We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's always great to come back to this oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's always great to come back to this oasis”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a wonderful week in this beautiful city. It's our second time in this beautiful hotel and we plan to come back. The breakfast are a joy for the senses, you have to try everything from the great selection of their buffet breakfast.
Highly recommended, magnificent view and location, best food, great staff

Room Tip: ask for ocean view, gorgeous sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astro_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    521
    175
    58
    34
See reviews for
224
609
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rafol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay here. The hotel is in an amazing setting, we had a junior suite which gave fantastic sea views from 2 balconies. Opposite is a picturesque marina with some nice bar restaurants, with good value breakfasts, (hotel at 16 euro per person was a bit pricey) Within an easy walk is the older part of the town with traditional restaurants and tapas bars, and in the opposite direction a safe sandy beach. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating.In particular the spa manager Lucas was very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and attractions. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel, is that the decking around the pool/spa really needs a spruce up, it gives an otherwise lovely area a bit of a shabby look. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: book direct with the hotel to get a guarranteed sea view. junior suites include spa access and the j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed there for three nights. The hotel was clean and nice. The room was pretty big (double bedroom) aswell as the bathroom (with shower). Very silent and very comfortable beds. I slept like a baby.
We got a room on the third floor but the view was terrible. We could only see the casino in front of the hotel and a piece of the street. As far as I know (and according to the ads I saw all over the hotel) if you want nice views you can pay an extra when booking your room and then I guess you get the view of the sea (although the beach is not very nice, but I have to say that I'm used to pretty good beach landscapes given the place I am original from, so my standards are pretty high for this).
The breakfast buffet offered a great deal of different food and drinks and everything was pretty good.
The only drawback was the spa. I payed 9€ to enjoy the "open circuit", as they call it (this includes swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna) and I found it very poor and in a pretty bad condition. The locker rooms were not clean and everything seemed to be worn out and very old. Also, the employee who was supposed to show us the place around did not put a lot of effort on it so we spent ages trying to find the sauna or how to make the jacuzzis work. The steam room was bad as well, even some cleaning products were left there, and the showers didn't work perfectly either... It was very disappointing. However, I didn't have any other treatments that they offered there, but I hope the quality is much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mk
Level Contributor
291 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lovely hotel bit off putting as you pull up outside its a bit drab looking but once inside its a very clean modern hotel staff are very friendly and helpfull we had premium rooms which are very spacious big bed very clean and comfortable and a balcony with fantastic views you are close enough to hear the sea included is use of spa and gym these are very good with everything you could want and a swimming pool the breakfast was great lots of choice and all fresh this hotel is a very good 4 star hotel better than some of the so called 5 star hotels i have stayed in a short walk and there are plenty of bars and restaurants i had some of the best sea food i have tasted there is also a casino just across the road it looked great but we did not go in the main town has some great shops and a trip to the castle is a must we took open top bus only downside was parking it cost 20 euros a day and that was after the discount you get from hotel beach is 5 mins away and was very clean and soft sand i would recomend this hotel to anyone we had a great stay

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for premium rooms they are worth the extra just for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazchrisMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in a suite, i think second floor with views to the sea. And what views!! had two balconies. A lounge area. The shower was in between one of the terraces and the bedroom, and I can't say enough... the views either from the balcony, or the bedroom, or the shower even, which was all glass floor to ceiling and had electric shades. Definitely will recommend this hotel, the Porta Maris suites. the toilet and bathtub were at the other side of the bed, very clever ! The hotel's service was ok.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacheles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really good hotel in a great location on Alicante seafront. Outside is the harbour and a pirate ship which is some kind of restaurant. There is a nice bar looking out across the harbour and nearby is the promenade (the Explanada de Espana) with a nice selection of bars and restaurants. The hotel is very convenient for all of this. The rooms were good, of a good size and the shower (no bath) was excellent. Because of the positioning of the hotel you get either a sea-view or a view over the harbour. The harbour also is home to a casino, a karaoke bar and other places of entertainment. On a Saturday night this was a bit noisy but it was ok on a Sunday and the beginning of the week. Breakfast was of a good quality with a nice range of choices (salmon even) and the staff were helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: If you need to get a bus back to Alicante airport when you leave and you feel you need a taxi to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil_walker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

we stayed here, after checking out several other hotels in the area, as this had all one could expect from a good hotel. The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable, and the views are stunning, along the beach and sun rise is special. the restaurant was vert quiet, as we stayed here in March, but the service and food was reasonable, no problems with the local language, even the bar staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely hotel to stay and roam around the old town, pick up several bars with plenty of good tapa's. and lots of great shops. the beach is perfect for lazing in the sun or just strolling around. the only small let down for me(not my partner) was the small swimming pool, hardly big enough to do one stroke, and the spa was rather boring and outdated, i think this needs an upgrade. but overall, we had a very lovely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar

Property: Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar
Address: Pz Puerta del Mar 3-5, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#6 Family Hotel in Alicante
#7 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spa Porta Maris And Suites Del Mar
Hotel Porta Maris Del Mar
Spa Porta Maris Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing