We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week, good budget hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great week, good budget hotel.”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Most staff we friendly, (the new girl was lovely) and what I expected, the rooms are quite large and value for money, the only reason we have not given a 5 was because the room still smelt of Cigarette Smoke when checking in and is not normal holiday inn standards. Great sun trap outside with lovely palm tree decoration. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    195
    183
    77
    82
See reviews for
160
248
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
efellowsfl
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent two nights here in Nov 2013. The hotel is clean, friendly and well-priced. I took my meals in the hotel restaurant and while the food was just okay, the prices were good, the portions ample and the service always pleasant. For anyone traveling to Alicante on business or for a beach break (the beach is an easy 10 minute walk), consider this hotel. The only really obvious flaw I saw was hallway carpeting that desperately needs replaced - fortunately the rooms were much nicer than the hallways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efellowsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, clean, good breakfast, friendly staff and great value for money. We are just back from staying there for a week over the Christmas and New Year period. From beginning to end, we really enjoyed our stay. We are regular visitors to Alicante and we have stayed in many other hotels around the area, however value for money, this is the best hotel we have stayed in and we will return. Very nice little bar area for coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening. Less than a 10 minute walk to the beach, which is just perfect. Nice pool area and padel courts.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank CPKONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern irelands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel over the New Year period & no complaints as such! Read reviews of hotel prior to booking & although they were quite negative, we were prepared to take the risk being major Holiday Inn users! We were not disappointed - the hotel is in a very good location near the beach & easy to get to from the airport by public transport. The staff are all very helpful, pleasant and can only praise them for their attitude. Reviewers have said that the hotel is tired and yes, it is a bit, but nothing to complain about and everywhere, including the pool area is kept clean & tidy - just don't go expecting an up-market hotel. The food is adequate but wouldn't necessarily use it for meals as there are plenty of nearby eateries within walking distance offering a more Spanish experience! Overall a pleasant stay using the hotel as a base for exploring the beach area and Alicante - and again, the staff were great!

Room Tip: if you can get an upgrade to a junior suite its very spacious with balcony, no sea view but nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sconway250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here a couple of times for a couple of key reasons--although it definitely has it's downsides. The "value" is the best in San Juan for a hotel with its amenities. Kids stay/eat free, parking is secure, decent kids program and various size of swimming pools are definite bonus. However hotel is in need of a MAJOR overhaul and renovation. Mattresses are old and squeaky. Noelia (manager) argued with me consistently that the room we had two years previously did not exist. She even told me she knows the hotel like her DNI! Red wine was served COLD at dinner. Fries served COLD. Given volume of guests in August, wait staff/ kitchen's priority are guests on full and half board. The hotel's proximity to Alicante, the beach, and the bus/tran are positives but it's wrinkles are starting to show. 2 star hotel at best but with a renovation, new beds, more attention to details I'm confident it could be better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Lucas T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alicante hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Booked a free night with Priority club points – on arrival told that our booking had been cancelled – unknown to us and no knowledge from them who cancelled it. However Noelina quickly connected us to the priority points hotline and they sorted it out swiftly without fuss.
The room was spacious for the 3 of us but like others have reported it is very much in need of an upgrade and lets the Holiday Inn brand down. The decor is dull, curtains faded and would not shut and bathroom grout dirty and mouldy in places – due to age. I would think that his hotel has not had any major works for years and is badly in need of it. There was a problem with the hot water system which left us with brown/yellow water that did not clear, again the member of staff Alba sorted this very quickly and moved us to a Junior Suite.
We had breakfast here and it was adequate. The rooms have a fridge but no coffee making facilities (unless you have a suite!)
The staff here are fantastic, friendly and approachable; it’s a shame that the hotel itself is not true reflection of the Holiday Inn brand.
There are 3 supermarkets that are local and a 10-15 minute walk away. The beach is also a 10 minute walk. The bus from Alicante No 21 stops right outside and connects with the C6 from Alicante airport – easy to use – no need for taxis. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here – especially sitting out by the pool in 18 degree heat at the beginning of December!!And for the price we paid would happily return again.

Room Tip: Junior Suite over kitchen area and can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Good grief! We left the airport in our hire car, thank goodness it was A. Full of fuel and B. v economical! What should have been a twenty minute journey took nearly an hour. The map provided on the Internet by the hotel must have been designed by someone who should have paid attention during their geography lessons. Apart from the drawing of the car park there was little resemblance between the map and reality! Most cities in Europe have sign posts specifically for pointing the weary traveller towards their chosen place of ret. well there is ..... One! And then nothing! Also some bright spark had decided that street names were a thing of the past so if you are psychic...no probs but if you are like us ... No hope!
Having eventually found the hotel you will be impressed by the large secure car park. Next good bit is the reception, quit friendly and reasonably helpful. When I raised the issue of directions I was proudly presented with a map...the same map!!
Room spacious, clean but nothing exciting. Bathroom ok, shower good. TV poor. Sound proofing dreadful. We were woken very early by some other guests slamming doors etc. view from our room was ghastly. A huge and extremely ugly block of flats (actually on the map!) bares down on you.....and that's it view wise. Pool area is grim. Concrete everywhere, hot, no breeze, and quite the most appalling sun loungers imaginable. They collapse. That's it...they really do and I have read other reviews stating the same, so that suggests to me that the management simply cannot be bothered to replace them, lets face it they don't costs as much as a Saturn 5 rocket so it's. bit of a cheap skate attitude. Bar adequate, just. Breakfast looked quite nice but I thought a bit costly. This really is not a good quality hotel by any sense of the word. If you take into account the very noisy rooms, self moving beds ( yup they just wizz about the room, not properly secured to anything!), lousy directions , and poor pool area, I am sure you could find better accommodation at the same price. However having said all that, the staff were good, it is only a five minute walk to a stunning beach, there are loads of bars and a few restaurants within an easy stroll and the overall area is quite pleasant and very clean. Ten minute drive into Alicante with it's terrific atmosphere and night life (an hour to get back using the useless map!), and there was a very pretty kitten living in the car park which loved sausage!
Quick tip re the sun loungers. If you are challenged in the age department be very careful as you could really hurt yourself if one collapses with you in it. You have been warned!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Falcoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Falcoflyer,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that our rooms were sufficient for your needs. However, please accept our apologies if this visit was not 100% satisfactory due to the soundproofing conditions and if you had trouble finding our location. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#11 of 49 in Alicante
537 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Hotel Alicante Golf
Hotel Alicante Golf
#29 of 49 in Alicante
465 reviews
Daniya Alicante
#37 of 49 in Alicante
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#13 of 49 in Alicante
343 reviews
Hotel Albahia
#16 of 49 in Alicante
562 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan

Property: Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan
Address: Avenida Cataluna 20 | Playa de San Juan, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#12 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday Inn Alicante-Playa de San Juan is located in a quiet area, just 400 meters from the spectacular sandy beach Playa de San Juan and only 5km from the centre of Alicante with easy access to other locations like Alicante Golf Course, shops, restaurants and other local attractions. This hotel is ideally located both for short breaks and holidays as well as for the business travellers visiting Alicante. Our comfortable 126 rooms are decorated in a fresh mediterranean style with parquet floors and equipped with air conditioning, television and satellite tv, minibar, safe deposit box and private bathroom. The hotel facilities include free parking and Wi-Fi in all the public areas as well as in 50% of the rooms, swimming pool, children's pool and playground, gardens, gym, sauna and paddle-tennis court (available at a charge). Our Restaurant Tamayo offers a wide selection of local dishes to tempt your appetite. We also have available our Bar serving drinks and snacks. The Holiday Inn Alicante-Playa San Juan has Seven Conference Rooms with daylight and all the necessary equipment to hold every kind of event. Our dedicated team of professionals will ensure that your meeting is a success. Look up our family packages including sports and extras for the childrenWe look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa De San Juan Hotel Alicante
Alicante Holiday Inn
Alicante Province Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing