We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 28, 2013

just returned from a weekend break at melia alicante, the hotel itself was fine but definately not a 4 star as it states,, when you google it on the internet it will fool your expectations,, we had a room on the first floor overlooking the casino and marina which we could not see to good as it has a big ship about 200 feet long parked in front of the marina.. looking at it on the internet you dont see this ship!! breakfast was good alot of variety to choose from but tea and coffee you order are cold.. staff are friendly in hotel,,the bar in hotel is expensive to drink at,,alicante is a nice city but not geared up for irish tourists the night life is dreadfull no bars had live music..we took the tram into benidorm 12,80 euro return which took about an hour benidorm is more of a tourist attraction more bars and nice places to eat,, this was our first visit to alicante and it will be our last,, we have 3 star hotels in ireland miles ahead of the 4 star melia alicante..

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor people say the 4th floor has better views but you pay more!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post your comment in Tripadvisor and in this way to share with others about your experience in Melia Alicante.

We regret to hear that we did not exceed your expectations this time. Regarding your discontent about the views, please let me to inform you that there are two type of the views: to the marina or to the beach. From your comment we understand that you had booked a view to the marina, for this reason you did not see the beach, but the port, which also has a very nice view!

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in future and we will be more than happy to give you a room in a higher floor.

Best regards.

Laura Redondo.
Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,093 - 2,099 of 4,674 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

The position of this hotel is ideal,near the beach the bars,shops etc. We have enjoyed stays at this hotel in the past. This time we had a room overlooking the Casino and the Marina, the room was clean and a good size. We were impressed with the triple glazed windows,as soon as you closed them it cut out the general noise It was a Thursday night and the nightclub opposite started pumping out dance music, this went on until at least three o'clock in the morning. On Friday it was until six o'clock. We changed rooms and requested one at the other end of the building away from the nightclub but due to the renovations this was not possible. We were put into one on the other side overlooking the beach, unfortunately there was a wedding reception in the function room underneath us, as you can imagine Gangam style at one o'clock in the morning after the two previous disturbed nights was not appreciated. Our fourth and last night was ok. When we booked out the receptionist asked, bravely,I thought, if we had had a good stay. On telling her we had been disturbed by the music she said if it goes on after three o'clock we should have phoned reception and they would have contacted the club!!! THREE O!CLOCK ? To reiterate,you can hear the music, the bass pumps out,thumping away and winding you up. I cannot understand why this premier hotel and the one next to it puts up with this intrusion unless they or King Juan Carlos own the club. No amount of triple glazing could improve this,the nightclub needs the noise insulation not the hotel. This is such a shame it is a good hotel spoilt by its neighbours.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank happyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to share with other Tripadvisor users about your recent stay in Melia Alicante!

We regret to hear that you had some inconveniece during your stay. It is very disappointing to hear that our guests could not rest properly because of the noise of the local clubs what is unfortunately absolutely out of our control. Despite of this, we really regret that you left our hotel not very satisfied.

All the team of Melia Alicante hopes to see you here again and in this way to have a chance to change your impression by doing all our best of making your stay nice and confortable as you deserve.

Best Regards,


Laura Redondo.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing stay at the Melia. We requested a sea-view room, which has uninterupted views of the sea, beach, and the promenade. A small balcony with chairs and table looks down on the swimming pool, which has the sun until late afternoon, and then at the other side, facing the Marina, there is a large decking area for sunbathing, and the sun stays on that until quite late. The renovations noise didn't bother us, and it is after all improving the place. The breakfast room is amazing; large glass windows overlooking the sea and beach; a wonderful way to start the day! The breakfast itself is fantastic; lots of choices, and Cava too! The bus from the airport takes about 20 minutes, and stops right by the Hotel. It costs €2.75. This is a bonus for a short break, not much travelling to get to your Hotel. We found the staff, both on reception and housekeeping, to be very pleasant, professional, and courteous. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hotel to my friends, in fact, I have done already. Looking forward to my next stay, as it is so perfect for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline777Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your nice words regarding your stay in Melia Alicante.

Please do not doubt that all your positive comments make us feel extremely proud as the satisfaction of our guests is the most important criterion we consider to be. For this reason, we are really very happy to know that you left our Hotel full of nice memories and you wish to visit us again!

We look foward to meeting you again very soon and to make your stay unforgettable!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here knowing it was easy to use the local buses from the airport to the marina. Only €2.75 each on the C6 bus (http://www.alicante-spain.com/alicante-airport-bus.html) it only took about 25 minutes and dropped us off meters from the hotel.

The hotel itself was undergoing some mainenance however this did not interfere with our stay. We had a sea facing room which was cleaned daily including fresh towels.

The staff on the reception desk and the cleaners were all very friendly, professional and good at their job. The hotel is well maintained, breakfast is really good with a varied selection for all.

The Melia Alicante is right next to the beach and faces the marina which has a few restaurants and bars to choose from. Also next to the edge of the town with the option of restaurants, bars and shopping. The tram line is by the beach if you feel like venturing along the coast all at a reasonable price.

A good base with the opportunity to relax or explore.

Room Tip: We used Expedia to book the Melia Alicante. Sea facing rooms are cooler, marina facing get the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Ms. Helen W,

Thank you for taking your time to share about your recent experience in Melia Alicante! All our team is happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Also, we appreciate a lot your kind words regarding our staff. We work hard day by day in order to be proffesional and to offer the best service and attention to our guests. For this reason, it is always extremely nice to know that our clients value the service which we offer.

All the team of Melia Alicante would be more than happy to have a chance to welcome you once again very soon!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed for a convention, Facilities where excellent nice room overlooking the Marina
Plenty of nice bars and places to eat which where a pleasant way to pass time during the day.
Old town a gentle walk of about 10 minutes with plenty of Authentic restaurants
The Marina was lively during the night and i imagine could be a bit noisy in summer with the clubs across the way. But with the window closed over not an issue.
Building improvements being made at time of stay but this was not much of an inconvenience.
Breakfast catered for all tastes and the view from the pool was stunning .

Room Tip: Had a room on the second level overlooking the marina if you like the windows open can be a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogersmax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to share with other Tripadvisor users about your recent stay in Melia Alicante!

We appreciate your nice words regarding our establishment and location and we would be more than happy to welcome you once again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the melia Alicante for two nights in April hoping for a relaxing time on the beach. We had read that there was some building work going on in the lobby which we decided we could live with.
On arrival we were early (around 10am) so we enquired at reception if we could leave our bags while we went to the beach. A very helpful receptionist told us that we were welcome to do so and also that the standard room we had booked was not available so we were being upgraded to a junior suite which would be ready at 12. So far, so good!
On returning after a day at the beach at around 4 we were told by a different receptionist that our suite had been given away to a different customer (!) and that we were now in another room on the new 'Level' floor.
This room was nice enough, on the small side but with a nice view of the Marina. It was extremely hot and on asking about this we were told that the a/c hasn't been turned on yet in the hotel so we just had to live with it. And no, they wouldn't provide us with a fan.
On reading the room information we were pleased to discover that there was an exclusive free bar area for the 'level' guests so we decided to go for a drink. We poured a drink and went to sit down when we were confronted by a female staff member who in front of all the other guests enquired our room number. When we told her she loudly informed us that we were not supposed to be using the bar, that the room we were in was not the standard room we had paid for and that we were only up on the level because the standard room had not been available. All highly embarrassing so we left.
The building work is not in the lobby, it is a serious renovation project and was taking place two floors below our room. It was loud, intrusive and seriously impacted on our stay. It started at 8am sharp and went on until 8pm.
I wouldn't stay here again, the staff are rude and we were made to feel unwelcome all because the standard room we had booked had not been made available by the hotel.
I have to add that I did complain about being embarrassed in the bar to a duty manager who did apologise and say that the terms of the room should have been explained when we were checked in. We weren't offered anything by way of apology or compensation.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerpowdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Ms. Kerpowdee,

First of all, I would like to thank you for being so kind to take your time to trasmit your opinion and to share with others about your experience in Melia Alicante.

We regret to hear that you had some inconveniece during your stay, especially regarding your room. However, please let me to inform you that because of high occupancy rate you were given a superior room for the price of as standard one as initially you had booked a standar room. It is obvious that you were not included all the additional advantages such as a Open Bar in the fifth floor as it is for an exclusive use only for the guests of The Level. However, please accept once again our apologies that our Front Desk staff did not inform you about it and it caused you and your sister some misunderstanding and confusion. Also, please let me to point out that the staff on The Level just was doing its job and did not have any intention to make you feel embarressed.

We are very sorry to know that you left our Hotel with a negative impression and we sincerely hope that you will give us a chance to see you here again and to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

if you can afford it stay on the level, floor 5 , better rooms, better bedding, free bar until 10-30 pm, plus tins of nuts and unlimited fruit and canpes to keep you going through day, the large green apples are superb, took me three sittings to eat it, lol free mini bar in room with kit-kat,cans of beer, coke orange,fizzy and still water in glass bottles, replenished daily, chocolate on pillow when you come in at night, own check in area on floor 5, free english newspaper, great staff very pleasant, this was our 5th visit travelled with teenage son so went for junior suite, small suppliment for 3rd person, got a superb room, more like 2 rooms with walk in wardrobe, double bed (dreamax) plus single bed, 2 tv's, 2 balconies, 2 showers, luxury bedding, went bed & breakfast and had it on the level, although limited choice here it was adequate, never bothered with main breakfast hall, oh, wife & son had free breakfast room service, very nice, came at time requested. building work never bothered us, its on floor 3, marina side gets sun in afternoon, we prefer beach view, your choice, never had problem getting sunbed, i was there at 8-30 and usualy the first, had a great 4 nights with brill weather, go for it, you wont regret it. "THE LEVEL"

Room Tip: marina side gets sun in afternoon. choose the level, its brill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pethar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post your comment in Tripadvisor and in this way to share with others about your experience in Melia Alicante.

All the team of our Hotel, especially The Level staff, is extremely happy and proud to know that you had a wonderul experience during your stay and you enjoyed a lot of our exclusive The Level service.

Please do not doubt that we appreciate a lot all your nice words and this motivates us to work hard day by day and do all the best in offering our constant attention and taking care of each detail of our guests' stay.

We would be more than happy to see you and your family on The Level again, and to have a chance to make your stay pleasant and unforgettable!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,571 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
693 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
848 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#10 of 50 in Alicante
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#3 Family Hotel in Alicante
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: $100 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing