We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel seems to be underrated in here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maya Alicante
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Loch Lomond
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“This hotel seems to be underrated in here”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived at around 16.00 and there was only one receptionist on duty. She was very nice and very helpful but it was very busy and it took almost an hour to get checked in. Not a good start but after this it got much better. All the staff are very friendly.

The décor was quite plain but our room was very clean, comfortable and very well designed. It had a good bath/shower that you could easily use without soaking the floor. Actually I have been in five star hotels with worse bathrooms than this. Plenty of space to park your toiletries, etc. We only paid £33 per night for the room with breakfast.

Plenty of wardrobe space but there was a shortage of coat hangers. They got us some more when we asked. We had a spacious room on 9th floor with an enclosed balcony and a sea view. The Wi-Fi was excellent, in fact it was the best I have experienced in a hotel. It was November so the pool was closed. It was a small pool with a few sunbeds and I would imagine good enough to have a swim and cool off in hot weather.

Breakfast is good but some items can be a bit cold - a common problem in Spain. They provide fried, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon beans mushrooms, etc. They also have the full selection of continental breakfast components. It was much better than we expected.

Location is about a 15 minute straight walk into the centre of the city but if you can't be bothered walking in the Marq/Castello tram station is literally across the street. Trams are very quick and efficient with one every four or five minutes. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel entrance.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Maya. If we come back to Alicante it will be the first place we look.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Andraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    511
    244
    54
    36
See reviews for
222
519
51
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is first class for shopping and the beach , good selection of food on the menu and food delivered to your room if required. The whole place is spotless room all have balcony , some with views of the Mediterranean sea.Clean swimming pool, and sun deck, and small cafe for snacks and drinks .Staff are all very helpful and friendly ,WiFi free in every room modern tv sets in every room,
with English programs .Bathrooms have bath shower and bidet plus the toilet.I would go back and stay here again .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

In Danish translated into english 3 * is average and 4 * is very satisfactory… Since I found the place satisfactory I rate it 3 1/2 *. The guy at the front desk was a little stressed when I checked in
but he did fine. The pool was - as expected - "officially closed", but the pool area was open, so You could take a rest with a book and enjoy the sun next to the pool. The lift is a bit slow and the rooms a bit worn down, but overall cleanness fine. The wifi is a bit slow. We had a nice balconny facing the coast and the castle. Our room was the superior type. When my friend left for Denmark
I informed the front desk that I had decided to stay another day but degrade to the normal room to 15 €. I was told that I could stay in the superior room for the normal rate….nice! I would say the walk to the heart of the city is 15 minutes. bus stop to to the airport is 100 m from the hotel and so is the tram station if You want to take the two stops to get near the central train station. A satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a good value for money hotel if you want a long weekend away. Rooms are clean, tidy and everything you need. The building is a bit tired on the outside but acceptable everywhere else. Buffet breakfast has a good selection of fresh breads, fruit meats and small hot buffet which changes daily. The Maya is near the beach and a large shopping centre. About a 15minute walk to the centre or 2 minutes on the tram. Couldn't fault this place based on what we paid have had a lot worse at 3 x the cost. Tip avoid rooms with 01 number as the back on to the lift shafts and can be noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid 01 room as they back onto lift shafts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businessstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Reasonable Hotel we went room only for £30 a night, basic holiday hotel room clean and ok. Pool didnt get the sun all day, and pool area not really a very appealing place to spend the day. However, 10 mins to beach and sun bed 4euros each, so why stay at the pool. Hotel right next door to MARQ Tram station you can be in Benidorm in 1 hour 10 mins for 6.4 Euros return. Bus from airport stops 60 yards from hotel for 2.90 Euros.

Note Alicante is in no way like Benidorm, its a Spanish city that happens to have a beach, so its not all about the tourists and certainly not about english tourists. A refreshing step into spanish culture, with lots of lovely restaurants and fantastic architecture.

Really enjoyed 5 days here and would visit again, and stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Up High and Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Recently returned from a week's holiday in this very nice hotel. Friendly staff, room cleaned everyday, sea view room and nice pool area. Located 5 minutes walk from old town and 10 minutes walk from main centre with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
626 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
785 reviews
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,458 reviews
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#11 of 49 in Alicante
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Alicante

Property: Hotel Maya Alicante
Address: Calle Canonigo Manuel Penalva, 2, 03013 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#8 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maya Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Alicante Hotel Alicante
Kris Alicante
Kris Hotel Alicante
Alicante Kris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing