We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location, very close to the beach and old town, El Barrio. But the rooms are very basic, the air conditioning barely worked and there was no safe in the room. Overall probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swiftyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Manager at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to inform about safety boxes, available at the front office with no cost.
Air conditioning had an electrical problem last week, which was fixed in 24 hours. We apologize for the inconveniences and will be very pleased to welcome you back

Thank you and best regards

Carlos Bosch
carlos.bosch.morro@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 512 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Priceworthy. Close to everything. Small and rooms, airconditioning equipment not so effektive. Beds Werner Hardy, but i like tjat. Narrow garage, very difficult to park. Breakfast ok, but without any real tasty surprice. Price and location compensate.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Manager at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello Peter P!!
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TA.
We hope you had a nice stay in Alicante and look forward welcoming you soon again.
Regards,
Carlos Bosch
Manager
carlos.bosch.morro@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a terrace room, which was spacious and clean. The fridge was a good bonus, and breakfast offered a varied choice of sweet and savoury products. Location wise - seconds away from myriad cafes, bars and restaurants.
The beds aren't the most comfortable or secure - two singles shoved together, which skate into the middle of the room if you move about in your sleep.
I would recommend paying your room bill by card because we paid in cash and didn't get any change.

Room Tip: We had a terrace room which would have been really quiet at night had there not been a massive firew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmam2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Manager at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello!!
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments and experience on TA.
I do not understand what you mean when you say "we paid cash and did not get any change", if you would like to share what happened with me by mail I will find out and give you a propoer explanation.
We wish you a good day and look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
Carlos Bosch
Manager
carlos.bosch.morro@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights last week and found the hotel to be just what I wanted. Easy to find and minutes from the beach and restaurants. Lobby was nice and spacious, room was fine, beds comfortable and the bathroom clean. Free wifi in the room which worked well. Room was on the fifth floor which had the luxury of a terrace/balcony so you could sit out and enjoy the sun.

The location is great, the hotel is a 3 star and for the price, it represents great value. You can spend some time on the beach in the morning, break for lunch and head back for some more rays. Parking is available in the hotel or on the parking lot by the beach near the hotel which is an amazing 30 cent an hour!!! Breakfast was not in my rate but there are plenty of cafes nearby for coffee and croissant/orange juice. Great city beach break just do no expect too many great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Manager at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello Uncle Dom, we really appreciate your comments, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TA. We look forward welcoming you soon!!
Regards
Carlos Bosch
Manager
carlos.bosch.morro@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was perfect for what we wanted out of our trip... literally a 1-2 minute walk to the beach, a few minutes from the main strip of restaurants etc and only about 5-10 minutes walk to the old town where you can find a big supermarket and lots of local, traditional shops and restaurants.

Upon arrival we specifically asked for a large room (As my partner was on crutches at the time) but this was no problem whatsoever for the reception staff and they were happy to oblige. We had a huge room with a lovely big, marble bathroom complete with full sized bath and shower (room 312)... nothing to complaint about at all about the room.

The only slight downside was the nightclub across the road as other reviews have said... it was noisy at around 3am on the Saturday night that we were there but we were so tired from exploring that it didn't really bother us at all.

All in all, I would definitely recommend and use this hotel again myself as you literally cannot beat the location and price for what you get.

As for the rooms... if you don't ask, you don't get :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbs65, Manager at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for sharing them on TA, we look forward welcoming you again.
Carlos Bosch
Manager
carlos.bosch.morro@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want to go for a short trip to the Mediteranian Costa Blanca, I would for sure recommend Alicante and this perfectly situated hotel close to the beach and old town.

The airport of Alicante offers many direct transfer from the Nordic countries. From the airport to town you take the C6 bus (2.75Eur) for 20 minutes into Place del Mar. The bus stop is placed close to the beach and old town area. From there you have a 5 min walk to the hotel.

The hotel is modern and in good standard. The personel is very nice, but they could improve their english... The rooms are clean and the bathroom we got was surprisingly big. Beds are a bit hard but we slept good, and were not disturbed by city noice or neighbours. The only thing missing was the air condition. An open window is necessary.

It is easy to find out door seated restaurants, with a good variority of local and traditional food (Tapas and Paella), or international options. Quality can shift, and look for well visited restaurants where they can display their fresh food. Prices are still low, and you will get a dinner for two with starter and two glases of wine each, for less than 50 Eur. I also recommend an Icecream of their local sort Toronne (almond, honey and candy) as a good finish of the day...
Best restaurant we tried was the Taverna del Gourmet, only 500 m from hotel. Excellent food of higher quality still at good price, and very popular among the locals. Reservation required for group.

The city can offer shopping in both large or small shops. Other tourist attractions are the Castle Santa Barbara situated on a high rock close to the beach, the Casino, the Archiology museum and others.

I would recommend a visit to Alicante and Tryp Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not entering the beach side. Sun will make these room warm in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerik_Swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Medium sized busines style hotel located in the centre of the old town a short stroll from the lift to the castle , two artgalleries and the city hall.
Rooms are small , but very clean and well equipped. An extension lead or extra sockets would be useful though. Some rooms would benefit from a refresh to the decor.
Very efficient friendly staff. Good selection at breakfast constantly replenished.
Basement parking spaces are very useful, and resonably priced though quite small

Room Tip: The 09 rooms have a very narrow sea view, some rooms only look into a light well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
1,351 reviews
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
848 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#7 of 50 in Alicante
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel

Address: Calle Gravina 9, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range: $51 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tryp Ciudad de Alicante provides the finest hotel location in the city thanks to its proximity to the most popular attractions and venues in the city for both business and leisure travellers. Easily reachable from all of the main highways into Alicante thanks to a location behind the Plaza del Mar, next to Postiguet Beach on one side and the Explanada de Espa??a on the other, a promenade which runs along almost the whole length of the Alicante seafront. Next to the Marina and Casino and a great choice of restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. 150 m from the Plaza del Ayuntamiento and City Hall and with an easy walk to the city centre and its shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Ciudad De Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing