We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of September.

Hotel is located in a great position, with the sea on one side and the marina on the other, and right next to the bus stop for the bus to/from Alicante airport

Less than 5 minutes walk to the old town, lift for the castle, street market.

Our room was spacious with a fridge, TV and a balcony overlooking the marina.

Room was air-conditioned and very quiet at night.

Breakfast was very good with a great choice of food ranging from cereal, fruit, cakes, cold meats, toast, breads, and an egg bar serving made to order omelettes. Tea and coffee is served at the table

Try to have breakfast by 9am. It gets very busy after 9am, and you will probably have to wait for a table.

Large reception with a bar and a restaurant and internet access.

Nice swimming pool overlooking the sea and beach, although a bit on the small side considering the hotel has 330 rooms.

Hotel is very wide, it can be a long walk from the lifts to you room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea/beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having trusted in Melia Alicante for your last visit to the city and for being so kind to share your comments about your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate that it makes us extremely proud to know that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay with us!

Also, thank you a lot for your kind words regarding our great breakfast and to post such a detailed and informative comment regarding our privileged location and the quality of our facilities.

For all our team it would be a pleasure to get a chance to welcome you once again!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,741
    1,576
    610
    194
    101
See reviews for
952
1,961
145
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Alicante and our first stay at the Melia Alicante, and we stayed on the level. Check in was very good and we had a marina view room. Unfortunately, we couldn't get a beach view room. It was very comfortable and tidy. The bathroom was quite spacious and had a shower bath, which was good. My only complaint was that it was very noisy on the Saturday night and I found it quite difficult to sleep. But from Sunday onwards I didn't hear any noise. Breakfast, snacks and drinks are served to guests on the level between certain hours. Which was nice. We would have a quick drink before going out in the evening for our meal and a night cap when we got back. We have stayed at other Spanish hotels were they offer the same service so we were happy with the snacks and refreshments that were on offer. We did have breakfast in the main dining room too. It was very crowded on one occasion with queues going along way out of the dining room. However, on the following day it was only a 5 minute wait to be seated. The choices were a lot more down in the main area than on the level. The pool seemed quite small, but we never used it as we prefer the beach. The beach was only a short walk around the corner of the hotel and was fabulous, the water was warm and very calm. Perfect for me as I don't swim. There was plenty of space and sunbeds available. We paid 18 Euros for two sun beds and a parasol. People around us were very friendly. And we had a really great time on the beach. There are lots of places to eat and drink on the beach too. We had coffee and a brandy when leaving the beach to return to our hotel. We had a really great relaxing holiday with lots of wonderful food and found our hotel was great for us. The staff on the level were always friendly, helpful and on hand to offer advise for whatever we may have needed. I would stay here again, and I would recommend to others. We would like to thank the Staff on the level for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Our Marina view room was very noisy on a Saturday night as it overlooked the Casino and the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to share about your experience and sensations in our hotel with other Tripadvisor users.

We are extremely happy and proud to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you had such a good impression with our exclusive service, where our commitment is to give to exceed all your expectations by offering our best service and attention.

For your next reservation, do not hesitate to contact with us and we will do our best to cover your preferences and to give you a room with sea view.

All our team looks foward to meeting you again!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just got back from this beautiful hotel in Alicante with the perfect location and fantastic views. The staff were always pleasant and went out of their way to meat your needs. We booked through Opodo and we were shown a room with 3 proper beds, but that was not the case. We told the receptionist and they dealt with it in a satisfactory way. The only thing that ruined it is that one night before midnight we called reception and they never answered, we had to call room service and get the message through them. If it had been a serious emergency, it would have been distressing to say the least.

Room Tip: Both views are lovely, the port and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChioChuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for being so kind to take your time and to post a comment regarding your recent stay in Melia Alicante.

Please do not hesitate that we appreciate a lot all your nice words and the most importnat, we are proud to know that you had a wonderful stay with us!

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you once again soon!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

really friendly large hotel,great location,seaview room.Breakfast amazing would go back,book a seaview.Only down side no sun in the afternoon on pool..but there is a solarium for the afternoon with beds. breakfast amazing and wold go back.Nice places to eat in the city,no need for a car as trains and taxis very good

Room Tip: Really nice weekend break
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquilancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for being so kind to take your time and to share with others about your recent stay in Melia Alicante.

We appreciate a lot your nice words regarding our breakfast buffet and we are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

All our team look forward to welcome you once again and in this way to get an opportunity to make your stay unforgettable!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is my first review i have wrote about this hotel, having stayed here on numerous occasions, the most important being my Son and Daughter in laws wedding reception. It was wonderful and Maria Quiles the wedding organisor went the extra mile with all that she did, They could not have done it without her. All of the guests stayed and could not fault the hotel and the services.
Since this we always try to stay at a melia hotel, last week we were at the Melia Galgos Madrid(Wonderful again) and in October we are of to the Melia Guillermo(Cuba), so as you can see we are moe than happy with with the Melia chani of hotels.

Room Tip: The Level would be our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13JoseLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot to take your time to post a comment about your recent stay in Melia Alicante.

We are extremely proud to hear that you were impressed with our efficient service and that you had a wonderful stay with us. Please do not hesitate that the satisfaction of our guests is the most important criterion we consider to be and for this reason we are happy that we succeeded it.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you once again soon!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from the Melia Alicante a lovely time was had by all. We stayed on a half board basis the breakfast was amazing and the evening meals were too.The staff were very courteous and helpful throughout the hotel especially the staff attending us at dinner who were so courteous and polite making sure we had enjoyable meals. We stayed in a three bedded room facing the marina housekeeping staff all ways ensured it was very clean and comfortable. The pool was too cold, and pool area was often shaded and cold but this gave us the opportunity to use the beautiful beach which could be accessed by stairs from the pool area.

Room Tip: If you are having three adults in a room (we had our 24 year old daughter with us) ensure they give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot to post a comment and to share with other Tripadvisor users about your experience in Melia Alicante.

We are extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we managed to exceed your expectations. Especially it is nice to know that you were impressed with our excellent service!

We look foward to welcome you once again soon.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September. I have to say that the majority of reviews on this hotel were very accurate and also made for very useful info prior to our trip. I shall start off with the positives:

Pros: Breakfast is amazing and caters for every palate you can have everything from chicken curry to chocolate cake and all the other healthy alternatives in between. The housekeeping staff were fantastic our room was immaculate every day. The hotel is right next to the beach and has a useful stair way linking the pool area to the beach. There are lots of nice restaurants and shopping areas to see in Alicante.

Cons: As previously mentioned in earlier reviews SOME of the reception staff need to undergo further training, check in was long, tedious, and the receptionist felt it was more important to chat to her colleagues than prioritise us the CUSTOMERS!! A major error in my books and as they are the first point of contact in the hotel this issue should be addressed. We were so annoyed with the reception staff that even asking for general info was a chore, on our second day we enquired about getting to San Juan beach (worth going to a lot less packed that the beach near the hotel) the receptionist muttered something about a bus on the other side of the hotel, no further details she was just so rude. The pool area is small and gets little sun, so normally quite cold too, we spent most of our time at the beach. Also they have a bar / drinks area beside the pool so if you want to read / sunbathe in peace forget it!! Also if you plan on visiting the casino across the road you need to bring your passport to gain entry, this is not written on any of the hotel guest info booklets very annoying.

Over all this hotel has a lot of potential and with a few tweaks could be a really great hotel. The majority of the staff are very pleasant, take pride in their work and make every effort to be courteous and polite to customers. I feel that the managment should take note of these reviews, especially when the majority of reviewers are reporting back with similar comments.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the 4th floor had a lovely sea view but the rooms on "The Level" looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_Dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you a lot for being so kind to take your time and to post a comment regarding your stay in Melia Alicante.

We appreciate a lot all your comments both positive as well as negative ones as only by knowing the opinion of our guests we are able to be in a constant improvement.

Also, we express our apologies if for the reasons you mention your stay was not as pleasant as we would had wished to be.

We hope to see you here again and in this way to get a change to change your negative impression by offering our constant attention and best service.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,458 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
626 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
777 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Property: Melia Alicante
Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing