We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alicante Golf
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have been better”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Recently travelled with my family so my partner could play golf, we travelled with friends and our two children.

Before going I did email to ask a few questions for which I didnt get a reply never a good start.


The hotel itself was ok and the rooms were adequate although I would say a little dated. The indoor pool had a area around it where the flooring was not secured and quite dangerous.
The outside pool was ok although we did have to share the pool water with ducks! Which didn't seem to bother anyone or the staff just seemed to be the norm.
The most disappointing part was at the weekend the hotel is obviously widely used for functions weddings/ holy communions etc, one day whilst sitting round the pool all of sudden a wedding party walks past why we are laying their sunbathing. They are then having drinks around the pool area all suited and booted whilst we are just sitting laying their.
The next day was a holy communions when all of a sudden with no prior warning we were in undated with about 50 very loud children running in and out of our sun loungers round my pram etc. One child even went up to my son and took his iPad off him and started playing on it ! then all of a sudden next to us turned into a gigantic play area with giant inflatables bat and ball games and then bang a very loud music system with karaoke was turned on, which disturbs all the people round by the pool especially my four month old daughter who was woken. Again no staff in sight, we Diego to reception to request the music to be turne down but nothing was done. In the end it was so annoying we left and went back to our room. I am a parent so completely understand they were entertaining the children I just think they could have per warned us.

The daily housekeeping was good, breakfast was good to although would normally expect a bit more variety for the price.

I think overall this is not a bad hotel but is mainly geared up for people that are out playing golf all day and it usuing it's amenities. We will not be returning.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia T, Quality Control Dpt at Hotel Alicante Golf, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your email.

We really regret that you could not enjoy the outdoor swimming pool area that afternoon. In fact, when you complained at the reception desk, we lowered the music, trying to solve the problem.

Indeed, we had a lot of children in this area due to the celebration of some First Communion during that weekend. Please take note this is an exceptional event at the hotel, really far from our usual activity at the hotel.

On the contrary, our facilities usualy help the guest to relax and enjoy a paceful stay.

We hope you will try to give us another opportunity to live a wonderful experience in Husa Alicante.

In case you come back, please do not hesitate to contact me!

Celia Trives
Quality Control Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    153
    123
    40
    38
See reviews for
123
165
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Good location for a golfing holiday & the course is v. good.
Alicante is a lovely place to visit, with the new tram system extremely efficient.
The hotel seems to have let standards slip. The staff were very pleasant, the rooms clean & spacious but the air-conditioning is a complete waste of time. Despite complaining on a number of occasions our 4 rooms were never below 24.5 degrees during our 7 day stay, which is not what you expect of a hotel of this standard. The control panels were in-effective.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia T, Quality Control Dpt at Hotel Alicante Golf, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your flatteries about our facilities, location & staff.

Refering to the temperature of the rooms, we are checking the air conditonner system of the hotel.

I profit to tell you that we are launching greats golf packages at very special prices. do not hesitate to contact us or your travel agency!

Yours sincerly,

Celia Trives
Quality Control Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in amazing grounds. Despite the comment that the staff where not helpful in previous reviews I couldn't have had a more different experience. The staff where very kind and helpful and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Our Deluxe room gave us great views of the course and we had a very large balcony. The food was very reasonable at the hotel and the breakfast was good. For just 19 Euros you can have a three course dinner with a free bottle of mineral water. For anyone wondering the tram is right outside the hotel at incideo station.

My only regret was that I did not stay longer!

Room Tip: Recommend getting a Deluxe room gives you a great view and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sbangsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia T, Quality Control Dpt at Hotel Alicante Golf, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice words. To notice our customers enjoy their stay in our facilities is the most pleasant reward we can have!

We profit to tell you that this summer we will have transfer to the beach, entertainment for children, pool bar, and lot of activities in the area... I am sure that this will help you to live a really special relaxing experience at Hotel Husa Alicante.

Do not hesitate to contact us in case you come back!

Yours sincerelly,

Celia Trives
Quality Control Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm writing this review from my Wife's account:

I stayed at this hotel for a four night golf break in April. This was my first visit to this Hotel and the staff were very helpful, the rooms were spotlessly clean and a good size. The breakfast offered plenty of choice, so no complaints at all. The Hotel has good facilities and what is an added bonus is that you can pick up your complementary Golf buggy which you collect from the hotel’s basement car park so no need to carry your clubs to and fro from the golf club. The commercial centre opposite the hotel was good for a cold beer and bite to eat after playing, there is also Norman’s Bar opposite the hotel which has a nice atmosphere, friendly staff and good food if you don’t fancy the commercial centre in the evening. The golf course was excellent (designed by Seve Ballesteros) enjoyable for all level of golfers and will definitely be back next year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLC2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia T, Quality Control Dpt at Hotel Alicante Golf, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you very much for your word! It is really a pleasure to read that our customers have enjoyed a golf experience in our resort.

We usually have special promotions for golfers, so do not hesitate to contact us or your agency to check fabulous prices.

We hope we will meet very soon!

Celia Trives
Quality Control Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went recently for a golf break. The hotel is situated quite close to Alicante in the middle of a large residential development and the golf course is threaded between the developments giving the hotel golf course a rather unusual backdrop. The hotel itself is spacious and the rooms of decent proportions. The breakfast is buffet style with a reasonable choice, though the hot food was rather "luke warm." The golf course itself is challenging and the fairways in places are very narrow requiring "netting" to protect those properties adjoining the course! Overall, enjoyable for the golf course and comfortable environment, though rather lacking in overall atmosphere and its residential location.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back face onto the golf course, though there is constant road noise if you leave th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celia T, Director of Sales at Hotel Alicante Golf, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments, that help us to improve everyday.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed in our area and that you appreciate our hotel as a good option for playing golf.

We hope you will come again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed there as couple for 4 days and we are very happy of our stay. Although we are both avid golfers, we also like good food and cultural activities and I must say, The hotel, the golf and its great location ( 2 mn walk from the tram station that brings in 10 mn to the city center) brings everything we need. The staff was friendly, helpful and competent. The rooms were very clean and we had a very nice view on the gold course. The breakfast offered plenty of choice (meat, fruits, cheese, bread etc) so It is hard for me to understand the complaints I read in the other reviews (unless you are looking for a traditional British breakfast, which is not what I was looking for). Suggestions for improvement: the changing rooms of the fitness centre should be renovated as well as the turkish bath which does't smell good. Well..it stinks! The fitness centre is really not at the level of the hotel category. It is just a little room with some machines. Apart form that, a really great stay, the golf course is great (deisgned by Ballesteros) and we will come back next year!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with view on the gold course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreiaklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in this Hotel in October 2012 for a four day golf break. This was our second visit and everything was fine in the Hotel. The Staff are helpful, the rooms are spotless and of good size and the breakfast was good. No complaints at all. The Square opposite the Hotel was excellent for tapas and beer after playing golf. The golf Course is good for holiday golf with plenty of water to make accuracy a must. There are a number of bars and restaurants nearby and Alicante town is only a 20 minute ride by taxi.Overall a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#12 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#16 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#28 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alicante Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alicante Golf

Property: Hotel Alicante Golf
Address: Avenida Naciones s/n, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Playa de San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#11 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alicante Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alicante Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Alicante Golf And Spa
Husa Alicante Golf Hotel Alicante
Hesperia Alicante Hotel
Hesperia Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing