We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice”
Review of Hotel Albahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Albahia
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Think twice”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We made the booking last minute and were eager not to pay too expensive. We thought that the proposed price was reasonable compared to what we had seen on the internet.

The hotel from the outside when getting there by car looks rather scary. An enormous apartment complex stuck to a giant rock (the hotel seems to occupy a few floors only of this apartment building). In front of the hotel there is a one way street (partially without a pavement) on which you have to walk to the tram stop, which is not too far away. And you got the railway right behind that street.

We got to the hotel around midnight and were tired, but the receptionist was busy with a guest, complaining about an extra bed, and had us wait. It first did not bother us much but then we realized that this would be long and we had to insist he would hand us the key and that we would come back to take care of the administrative stuff.

So we did and were surprised that the receptionist wanted us to pay the entire stay in advance. We had booked through a booking system with no prepayment and when we said that his request was not normal he said that the entire stay would be quite some money and that he wanted us to pay all or at least half. We could have probably refused but we were too tired, but still had the spirit to only pay half because the room we had discovered quickly was not really to our liking.

Our room:
dark, looked oldish (nothing like the one we saw on the net although I later passed in front of one that looked a bit like the internet picture), first floor (2 floors below the reception) with a view onto the garages, of which you could make abstraction if lifting your eyes a bit to see an abandoned looking hotel ground with tennis courts above the garages (and a glimpse of the sea). The little balcony was a good surprise - we could have had a room to the other side, which would have meant a rock in front of our nose.
The little entry hall was isolating the noise of people passing by. In case you feel like having kids and want some training ask for a room next to a family with a newborn and you can get used to their schedule - all this to say, walls were pretty thin and once in a while from the outside we heard a machine noise that seem to come from an automatic garage door.
Big cupboard and the bathroom was big too with a window onto the balcony, always good to let of steam.
There was no minibar in the room and the most surprising thing was the safe: You pay 1 EUR to lock your valuables...but in case you need anything during your stay and open the safe and want to lock it again you pay another EUR. I wonder who invented this and even more who uses it!?!?
Air-condition worked, but too cold and could not be regulated and was noisy. So once in a while at night you have to go and cut it before you freeze and turn it on again before melting away.

The hotel hall was weird, narrow, very long, very white with neo lights, it made me think of an asylum, perfect for a movie scene. The reception, lounge and bar part looked nice and welcoming with a nice sea view. The hotel in general is very clean and the reception staff, apart from the arrival part, was very friendly too.

The breakfast buffet was not really worth the getting up on time. Did not look very appetizing and the juice and coffee from the machine were not convincing.

The swimming pool is at a few minutes walk next to the tennis courts - on the internet the swimming pool looked nice, the magic of pictures, it was taken from above, so no wire fences were shown. The pool was small, but clean, perfectly suitable to cool down and have a little swim.

The situations of the hotel is fine, tram takes you to the center of Alicante (or to Benidorm/Denia if you go the other direction) in about 15 minutes, very reasonably priced and quick. Last tram back around 11pm, unless you fall on high season and weekend when time schedules are adapted to Spain's party life and seem to run a lot later.
The beach Albuferete looked nice (we only saw it at night time) and is a few meters further than the tram station. Some small creeks just down to the left of the hotel where you also find several restaurants, both well visited by local people living in the apartments in one of the buildings around the hotel or the hotel building itself. There is a nice family ambiance.

All in all I would say if you get a really good deal, if you are not a breakfast person and you don't mind taking the tram to get into town, you can book that hotel without hesitating. But ask for a seaside room, the rock could get you depressed.
We left the hotel after 3 nights as we got for the last 3 days for almost the same price a much better hotel in the middle of Alicante (probably because that was not including a weekend).
www.heavytraveladdict.com

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    211
    140
    40
    53
See reviews for
109
270
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived to this hotel at twelve o clock at night , thinking it was the room that I had booked on the Internet it was early June , I was traveling with my son , sister and nephew . What a fright I got the room was a tiny my son who is 13 years of age was on a pull out bed that we had to pull out to let my nephew into his bed , and pull it the other way to open the balcony door not that you would want to look at the view it was of dead grass dead burnt flowers , so thank god I got my money back and got out of their the staff did not bother the fact that the room we had seen on the Internet was not even in the hotel , so just be very careful when booking this hotel , this is my second time putting this post up as it was taking down not sure how . I have to plug alicante hills it was great nice and clean and got a fab big apartment would go back again look it up staff so so nice .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alicante hotels

sunderland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friend and I arrived for a week long stay on 5/7/13. After reading the reviews beforehand, I can confirm most are fairly accurate. Firstly, it was an enjoyable and PLEASANT experience. The cleaning staff work tirelessly to keep the room spotless and nothing is too much trouble to them so well done to them. On reception, ALBERTO deserves a mention, he was the most helpful, always friendly, and speaks very good English. The hotel itself is kept exceptionally clean, the aircon in our room was fantastic, AND even had running HOT water! The hotel grounds look a little tired and in need of a revamp and it was a long walk to the pool, but no real complaints there either. Where the hotel really disappoints, is the standard of food available at breakfast. DISGUSTING and rather shocking considering it's a Best Western hotel. So bad, I ate muesili every morning and I don't even eat the stuff at home! It's also a VERY steep climb to the bus stop so be warned! Look out for 'Lurch' the miserable barman who NEVER smiles haha. Tip: a sea view room is ESSENTIAL to avoid the tram noise at the front of the hotel so it's wise to pay the extra when booking. Overall, we did have a pleasant stay in the Albahia and I'd rate this hotel 6/10 mainly due to the friendly staff, and cleanliness of the rooms.

Room Tip: Sea view room essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackem1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay among us and deplore that the breakfast did not please you. We try to propose a great variety of food in the buffet, which changes every day : viennoiseries and breads of the day, such as croissants, brownies, different kinds of breads, but also local specialities, as for example cheese, serrano ham, majorcan sausage, tuna. We also have the essentials for an english breakfast, with scrambled eggs, bacon, toasts and jam.

All the staff thanks you for your visit and hopes to see you again.
Best regards

Lola Llorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We got a cheap last minute deal online, the hotel doesn't look good from outside I must admit, but inside it is nice and clean, good views from the bar to the sea, sufficient breakfast and dinner. Staff don't speak very good English but it has its Spanish charm..we had some good laughs and wasn't expecting luxury for the price. We both work in luxury hotels so we were absolutely satisfied with the level of service we got here because it is 3 stars!!! A bit out of town, 20 mins walk to the centre or you can take the bus, it's quite easy. In the evening we sat in the outside bar playing cards and having some drinks, it was good fun, very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kata1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Hotel Albahia. Thank you for taking the time to write this helpful review. We appreciate it all the more as it comes from hotel trade professionels.

We would be delighted to welcome you again if you come back to Alicante.

Best regards

Lola Llorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, Kwazulu-natal, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautifully decorated: crisp, clean, serene...well, that''s until you get to your room: the room itself again crisp, clean, beautifully decorated...but serenity rushes away every 15 minutes by means of the Tram Line that runs behind all the rooms without sea-views...your window looks out onto a stone wall 3 storey high which is the infrastructure of the Tram Line...so, between 5.30am until 23.45pm you have the tram vibrating past EVERY 15 MINUTES...be very warned!! this fact not mentioned on their web-site of course...very nasty surprise indeed. Further to this, very little english spoken and staff not very professional, its a bit of Fawlty Towers...Tapas & breakfast very good...far walk to the swimming pool which is only available 10.30am-14.30pm & again 16.30pm-20.30pm...if a hotel offers a swimming pool, i want 24hour access...gorgeous beaches close-by...terrible landscaping and un-kept grounds towards the tennis courts & swimming pool...reception rather rude and dismissive...i asked for a face towel and i was left feeling very intrusive of their time...30 minutes after arrival realising the Tram Scam, i asked for an up-grade to the sea view rooms at 15 Euro extra, but this request also turned out to be intrusive of Receptions time when i queried it the next day...apparently i made this request to the wrong person & my room was already cleaned, blah blah blah...when you make a request with anybody at reception you dont expect it must be directed to a ''special reception person''...reception is reception...and the on-duty reception person never instructed me to make this request to some or other ''special reception person'' who deals with these requests...4 nights of Tram Scam!!! GROAN!!

Room Tip: ...the sea-view rooms only!! but before your eyes reach the partial sea views you must over look the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank room108_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Hotel Albahia and taking the time to give us your opinion.

However, we would like to highlight that, after talking with you of the problem of the noise, you were proposed to move to a superior room, as you mentionned it. We deplore that you turned down this proposition not to pack yourluggage again and were annoyed by any sounds during your stay.

Feel free to try again staying among us anytime, you will be welcomed.

Best regards,

Lola Llorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This Hotel is ok if you are into Tennis but I would not recommend it for a short break to Alicante. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is not bad. The rooms could do with a fridge so you can store stuff and chill down drinks.

The swimming pool is not open until June and there are no real beaches or places to sunbath if you are looking to just relax.

If you want a late check out unless you are will to pay for another night's stay forget it. There is no place to shower if you leave yours cases on the last day and go to the beach then return to collect them, so it's not worth leaving your cases as it's to far out to go back for them. I do have to say that the staff where nice, but they are tied to the rules and there's no room for flexibility.

As the hotel is a way out from Alicante you will need to use the bus or the tram system, they are both good and you can buy a card which gives you trips at a very low cost. These cards are available from the main ticket offices in Alicante. When you enter the tram or bus you need to swipe the card for each person. ie if you purchase a card with 10 trips and there are two of you travelling you swipe the card twice and it deducts the trips from the total. Very good system. You can also top up the card on the tram but the machines can be a little dodgy but people do always try to help. The beaches further away from Alicante (still in zone A for travelling) are better and cleaner so try them, they are worth the trip.

Room Tip: Do pay for sea view or you'll be facing the tram line, not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diversx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest ,
we appreciatte your opinion, but I must inform you that there are 3 little beaches just on left of the building. Besides, you can get the Albufereta beach ( sand beach) just 500meters from Best Western Albahía Tennis and Business.
I regret you didn´t enjoy as you expected.
My best regards.
Lola Llorca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for a week in April, my present to hubby for his 60th birthday. We were both delighted with the room which was spotless and spacious. I booked a superior room with a terrace and sea view and we used the terrace a great deal. The staff were friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: superior rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your honest opinion.
All staff of Best Western hotel Albahía, apreciate that you spend your time in informing us about your experience.
I hope you visit us in Alicante next time.
we will be delighted!!
My best regards.

Lola Llorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,171 reviews
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
643 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#23 of 49 in Alicante
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Daniya Alicante
#38 of 49 in Alicante
228 reviews
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#11 of 49 in Alicante
544 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albahia

Property: Hotel Albahia
Address: Calle Sol Naciente 6 | Albufereta, 03016 Alicante, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albahia 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albahia Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing