We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“for those on a budget or a quick stayover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maya Alicante
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Estonia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“for those on a budget or a quick stayover”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Indeed, I believe there can be found cheaper hotels in Alicante. Thus for us it was good choice as we spent only one night and arrived pretty late. I also agree with prevous comment that it is quite close to everything and TRAM stop nearby was just ideal for us. The establishment is far from new, however very clean and even though there was a wedding reception this evening we heard nothing. We were given very spacious room and the hotel staff, reception especially, was very nice. True, it was a bit hectic during breakfast time, but we were not in a hurry. Free internet is a plus. So if you are looking for a simple one night stay or have a budget limitation, why not use this hotel, just know what to expect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    439
    218
    47
    31
See reviews for
181
461
47
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We read some negative reviews before going so were a bit aprehensive about our hotel choice but were pleasantly surprised.
You have to remember this is a 3 star hotel, it has everything you would expect for this standard, and we got a good price for our stay in September. The hotel is adjacent to the castle, about 10 mins from the beach and 15 mins to the old town/town centre, there are more central hotels but you pay more for them, the walk is fairly easy and after about 5 mins you are walking along the beachfront which is quite pleasant. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, and the tram which takes you all the way to Benidorm for just 5 euros is just accross the road.
The staff were really helpful, not all spoke perfect English but their English was significantly better than my Spanish, and it is in Spain afterall. We arrived just after midnight and had no problem with a late check in. The room was nice and spacious with a large balcony, and spotlessly clean. I didn't hear a peep from other rooms, either we didn't have neighbours or they were just exceptionally quiet. The pool area was great after a busy day, there is free internet and the staff are happy to store luggage book taxis etc.
There were several poor reviews of the breakfast buffet, I thought it was good, a standard continental breakfast, cold meets, cheese, pastries, fruit cereal etc and hot bacon, eggs sausages and tomatoes. There is not a full English on offer but again the hotel is in Spain and the food was good and fresh and set us up for a days sightseeing.
Overall I have no complaints about the hotel and would have no problem recommending it, but it does depend what you are looking for. We wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful to use as a base while exploring the area and for this the hotel Maya served us well, undoubtedly there are nicer more central hotels but if like us you are on a budget, you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eviltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed here with 2 friends and we booked and paid for a triple room and got a twim room with a fold up bed they explained to us that there was no other avaible beds.
The water kept cutting off during shower which was quiet annoying but they where quick to fix the problem.
The selection for breakfast and dinner is very good its E6 for breakfast with a vast selection and you can get a €12 buffet dinner 3 course which i taught was very good a tip would be to go down at 8 when they start serving the food so its still hot.
It was far away from the town center there is a short cut at the back of the hotel that brings you to the beach in 2 minutes and a big shopping center across the road.
It was an ok hotel but i wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireland8660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a week with my mother in September 2010. We were placed in a room inbetween 2 parties of extremely noisy holidaymakers who were travelling together.
Our "neighbours" held very loud disruptive parties from 6pm to 11pm every single night, and again for at least an hour around 4am when they returned from the town.
The walls are so thin in this hotel that you can hear your neighbours snoring, coughing, going to the toliet, and of course any nighttime bedrom antics can be heard too - not pleasant!
We compained to reception 3 times on the first night, again the following morning and again the next morning, but the hotel were unable to facilitate us with a move to another room.
Hotel reception staff should be more aware when they are allocating rooms to guests, and place groups of people travelling together in adjacent rooms where possible.
I have never felt the need to write a review about a hotel before, but our experience with Hotel Maya totally ruined our week's holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I spent 4 nights in this hotel, between August 17-21, 2010. The hotel is located at the foot of the hill with the Santa Barbara Castle, with easy access to the beach (10 min walk) and to the city center (20 min walk). I paid 56 eur/night for a single room, with I considered good value. My room (in fact a double in single occupancy) was located on the 7th floor, with a view to the Castle. The room was large, with all amenities expected from a 3* hotel: minibar, air conditioning, hairdryer, safe deposit box; a cash deposit is expected for the safe key and a credit card to guarantee for the minibar use. It was spotless clean and the personnel at the reception was polite, helpful and professional. I recommend it for its location, comfort and price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alia_Aliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia,Spain.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I picked the hotel maya as it was near to the beach, and near to a shopping centre... both were a ten min walk away, The staff were all very friendly, and the rooms of a good size.... the balcony was ' depressing ' mostly blocked in with a window ,,, the swimming pool was small but ideal for a dip, the breakfast was good value, and had a good selection. . lovely airconditioned and nice firm beds... would use again but only as somewhere to sleep, as not much else going on nearby .....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a really great hotel, the staff were outstanding and their friendliness was brilliant. I arrived late in the evening after catching a taxi from the airport and when Iwent to retrieve my reservation at the hotel I missed the passport. I relaized I left it at the taxi and I hadn't take note of the registration number on the taxi plate. The receptionist immediately put a call in to central control at the taxi rank and two hours later the taxi driver arrived back with my passport. The hotel is clean bright and spacious, lovely fresh rooms with internet access and regular supply of clean towels. The lifts can be slow at times but there have a sign up to say three new lifts are to be installed. The buffet breakfast was lovely with a choice of hot and cold food. It's about ten walk to the beach and there is a lovely large shopping mall about 5 min walk away. A bus leaves outside the front of the hotel regularly for the citycenter. The pool is lovely with plenty of lounge chairs and a bar is opened beside it. The hotel serves lunch and dinner and there is also a bar that serves light food in the ground floor. I would most definitely stay again as it was very pleasurable and reasonable priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karalara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#13 of 49 in Alicante
496 reviews
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,397 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albahia
#16 of 49 in Alicante
524 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Alicante

Property: Hotel Maya Alicante
Address: Calle Canonigo Manuel Penalva, 2, 03013 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#8 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maya Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Alicante Hotel Alicante
Kris Alicante
Kris Hotel Alicante
Alicante Kris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing