We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good view, but not quiet as good as the Melia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good value, good view, but not quiet as good as the Melia”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just back from my first stay at the Hotel Spa Porta Maris. Usually stay next door at the Melia, so how do they compare? First it appears as though they were built at the same time by the same architect using the same materials. The rooms in both hotels are the same size and they have similar views, the rooms on the north have sea views, those facing south a view over the marina and the port. In the Porta Maris I had two (small) single beds which is common in Spain. The room was not well sound-proofed and I could noise from the corridor and the next room. The bathroom was functional and clean. However, the wifi was painfully slow and it made work impossible. The Melia is closer to town, so a slightly shorter walk, but it is likely to be noisier at busy times and on summer weekends. The Porta Maris was not busy in mid March and the breakfast buffet, although adequate, was not nearly as good as the Melia. The staff on reception do not seem as well trained or as professional as the Melia. Final verdict? The Melia just wins, but I would return to the Porta Maris if the price was right

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    520
    175
    58
    34
See reviews for
224
607
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have just spend 4 nights and I was very pleased with my room having the shower with the ocean views was a treat! It was clean and had a good service. It is on the main port and as a general rule I find Spain is not a quiet place, that is part of the culture and charm. To find restaurants, bars, shops people walking speaking loud is a a part of enjoying life in here. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. I know I made a good choice coming here!

Room Tip: You have rooms to the port side... Call and make sure you get the East side, sunrise are exceptional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in a premium suite facing the beach/bay. Better than average. Pros: great view; clean; staff were nice; breakfast good. Cons: beds are not great, but not uncomfortable; bathrooms need an update; hard floors means that you hear clacking of shoes if there are rooms above you, but otherwise quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anders b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginevra, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've chosen this hotel to stay 4 night with my two kids 9 and 7, because of it covered pool. What my surprise was when on the first day, asking how to get to the swimming pool, I have been told that we must pay 9€ each to get there! I let you imagine that I was not able to pay 4 times 27€ to swim in the small tiny swimming pool they have. One of my friends who lives in Alicante phoned to find out that this price is only to get to their spa! Honestly I do believe that they just did not allow me and my kids, imagining that they were going to be trouble makers in their pool. So here I tell you my big disappointment. I definitely DO NOT recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights with two teenagers. Had a nice suite with two terraces. Very clean. Did not like though that there was no doorrumno proper door. For one night or two it doesn't matter, but I got a bit fed up after a few days. You don't want to wake the whole family in the morning when you are going to have a shower, going to the toilet etc.
The suite has a sliding door between the bedroom and living room which is a good thing. Some can wath TV if they like, and some can go to bed.
As far I as I have experienced the hotel has no suites with towards south (important if you have planned sunbathing on the terrace). A disapointment for us. Still there is a nice sun terrace with swimming pool available for the guests living in the suits. On that we spent several hours (even in February ;-). All in all we are satisfied, would not mind staying here next time - well perhpd not with teen agers....
Breakfast was good, - had a nice variety. The breakfat room has a magnificant view to the sea. Just sitting there is pleasure. Staff excellent.

Room Tip: You either get sun in the morning or in the evening. Suites towards east have a better view (sea, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

quiet place with a beautiful view of the sea An appropriate price and location close to everything and a wonderful breakfast, as well as excellent reception staff ,The place is generally fit for rest and recreation has booked two interconnecting rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHMAD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

just got back from staying at a junior suite room 527 in this hotel, good and bad points to consider but on the whole was good for what we needed for 2 night stay.
The staff on reception on checking in needed some customer care skills, quite abrupt and un helpful.
The room was large and had everything we needed apart from milk to make a drink, thank you to the people who stayed in the room before us for leaving a bottle of vodka and some shaving foam, clearly the room which wasnt ready on arrival had not been cleaned properly.
the view from the double balcony was perfect, the sunset was amazing.
we spent a lot of time in the Spa , very relaxing although the sun chairs had seen better days, not really a 4 star , breakfast was good, good choice from salmon and champagne to bacon and eggs. well situated next to marina and easy walk to the town, beach on hand , i recomend this hotel if you want it as a base but not a four star sorry

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharenclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar

Property: Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar
Address: Pz Puerta del Mar 3-5, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#6 Family Hotel in Alicante
#7 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spa Porta Maris And Suites Del Mar
Hotel Porta Maris Del Mar
Spa Porta Maris Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing