We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful holiday”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the melia at the beginning of June for 4 nights . We stayed on the 5th floor of the hotel and is adults only .

On the level you are able to have breakfast which is a much more civilised experience than in the main hotel.looking out to sea . Then from 1030 to 2230 you have drinks snacks and tapas which are regularly replenished.

This is very different to all inclusive as you are all adults together and you have a few drinks and snacks through the day but while we were there anyway everybody was very civilised and most only have a few drinks and snacks before maybe lunch time and before they went out for dinner in an evening.

The drinks are self service and the range of drinks is extensive. The staff at the melia weird very friendly and efficient.

Our room was compact but very clean and comfortable with a beautiful bathroom . You can have sea view or marina view but both are beautiful as the hotel is situated right between the two.

The air conditioning was very welcome as it was scorching when we were there.

The pool area is quite small so we went to the beach each day and hired the beds . The attendant was excellent and would look after you belonging if you want to go in the sea and would be happy to collect cold drinks from the bar if you wanted . We never find but very nice of him to offer.

Alicante has everything you need to have a great holiday especially if you stay in the melia because if couldn't be anymore convenient for the beach , marina or the town.

The good was beautiful everywhere we ate and the area is still very Spanish which is what I love about it . No English bars bug lots of tasteful tapas bars to unwind I. The evening.

All in all this was a brilliant holiday and I really cannot wait to return to alicante and the melia hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask off a sea view if I returned because that's what I prefer but the marina side can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Mrs Alison,

First of all many thanks for having spent your valuable time writing here so kind and positive comments and also for sharing them with other tripadvisor’s users.

We are so pleased to read that you have had a great stay at The Level, and that you really appreciate the quality of our food and our service, all the staff at the hotel always try to satisfy our guests’ needs with the best of our smiles and as we can read from your lines we have achieve your expectations!.

As you are thinking in returning, please contact me before in order to welcome you and make your stay at least as pleasant as this one. .

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    1,575
    610
    194
    101
See reviews for
950
1,960
145
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've been here on a family trip for more than a week. This is one of the very well-known hotels, everyone knows where it is, so location-wise you cannot expect more in Alicante. Right at the beach, walking distance from many things (main streets).

The reception area is big enough for the size of the hotel and at peak times it's staffed properly. The design is average and the area seems to be well-maintained. They speak good enough English, though running into difficulties for example if something needs to be taken care of in English on the phone. The information given by the front desk was always accurate, however they (some of them at least) lack even basic information about the area (eg. Tabarca island -the person I asked had no idea about what to do on the island itself, just about the possible transfers).

It is however quite strange that there are only 3 elevators from the main hall, 2 of them together and one separately that has a view. There are other elevators but they are a bit of a walk away. Due to this, they can get very busy -it's very annoying if you're on a higher floor so can't just take the stairs conveniently. This is not the most thought-out part of the hotel.

We had a junior suite which was about the size of two normal rooms together. The size was fine and the balcony was great: on the corner, so you have both nice sea view and see the beach as well, plus the pool in the hotel (this part can get quite noisy if there's a party, be aware). However the furniture is very simplistic and a bit looked worn-down. The best way to describe would be "functional". Everything worked, it was just not at the level that I would expect from a suite.

There were two bathrooms, one with a tiny shower (hard to stand in it properly for a bigger person), the other one with a bathtub. These were OK as well, nothing fancy -however in one of them we found a broken glass on the shelf (completely broken into pieces and then obviously collected) which the cleaners somehow did not find before us... Also, one of the toilets stopped working (didn't flush) at the end. However the shower heads are giving enough pressure for a good shower. Be aware that there are no shaving mirrors (the ones that magnify) if that's your thing.

The bed was a big disappointment. I am quite sure that it said king size on the website (I may be wrong, booked it a long time ago), but this was barely queen, which is unacceptable in a suite. The couch could've been opened for a bigger bed, but come on, if one's choosing a higher class hotel then it is likely that they don't want to sleep on a couch. The mattress was OK (average hotel thing, not extremely soft at least), the pillows were good and plenty. A small pet-peeve of mine is why are there so many hotels that don't put a power outlet next to the night stands? Everyone needs to charge their phones nowadays -but no luck here either, you have to leave them in the living room... Oh, and there's a funny detail: it seems like many bedrooms are set up in a way that at any small movement on the bed, the headrest hits the wall. So at certain times in the evening and at night, there are multiple concerts of headrests-hitting-walls if you know what I mean...

Lighting is quite weak, just a few small lights, but of course there's plenty of natural light during the day due to the corner room layout (two doors to the balcony, one from the bedroom, one from the living room).

The TVs are on the smaller side, but at least there are two of them, one in the bedroom, one in the living room. They are usable, that's it, nothing fancy. The one in the bedroom is well-positined to be enjoyable from bed.

The AC was OK, nothing more. The thermometers did not work very precisely, I had to set it lower to make them turn on sometimes. Performance-wise they were OK, but quite loud on the top two settings.

Sound-proofing (or the lack of it) was an unpleasant surprise. You can easily hear people walking and talking on the corridor at all hours, moving chairs on the floor, coughing etc...

Cleaning was very inconsistent. First of all they never, ever knocked. When the door is closed (you used the lock) then, after they just tried to come in, they will just walk away. Then after a few tries you get this sign on your door handle that they "saw the do not disturb sign" so they didn't clean... Well that's quite strange since there was no do not disturb sign in the room to begin with. When they did clean (I had to ask for it separately most of the days), the results were varied: some did not even take the trash, but some were very thorough. Some left 6 shampoos and no shower gel, some didn't leave enough towels, some changed the AC settings completely, some had no problem discussing rudely the stuff (clothes) of the guests in Spanish in front of them, thinking that they would not understand... Really, surprisingly inconsistent for the class of the hotel.

The breakfast was very good quality, you could find many things, they make you your eggs as you like, many fruits, good selection of cheese, local sausages and meets etc. You can see the beach from the breakfast area, that's also very nice (if you can catch a table with the view). However, do not go later than 9 if you don't enjoy standing in queues. By 10, they are quite bad, you would wait for half an hour to get in, just to be able to stand in more queues for everything... Much better to go early (or have breakfast in your room).

There are multiple bars in the hotel, the staff was always very good, knowledgable about the drinks and was always smiling. The selection is the best at the lobby bar, the others are just OK, but for the top shelf things you better go to the lobby.

The wellness center (door next to the pool) is very professional, the massages are really good, I recommend trying it during workdays (weekends are much more busy).

The pool is not bad, usually occupied by many kids, if that's OK with you then you can have a small swim any time with easy access from the rooms, which is nice.

The beach access is somewhat tricky. There's an "emergency" door that leads directly to the beach, from the pool. However, you can only go out, cannot come back the same way, unless you have someone open the door from the inside. Otherwise you have to go around the whole block, which is quite a big detour if you want to do some pleasant morning swim in the sea before the crowd arrives (before 9 is the best, after 9:30 it's quickly getting very full). This could be organized better.

We never tried the top floor restaurant, since there are so many places within walking distance... Obviously avoid the main street tourist-places, just a few streets up and you'll find many more, much-much better restaurants. And if you're willing to walk for 20 minutes, you can get to dozens and dozens of different, very nice places.

It is worth mentioning also that the port next to the hotel is the starting point for many water activities, eg. you can rent jetskis or even go and do the flyboard, this is a nice advantage staying here, all of these are just 5 minutes walk from the room. Scuba diving however is not the best in Alicante, if that's what you'd like to do, the good dive centers are in Sao Pola (Dive Academy Santa Pola was extremely flexible, even to accomodate dive schedules to ensure one parent can always stay with the kids etc).

The bottomline: besides having to request the services instead of them just being at the expected quality automatically, you will be fine here, especially if you won't spend too much time in the room. It is not a bad place by all means, even though there are quite a few areas that could be easily upgraded. The area is great and all complaints were resolved quickly. While there may be many annoying small things, if you relax and take them one by one, I can recommend this place. If small annoyances would not let you enjoy your holidays, you may be better off looking for something else.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms/balconies looking at the internal pool, that area can get very noisy in the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank n0rdicguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, many thanks for taking your time to post such a detailed comment regarding your stay in Melia Alicante.

We appreciate to hear that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services, because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International.

On the other hand, regarding to your comments, we do take them into account in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfation.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I recently went for a four night break with my grown up daughter. I had booked a twin room but they gave us a double. They changed it immediately to a twin on the fifth floor, one of the rooms on The Level which had not been upgraded but was perfectly acceptable, overlooking the harbour, which gets the sun in the afternoon. Lovely comfy beds and even conifer pillows. The Level looks good if you want to have your drinks and snacks included, but we like to go out to different places for lunch and dinner.

The old town has loads of lovely restaurants, we paid about 20 euros a head for starters and main, and then got an ice cream from one of the many ice cream shops.

The hotel is nothing to look at from the outside, but inside it is lovely, the staff are very friendly and extremely efficient. Lovely breakfasts and loads of choice. We had a bit of entertainment on two of the nights we were there and was nice to watch.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Teresa

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TessEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much not only for having chosen Meliá Alicante to spend your holidays in Alicante but also for taking your valuable time for sharing here your personal experience among us.

We are very glad to read that you appreciate our service and facilities, as you could experience we have a nice variety of food at the breakfast and also bars and pools for pleasing all our guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My partner and I are going to melia hotel in sept, booked through disabled travel agent my partner is wheelchair bound can someone tell me if this hotel is going to be suitable, also someone said it had a small slope you had get up to reach hotel if you go out. Any pictures of disabled rooms would be grateful as we have pre booked one.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mary529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mary,

I contact you from the Quality Department.

Regarding to your comments, I would like to inform you that we have disabled rooms and facilities.

If you prefer you colud contact me by my email: carmen.benito.vicente@melia.com

On this way, I could send you all the information that you require before you arrive.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

visited hotel at end of june,prior to collecting family member from airport the next day,booked into "the level",top floor rooms with separate access and 24 hour lounge,,sea view rooms etc,worth the small extra cost! hoever we were not advised when booking that for 4 nights during the festival san juan which is celebrated throughout alicante, that from midnight till at least 4 am it is impossible to avoid the noise (boom boom music?)that completely engulfs the entire area!We realize this is not the fault of the hotel,but if informed at the time of booking that you would be unable to sleep in the otherwise comfortable bed,we would not have stayed there. At 4 am went to the reception area and the night manager confirmed that all had dealt with from midnight was complaints from residents at 4am there were probably more hotel guests awake than revellers on the beaches! So unless you want to join in avoid for 4 nights during the festival

Room Tip: "the level"facility is worth paying a little more for if only to avoid the busy and crowde...
See more room tips
Green Features: top floor sea view rooms are well equiped and have good,clean facilities
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have had during your stay. We want to point out that it was something absolutely exceptional that has nothing to do with the calm that we usually offer to our guests.

On the other hand, we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the service provided on The Level.

We sincerely hope that we have the chance to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent hotel for a short and relaxing holiday with its nearby beach and many local restaurants in the neighbourhood. Great service. Very nice personell, specially those working with cleaning the rooms and the room servants. They had always time for a "buenos dias" or a "buenos tardes".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Harald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Harald,

Thank you very much for such a nice review.

We are so pleased to read that you have had a great stay at Meliá Alicante and that you really appreciate the quality of our service, all the staff at the hotel always try to satisfy our guests’ needs with the best of our smiles and as we can read from your lines we have achieve your expectations!

We all hope to see you on your next holidays.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

It's centrally placed and it has everything but because it's a huge, gauche 1970s construction it lacks style. Some areas look very tired and in need of renovation. Service is good, room was fine (refurbished) & the breakfast is fabulous with 180 degree see views. If you want to sunbathe and swim, it's perfect as it's right next to the beach and harbour. Two minutes stroll from the old town. Pleasant staff but I will stay somewhere more Spanish and less impersonal next time.

Room Tip: Floor five and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writting a review about your last stay at Meliá Alicante.

Reference your comments, I would like to point out that the hotel is in a process of improving facilities and rooms, in fact, we have recently refurbished the third floor.

On the other hand, I am really glad to read that you have enjoyed your holidays.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and allocate you in our Premium rooms.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,458 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
626 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
776 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Property: Melia Alicante
Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing