We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goya Hotel de Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goya Hotel de Alicante
Ranked #47 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was very pleased by my stay here. It is situated in Alicante Town, around the corner from Luceros tram station, the main train station and near several shops. It's location could be problematic for people who have mobility issues and don't want to walk around much, but for those able bodied, it just involves a little bit of walking! Not far from the hotel, you can get the C6 bus for less than 3 Euros to/from the airport.
The staff are lovely and friendly, very helpful whenever needed though they always seem to be somewhat short on staff so they are frequently rushed off their feet.
The room was a good size, cleaned daily, beds comfortable (though the pillows could be better). The bathroom was a good standard with a powerful shower.
The breakfast was very basic but for what I paid for my stay here, I have no complaints about anything at all.
All in all, it is a cheap budget option and I was more than happy spending 1 week here, and would have been happy to stay longer.
There is nothing wrong or dangerous about the area at all. Yes, there are some social problems in Alicante (but where aren't there) and they are not restricted to this area. It takes minutes to get to the centre and on route we found many lovely restaurants and places, my tip is a place called Mixtura on Calle Felipe Berge. The food and wine is gorgeous and worth paying the little bit extra, though compared to English prices, it is not expensive at all for the quality you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    72
    46
    80
See reviews for
32
85
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel looks tired and is in need of a renovation - Having said that it was all clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was okay, evening meal was basic but edible, shower worked fine.
The cleaners are very good.

Bed is not the most comfortable but I have three priorities with a bed, 1 - it's clean, 2- I get a good night's sleep and 3 I don't get backache in the morning. Bed passed on all accounts.
Air con rattled for about 10-15 minutes and then calmed down. TV - Never turned it on so can't comment.


If Graffiti unsettles you, then I recommend not going to Alicante at all - I even saw some of the side of the local Police station. There's a lot of it about.

Overall okay for the money and my only real problem is location, it's at a high point in Alicante which is excellent for shops and the Tram service but it is a bit of a walk to the beach and is uphill on the way back. Good if you want to watch Hercules CF which is a 10 minute walk away (again uphill though)

If you're on a tight budget and you don't have any mobility issues then this is okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sim0n123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is, that the staff was very friendly.
The location is central enough but I wouldn't advice anybody to walk the area alone at night. Same holds true for the parking garage.
When we got to the room we tried the key with the not really strong looking lock and it wouldn't open. Only after a lot of trying by the staff it eventually gave in.
The room was clean but the shower was mouldy.
The hotel was very noisy. We turned off the ac because it was very loud. We opened the windows but the neighbours were even noisier. So hardly any sleep that night.
All in all too expensive for grubby old rooms in desperate need of renovation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chispatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alicante hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Exactly that, it is basic and the breakfast is awful but for the price you pay its not bad. Alicante (in my opinion) is a beautiful little city with a lovely beach. The hotel is a bit of a walk away (and bare in mind its down hill to everything but a steep hill to climb on the way back) but you walk through the busy shops to keep you occupied. Overall the rooms were okay, had everything we needed so cant complain, even had underground private parking (at a cost). I have to say even if the breakfast wasnt up to much the lunch menu they serve is pretty good, only 5 euros for a burger/pizza and a drink included if you in need of a quick meal.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chelsj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

For what you pay it's great value for money. The rooms are very clean, a bit on the small side but there's so much to see and do you only use the room for sleep. The centre is about a 15min walk, the Marina about 20mins and the beach about 25mins. Pleasant walks with lots to see. The Santa Barbara Castle isn't far either and is a must see, the views are brilliant! I went with my mum for a long weekend so this hotel was perfect. Half board, the food was great, large portions and the staff were extremely helpful. If you want to keep it cheap there's also a bus stop about 10min walk away that goes to and from the airport for €2.90 (single ticket).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I didn't expect much from my stay here and basically you get what you pay for. Staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms are small, walls are thin beds are uncomfortable and pillows are flat and you only get one.

The room is clean and so are the towels and bathroom, the shower was powerful. Overall room and hotel is clean but dated. Also they had a shutter on the window which you could open once we figured out how but it made the room feel a bit like a prison.
The hotel is not far from the Marina or beach with the bars and restaurants along there. It is approx. 20 minute walk.

The area the hotel is in is quite run down with lots of graffiti but there are a couple of nice bars along the walk to the main part.

I don't think the season had picked up just yet as the bars were quite quiet.

Overall hotel is nice for a short stay and if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Probably get a high floor so you are not under anyone otherwise you will hear people walking above y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 597GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The ceiling fan was scary, room was tiny, but for one night in Alicante (passing through) not bad. Alicante is a dump, though, so this hotel was the highlight of the city. Free wifi was fast and useful. Staff were excellent. Room itself wasn't all that bad. Big complex of rooms. Worth staying in again if I ever had to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash_NPS160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hostal La Lonja
#28 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Ibis budget Alicante
#35 of 49 in Alicante
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Daniya Alicante
#40 of 49 in Alicante
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Cervantes
Hotel Cervantes
#23 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#25 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Campanile Alicante
#22 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goya Hotel de Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goya Hotel de Alicante

Property: Goya Hotel de Alicante
Address: Calle Maestro Breton 19, 03004 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Mercado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Goya Hotel de Alicante 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Goya Hotel de Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing