoor jacuzzi. The beach is nearby and the town of Alicante is a wonderful place to explore. Very kid-friendly with many wonderful places to taste the flavors of Spain. The Volvo Ocean Race Sailing Museum is within walking distance to the hotel and worth a visit, entrance is free...also good for kids. We did everything either by foot or using the metro...which is very clean and new.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar

Property: Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar
Address: Pz Puerta del Mar 3-5, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#6 Family Hotel in Alicante
#7 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spa Porta Maris And Suites Del Mar
Hotel Porta Maris Del Mar
Spa Porta Maris Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing