We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“melia no no”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“melia no no”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I´ve booked the melia alicante says four stars but is more like two stars totally without charm, extra for spa, indoor pool. No library .The best about is the breakfast it´s good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    1,576
    610
    194
    102
See reviews for
955
1,962
145
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have stayed at the Melia Alicante on two occasions. The first time was March 2010 with Hubby. We booked a room on the Level and we were very comfortable. We had a dedicated check in on the fifth floor which was speedy and efficient
Our room had a sea view (could not see the beach) but it was so peaceful and relaxing. We saw the most magnificent sunrise for the four days we were there and to be perfectly frank it was romantic and idyllic to see birds of the feathered kind and the beautiful blue Med.
We had a free well stocked room minibar replenished every day, pillow menu, room fragrance menu and the bed was comfortable.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but had breakfast every day in the level lounge which was adequate for our requirements –the usual choice of cold meats, cheese, fruit, croissants, pastries and I believe there was also scrambled egg, bacon and sausage.
My second visit was in late October 2010 and I was alone. Once again I booked into the level and at check in I discussed with the receptionist which side of the Hotel I would prefer.
After listening to her comments I decided on a room on the opposite side of the hotel to my previous visit, looking out onto the marina. It was perfect for me. I had the sun every afternoon, the sunsets were not as good as the sunrise, but there was always something to watch. The beautiful yachts coming and going, people walking their dogs early in the morning on the paseo, and I was also looking out onto the Casino which seems to have caused some noise, according to other TA’s comments. I was not disturbed by any noise what so ever but I do recognise that October can have a different set of tourists than July or August.
Once again I had breakfast in the level lounge and also the occasional cava before I ventured out for dinner.
To sum up and give my opinion of the Melia Alicante, the position of the hotel is excellent; the level rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bathroom and separate shower room are well designed with nice toiletries, towels etc, and, being a silver haired old lady, it is always important that I feel comfortable, safe and secure which I do in the Melia Alicante.
Perhaps it is time management takes notice of all the disappointing opinions of other guests who do not stay in one of the level guest rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonissim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Located right on the marina and next to the Casino and the beach the Sol Melia in Alicante probably is the best located hotel in the city center.

CheckIn process is usually really slow, but this is something that seems to be common in this area of Spain. It usually takes forever even to get the keys to your rental car here even if everything is booked in advance. Do not be in a hurry here...

The room is quite small and the quality of the furniture and in particular the bed is everything but breathtaking. It is not catastrophic, but not what you would expect in such a location either.

Roomservice was quite slow and the quality of the food was quite low. Next time I will buy a sandwich at a gas station.

All in all not a great hotel, but unfortunately there not many decent alternatives in Alicante.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skysailor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

stayed here for 3 days in october and having previously stayed at the Amerigo in January so was looking forward to it as it was rated high on this site and I pushed my budget on advice from this site.

Please note all the people on hear rating this hotel poorly are correct........ I repeat correct.
4 star noooooooo way I have stayed in better guest houses stopping on the side of the road.

Firstly on arrival the reception was poor I was repeated asked for a printed voucher.I ask if they had my booking ,They said "Yes" , I asked "is it paid" She said "Yes" I stated what was the problem and she was hestitant in giving us the key card. I could see what the problem was as I never had to produce paper work before at this level of Hotel, I had the email form the hotel on my iphone and this wasnt good enough. As there was some fellow resident complaining about something also they decided to let me in the room on the promise I email them once i got in the room the voucher, madness!!!!. I did email them and when I asked the same girl she was interested if the hotel had received it .

In the room the tiles are broken and view limited and as my partner was tired this was the only reason I didnt ask for a change

Now please note ....... they have NO IRONING facilties available in room which was difficult ,prices are £10 for 1 dress if one would allow someone else to do it. I thought this was unusual at this level and told reception and he stated "no iron, for safety" what!!!!!!!!!!. i laughed and he repeated it .There is a hairdryer and a socket right over the basin and that's safe?.
You cannot have an iron in the room but you can wash you face with a hairdryer lying in the basin, madness.

This is not for holiday or non-spanish it for group bus party and Business where they throw the company credit card about .

After booking in, and even then that wasn't pleasant, was there any welcome from any staff they are rude, full stop!! and couldnt even raise a smile, the only people who welcomed us were the cleaners and thanks to them we felt that we were not in a prison.

At breakfast they gave my partner a one cup measure of hot water in a large pot for her tea, this again madness and staff we cleaning plates from the table prior to both being finished are they even trained most of the staff looked like they didnt want to be there.My advice would be leave, your all ruining this hotel.

If you get this hotel from £0 to £30 per night book it ,if not stay away its a waste of money
The whole staff in this hotel with exception of the cleaners and the handy guy who fixed our safe, needs to re-trained in hospitality as they have not got a clue. i have had better service in a road side diner .Hey we might not be Spanish Business travellers, but its own hard earned money and I will never say here again. book this hotel and waste your hard money it is not 2 star.
There is more to an hotel than facilties,
If i knew how to fine them? there was no hotel information in the room.
Ok this is enough, spend you money elsewhere Please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelowna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
We want to thank this guest for sharing his opinion after his visit to Melia Alicante.
In spite of this particular experience, actually only 15 comments on Tryp Advisor ( from 315 we have in total ) were negative.
We will take in consideration these remarks that always help us to continue improving our services.
We take advantadge of this moment to thank those guests who recommend our stablishment, and we are glad they are the 87% ! This aim Melia Alicante team to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Melia was a nice hotel- older style but in an amazing locatation. It was a great value for money only paying $89 Australian a night. Felt a bit decieved and disappointned as the pool looks nothing like the photos. It only gets the sun for a couple of hours in the morning and is alot smaller then appears in photos. But in saying that the hotel is right near the beach and marina. Room was nice enough execpt we had to go in the hall ways the use wifi. Aircon didnt work in one of the rooms and took asking at reception three times to get it fixed.I would probably recommend if you could get a good price, the location cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leilaandlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coggeshall
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

we stayed here for three nights excellent stay on all points
we had a level room on 5th floor reception staff excellent the courtesy bar is as advertised good choice of drinks hot and cold friendy staff available if necessary
breakfast in level lounge was good everything you could ask for
we had a meal in terra restaurant pricey but excellent fare and service also ate in tapas bar again excellent and reasonable price
hotel is adjacent to beach and marina tram and bus stop about 200yards
overall would recommend hotel and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilcrossEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Very good location, as it is near the beach, the city center, good restaurants, the promenade and the bus stop for Santa Barbara castle. Hotel staff were very kind and let us check in very smoothly and gave us necessary information though they were busy. Buffet breakfast was excellent as there was a variety of choice of good food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,458 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
628 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
777 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Property: Melia Alicante
Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing