We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvels of Alicante”
Review of Hotel Goya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Goya
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed October 6, 2009

For twelve years, us a group of hard working males have vacated in cities of europe and stayed in some hovels and this by far is not the worst, Staff were friendly and very helpful. the rooms were ok for sleeping and clean bed linen and towels every day. If your 16stone plus dont have a shower youll never get out. Great little hotel for a good sleep, no knock on the door to clean the room when you were still sleeping at mid day and it was clean and tidied when returning for the evening sleep. If you like all the mod cons don't book this hotel because you will be disappointed but for my weekend £106 each for 4nights its spot on also included flights.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank swsbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2009

staff were helpful and room was fine. An English channel on tv would help,as not many people speak English in Alicante.It,s about 15mins walk to the front but lots of nice shops and restaurants to see on the way.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed last week in this hotel and was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews. I am a very experienced traveler and I found this hotel was exactly what I expected for the star rating and the cost. The rooms were small but ok, the cleanlyness was far found Hilton stadards but again acceptable and the staff were polite.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Had to be the worst place we have ever stayed ! Ended up at the Chemist coverered in bites, and they wasnt from Mozzies but the BED!!!! Despertly in need of modernisation, certainly wont be staying again and will not be recommending to friends.... ended up checking out and re booking for rest of stay in alternative hotel .... need i say more ....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllijUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Read mixed reviews before staying and think we know why-- depends on how busy it is. We were near the stairs and as the lift is small and slow, when several people are going out for the evening, they often choose to use the stairs --this leads to noisy happy people and ladies heels at all sorts of times. The walls are indeed paper thin as one reviewer noted, and the only reason you won't be affected is if the next room is empty ! It was only when our child became noisy one morning that our neighbours realised how thin the walls were, and so the following night was quieter, rather than hearing a loud Spanish conversation for hours.
Didn't eat there so can't comment, but brought in food from a supermarket, which they didn't seem to mind, as we didn't wave the bags in their face.
We spent about a week there whilst house hunting but moved elsewhere due to the noise, which was worse at weekends. The low price on special offer would tempt us again , as we have stayed in several places in Alicante , and this wasn't the worst. Check that building work opposite is finished if you like to sleep late in the mornings-- lots of renovations all over Alicante.
If your bags are very heavy then enter through the restaurant if arriving on foot, as the steps from lower to lift level are an extra nuisance, as nobody will offer to help.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarnaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Nice hotel for the money, clean room, shower room nice and clean, only thing the tv didt have any english chanels.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbey-scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

as soon as we arrived we knew what to expect, me and my sister both have chrones disease when we booked we stated that we needed a bath, only to be told we could only have a shower, the shower was so small you had to sqeeze in it, once in you couldnt turn round. next morning when we went for a walk we realised that we was miles from anywhere, it was a 25 minute walk to the marina we didnt see any decent bars or restaraunts, staff was ignorant, food poor. we booked for 4 nights but only managed to stay for 2, the only time time i would go to alicante again would be to just land there for a different destination

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanada Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hostal La Lonja
#23 of 50 in Alicante
188 reviews
Ibis Budget Alicante
#34 of 50 in Alicante
387 reviews
Centro
Hotel Rambla
Hotel Rambla
#22 of 50 in Alicante
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#29 of 50 in Alicante
265 reviews
Centro
Hotel Cervantes
Hotel Cervantes
#25 of 50 in Alicante
200 reviews
Estudiotel Alicante
#26 of 50 in Alicante
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goya

Address: Calle Maestro Breton 19, 03004 Alicante, Spain (Formerly Goya Hotel de Alicante)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Mercado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range: $27 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goya 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing