We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, easy to get anywhere from”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Port Alicante
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the beach which later on in the season was quiet with plenty of restaurants to get a Drink at.

Has a good, if a bit shallow, pool which catches the sun for the vast majority of the day. Free wi-fi was a definite plus for this place too.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham76G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 658 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We first arrived to the hotel and we were greeted by welcoming staff, extremely polite and efficient. But we ended up getting a twin room, not ideal for a couple whatsoever! especially after requesting a double.
We enjoyed the swimming pool ( except the sunbed that collapsed ever other minute which drove me insane) other then that very clean. Woman at the pool bar was very nice! Right beside the beach which was great.

THEN, to my dismay,on the third day arrived at the hotel room to find that the door could be just opened from the outside without a key...thankfully nothing was missing! I then went to reception where I was told we could stay in the room for the night until it was fixed in the morning ( i thought she was joking as it was only 6 in the afternoon) but she was not!! Not having any of this I asked to change rooms... I didn't mind too much as I was taking it easy being on holidays and all not stressing and what not.....Until, we arrived at the room, it stank of smoke, and was built for disabled access so there we're assistant bars in the shower, on the toilet and in the room! Very romantic...now thinking of it the bars in the shower could have came in useful for extra curricular stuff ;)

We asked to move immediately and were then moved to a room which was right beside our first room (not impressed as they had tried to flog us off to a disabled assisted room that they obviously were just trying to get rid off). Not assisted what so ever in the moving of bags in the middle of our holiday we had to collect all our stuff and set up shop in the new room allocated to us...finally a double bed!

Can't flaw it all.. as the staff we're extremely nice, well situated( if your looking for the beach) not nightlife, like me and the whole hotel was kept very clean our rooms were cleaned every day!

Room Tip: specify a double if your looking for a double...expect a twin if you don't!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Okeydokeyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for the last two nights of our holiday prior to our flight home from alicante airport. We had a hire car so this fitted in well as the hotel had large free car park and was only 35 mins drive to the airport.Rooms were large clean and spacious the only downside was there was a slight smell of smoke in the room. Well located 10 mins walk from the lovely beach area,15 mins drive into Alicante which is well worth a visit. Nice pool. Breakfast fine. Evening meal fine. Free wi fi all in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raymondo644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not really my style but picked up a room for a few nights on lastminute.com as a "secret deal". Very friendly reception made for pleasant check in but room was as expected....Holiday Inn.
Rated the location as a 3 but depends on your needs. If you want beach, tourists it's a 10min walk away. Town with good restaurants are 20min by tram.
Got a great rate and would recommend for a family looking for affordable getaway option.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fallguy450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had 2 days at this hotel which was well served by bus and tram. All up to the usuall Holiday Inn standard with only one complaint. You could not close the curtains! The rails on each side of the window only ran half way across the opening. A design flaw that should have been seen to when the hotel was new. Very clean and unusall to find such a well maintaiuned outside swimming pool

Room Tip: There seems to be a new part - ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAshington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood of Alicante just 5 min walk away from San Juan beach. The hotel seems to be from the eigthies but has been partially refurbished. We had one of the newer rooms in the "tower" which was quite nice and spacious. We had breakfast in the restaurant (12 € per person) which was quite ok but every day the same. The atmosphere was not overwhelming. There is a litte pool with sun loungers. Towels are available but no cushions. There is also a small gym but half of the machines are broken. The staff is in general friendly and helpful. A tramway stop is not far away and you will be downtown in 20 minutes at very low cost. Free WiFi is available with good performance but does not work everywhere in the hotel.

Bottom line: The best features of this hotel are the incredible low rate (off-season) and it's closeness to the beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the new rooms in the tower.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my then Fiances 30th birthday (he is now my hubby so I guess I did good ). We had a lovely time. Clean well kept rooms, lunch menu in the bar was decent. Drinks on tap. The pool was lovely and was never too crowded even though locals pipped in to use it! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheribobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Albahia
#13 of 49 in Alicante
629 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#25 of 49 in Alicante
447 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#12 of 49 in Alicante
402 reviews
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#15 of 49 in Alicante
579 reviews
Daniya Alicante
#37 of 49 in Alicante
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Alicante

Address: Avenida Cataluna 20 | Playa de San Juan, 03540 Alicante, Spain (Formerly Holiday Inn Alicante)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#12 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: $48 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Port Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Port Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa De San Juan Hotel Alicante
Alicante Holiday Inn
Alicante Province Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing