We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel really is good find and is amazing value.

We stayed there in June loved it so much we immediately booked for October and have already booked again for next year.

It is situated 600 metres from one of the most fantastic beaches I have ever seen.
The rates are really attractive and the breakfast at €12 represents pretty good value.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

The rooms are spacious and clean and the housekeeping is excellent.

It is approx €30 (with tip) for the the taxi from Alicante airport but it is possible to use public transport (airport bus & tram) providing you only had hand luggage.

The internet is free but they have to activate your room everyday which is a tiny bit frustrating.

Alicante - Playa San Juan is a really nice quiet resort that has a lovely beach & promenade. You can also take a fantastic walk to El Campello which is approximately 5miles along the front - if you are feeling energetic.

There are two really good supermarkets within a short walking distance - so you can top up with supplies.

The centre of Alicante is easily reachable by tram but to be honest we loved San Jan so much we only went there a couple of times.

The Hotel was pretty quiet when we were there in Oct & they were happy to oblige when we requested a early check-in & late check-out

Can't wait to go back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 649 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed here for 6 days in June 2009 and have to say, the hotel far exceeded expectations,

from the outside, it looked excellent, just like the promo pics, had seen the other reviews about overlooking apartments, but i have to be honest, they were far enough away to not cause me any concern at all,

the room was very comfortable and spacious, the decor was a little dated, but not badly so, air con in the room was fantastic, good bathroom facilities and a safe also.
the only niggle would be that the double bed was two beds put together, which had a tendency to migrate away from each other in the night, leading to the odd bout of being eaten by the bed. but a few well placed books against the wheels helped out there

Housekeeping changed our linen every day, cleaned the room well and we also had a small fridge available for our use which was really appreciated, the prices from the minibar werent extortionate, but discovered the local supermarkets were super cheap, so stocked up on water from there,

The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, literally a 10 minute stroll down to the main beach at Playa De San Juan, which is just gorgeous, plenty of good dining around the area if you explore a little bit,
a fantastic supermarket up the road was great for getting picnic things and heading to the beach for a nice brunch,
the pool was good, not super deep, but cool and very very welcome in the heat of the sun,
was almost always able to get a lounger by the pool and towels were freely available for the pool area, there was also a lifeguard on duty all day every day making the pool very family friendly.

internet was available by asking for a code from the front desk, had to ask each day, but that was not a problem, and although not super fast, was fine for getting emails and reached our room, so was very happy with that.

the small cafe overlooking the pool did a great cup of coffee and the staff there were very friendly, my spanish is really not good, but they never made me feel daft for trying and tried their best to understand :)

a short walk up from the hotel, away from the beach will also take you to a stand of restaurants after a walk through a lovely wee park area that the tram goes through, there we discovered a fantastic steak house, chinese restaurant and various other places to eat, worth having a little hunt around, I think other reviewers here give a better idea of how to get there,


a word of note also, when booking i accidentally booked at their sister hotel on the holiday inn website after a javascript error reset my selection box, which nearer the airport, but looks more for the business traveller, and only discovered after hitting purchase, when i called them they cancelled the booking instantly and didnt charge any fee, they also sent through a confirmation email for me to be sure, so thought they were great too, very friendly :)

all in all, fantastic location, great hotel and the restaurant in the hotel is pretty good too, breakfast was nice and had plenty of options.

really loved the fact that there was a bar by the pool also, so you could get icy cold drinks & ice cream's from the comfort of your lounger, very elegant for such a well priced hotel.

overall, a fantastic stay

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnnusMackinnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This Hotel is perfect for a weekend stay. The room was a good size and contained all the necessary items, including a safe and mini-bar. There is a supermarket just a few minutes walk away so essential snack items can easily be acquired!! The Hotel seemed quiet and there were few children which was ideal for two Mum's who wanted to enjoy the last of the summer and get some R&R time!! The beach is about a 7/8min walk down a slight hill, from the hotel and it is beautifully clean and sandy. The promenade has a variety of bars and restaurants that were reasonably priced. Will definately come back to tis area and will probably use this hotel again if can get great rates as we found on lastminute.com.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmjaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed here for 5 days after our flight was cancelled due to the french air traffic control strike. We arrived at 2.30 in the morning and the staff were friendly and efficient getting us all into our rooms. we were given a suite so grandaughter had her own room and tv.Room was comfortable clean and well stocked with toiletries and mini bar ( not too expensive) We cannot praise the staff enough especially the bar and waiting staff for how they looked after us considering they were unprepared for a coachload of disgruntled holidaymakers who wanted to go home. Swimming pool was excellent although jacuzzi part wasnt working,probably need a few more sun beds. breakfast buffet was excellent, good choices and nice quality food.
excellent location, 3 blocks from a beautiful beach and bus stop opposite.
We didnt want to go home, would liked to have stayed longer. will be going back

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed for a couple of days on business trip.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, but some struggle with English.
I could not get the wifi connection to work (as reported in an earlier review.)
decor is probably ready for a face lift.
Food is average but reasonably priced.
in terms of value for money, pretty good and I would return

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just arrived home from a 10 day holiday in this lovely hotel. It was everything we expected and more. Very friendly, clean and the staff in reception were brilliant.
We arrived on a late flight and were given a twin room, the next day we mentioned this at reception and were transfered to a large double room. No view but not particularly worried about that as we only sleep there. The walk to the beach is direct about 10 mins stroll down a sloping road. Here you can hire beds and umbrellas if you wish. The sea was lovely and warm and the families all played along the front. Quite wavey at times though. Restaurants and shop all along the front and we walked to El Campello one day.
We also visted Altea via the tram which is beyond Benidorm and returned to a fantastic restaurant called Le Opera Cafe worth a visit. The detail based on Opera is great.
Food was good and reasonably priced and available at most times. Swimming pool a good temperature and showers availble for late flights on departures. Pool towels supplied but not beach towels.This is not what I call a frilly Hotel but I would certainly recommend it to all ages and will definaltely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky100810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Arrived quite late - and we were welcomed by name... our 3 rooms were close together on the third floor.. The rooms were modern and spacious, well appointed and with efficient but quiet air conditioning.

During the week the hotel was very quiet, but got busier during the weekend. Free towels for the pool were a great extra - and there were always plenty of beds and umbrellas. We were often the only family at the pool.

Breakfast was excellent value for money - good selection and regularly refreshed.

Bar service was really good and prices were reasonable. Domingo and David were great hosts.......and ample outside seating areas.

There was a good selection on the Restuarant (Kids eat free) and Bar Meals menu.and the quality and prices were good.

The resort is mainly residential - and there is a good selection of bars and restaurants within walking distance - also good disabled facilities - as one of our party was a wheelchair user.

Good location and easy access to the beach, shops, bars, restaurants and the tram stops.

Frequent tram service to Alicante (port and town centre) and connection to Benidorm (about an hour away - for 6 Euros return).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1WelshFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#15 of 50 in Alicante
571 reviews
Ibis Hotel Alicante
#21 of 50 in Alicante
242 reviews
Daniya Alicante
#39 of 50 in Alicante
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#29 of 50 in Alicante
262 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#11 of 50 in Alicante
383 reviews
Hotel Albahia
#13 of 50 in Alicante
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan

Address: Avenida Cataluna 20 | Playa de San Juan, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#13 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: $46 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday Inn Alicante-Playa de San Juan is located in a quiet area, just 400 meters from the spectacular sandy beach Playa de San Juan and only 5km from the centre of Alicante with easy access to other locations like Alicante Golf Course, shops, restaurants and other local attractions. This hotel is ideally located both for short breaks and holidays as well as for the business travellers visiting Alicante. Our comfortable 126 rooms are decorated in a fresh mediterranean style with parquet floors and equipped with air conditioning, television and satellite tv, minibar, safe deposit box and private bathroom. The hotel facilities include free parking and Wi-Fi in all the public areas as well as in 50% of the rooms, swimming pool, children's pool and playground, gardens, gym, sauna and paddle-tennis court (available at a charge). Our Restaurant Tamayo offers a wide selection of local dishes to tempt your appetite. We also have available our Bar serving drinks and snacks. The Holiday Inn Alicante-Playa San Juan has Seven Conference Rooms with daylight and all the necessary equipment to hold every kind of event. Our dedicated team of professionals will ensure that your meeting is a success. Look up our family packages including sports and extras for the childrenWe look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa De San Juan Hotel Alicante
Alicante Holiday Inn
Alicante Province Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing