We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool rip off in the middle of a building site”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Bring your hardhat not your costume. We are staying at the melia that is currently a building site. I will upload photos when I return. We have been misled by our travel agent and most annoyingly by the wellness centre where we were told it was 20 euros per person for the whole stay. On top of this you have to purchase flip flops and Swimming cap if you don't already have them. When we went back the next day we were told the 20 euros was for one session only. So I have ended up paying 40 euros plus to swim for half an hour for two people. I specifically booked this hotel as it had an indoor pool in anticipation of bad weather and assuming it would be in the room rate. At £60 per night my advice is to stay at a cheaper hotel as the melia has no inclusive facilities. As they explained the wellness centre with the indoor pool is not part of the hotel it is a separate franchise. When we complained we were offered an upgrade to the level experience room only fo 20 euros per night exclusive of mini bar

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisamEssexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to share with others abour your recent stay in Melia Alicante.

Regarding our facilities, it is stated in our Webpage that there is no indoor pool in our Hotel, but by paying some extra charge you can enjoy of it in the Wellness Center, which is next to Melia Alicante. Despite of this fact, we regret that it might caused you some inconveniece.

All our team hopes to see you here again and in this way to have an opportunity to change your negative impression about us, by offering our attention and best service.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,094 - 2,100 of 4,605 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from another long weekend in gorgeous Alicante.This is our 4th visit to the city but the first time we have stayed at the Melia. On previous visits it has been an adult only affair but on this occasion the children were coming with us.
We were staying on "The Level" as we required a larger room. We didn't use any of these facilities as we were unsure whether we were allowed to as this wasn't explained to us at check in, which isn't a problem but would have been nice. Breakfast was lovely and the view from the breakfast room is just superb - there isn't a better start to the day anywhere. All the staff we encountered were friendly and attentive.

We did however book the Melia as it had an "indoor pool" and with going in February with 2 children we thought that this would ensure activities whatever the weather.

We were surprised then when we learnt that the indoor pool was part of the spa area and if we wanted to use this then there was an extra charge - this wasn't made clear on their website (we booked direct through this) and to be honest we didn't really think it was fair to other "spa" guests to take a 17 month old baby into this area, or to us as this was 11 euros each and we would have to pay for swimming caps and flips flops for all the family - if we had done this and then a small child had started to cause problems it could have been a very expensive 15 minute exercise for us. So that bit was disappointing but overall, great hotel, great location, no surly staff as per other reviews and an absolutely gorgeous breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room on "the level" with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethAmaterasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mrs. Elisabeth,

We are extremely happy to hear that you have chosen Melia Alicante for the fourth time! Thank you a lot for your trust in us as well as your loyalty.

Regarding your comments abour indoor swimming pool, please let me to point out that it is crearly stated in our webpage that you can enjoy of it with an additional charge as it does not belong to our Hotel. However, we are very sorry if this misunderstanding might caused you any kind of inconveniece.

On the other hand, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet and its wonderful views. We absolutely agree with you that it is one of the best ways to begin your day!

All our team wishes to welcome you again soon and to offer our entire disposal for anything you may require.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A Taste of Luxury!!
Personal Booking in Service; Very Friendly, Attentive Staff, Private bar with Delicious Tapas; Wonderful Sea Views; Fantastic Breakfast.

I would highly recommend staying in a 'Level' Room, it is more expensive of course, but for a special occasion it is so very lovely!

Room Tip: One side has the view of the Castle of Santa Barbara, the opposite side has views of the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Freixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Ms. Freixie,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to transmit your kind words regarding your stay in Melia Alicante.

All our team is extremely happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay on The Level and we managed to make you happy by offering an exclusive service and being attentive all the time. Please let me to point out that the satisfaction of our guests is the most important criterion what we consider to be, for this reason we feel very proud that we succeeded to get it with you!

All the team of Melia Alicante, especially The Level staff, would be more than happy to meet you again and in this way to have a chance to take care of each detail of your stay.

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here on a business trip for a couple of days.
Breakfast buffet is very rich and in good quality and the view right out to the sea is a perfect start into the day.
There are always taxis available and it's super situated for a short walk in the evening into the center of Alicante where there are loads of restaurants and bars.
The rooms are quiet, solid, clean and large enough.
The bar has good drinks and its staff is very friendly.
Currently the site is doing some renovation work and this might wake you up sometimes in the morning after 8.00 but in the evening it's quiet and for sure the new entrance construction will make this hotel more attractive again.
The reception staff is terrible: checkin takes a long time and checkout was just a joke. I took very long (more than 5 min.!) and they did not have any interest in a feedback ("how was your stay") nor did they say thank you for spending money with them. Maybe just a bad day from that lady? ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kohlmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Kohlmi,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your time to post your comments and in this way to share them with other Tripadvisor users.

Also, thank you a lot for your nice words regarding our Breakfast Buffet and the rooms. Despite this, we are sorry to hear that you got some negavite impression about our Reception service and its friendliness. Do not doubt that we take your comments seriously what also help us a lot to be in constant improvement.

Melia Alicante hopes to welcome you again soon and in this way to have a chance to offer you an enjoyable stay with us!

Best regards,


Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

this hotel is very nice , good location, easy to go to tram, the beach is very close, the rooms are clean, the breakfast is very delicious, our room had sea view ,fantastic! staff friendly and helpful. many choice restaurants not far to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Algahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Ms. Algahu,

All the team of Meliá Alicante appreciates your kind words about our Hotel! Thank you a lot for taking your time to post your comments.

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet and all the staff of Meliá Alicante made you feel nice during your stay by offering its freindliness and help. We are always more than happy to help to your guests for anything they may need.

Hope to welcome you once again soon!

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We travelled to Spain in May and June of 2009, staying on Las Ramblas in Barcelona, and in Alicante down the coast. The Melia Alicante borders the beach on one side, and the harbor on the other. I had read a review on Trip Advisor that the staff at the desk was not very friendly. I made up my mind that if that was the case, I was going to keep smiling all 6 days until they smiled back. It worked!...and continued to work until the last day. We were checking out, and needed to catch the train back to Barcelona (we drove down, but opted to take the train back. That's another story.) We had to return the beach towels every day, and we were always credited for the return. However, when checking out, we weren't credited for the last return. A different lady I hadn't seen all week was taking care of me. I wanted our receipt to say that we returned the towels, not just her say so. This was taking long, and I was becoming a bit impatient, knowing I had a cab and a train to catch. She handn't been exposed to my "charms(?)" all week, and almoat snarled at me.
The hotel itself is huge, but I was able to convince the reservationist online to give us a room with a view of the beach. What a great room and view! We could see the beach, the promenade, and the fort/castle on the hill. Great photos of that view. Would definitely return.
I had to choose a date below to submit my review, and I chose Feb., 2013, but it was really May-June, 2009.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach, promenade and castle, but the harbor side is also nice, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

In all the name of Melia Alicante we would like to thank you for sharing about your experience with us, which was three years ago! It is really very nice of you to post your comment after such a long time and to remeber about our Hotel.
Please do not doubt that we keep smiling not only at the Front Desk - we smile and are kind to our clients in all hotel, as we want them to feel nice and happy.
We hope you are going to visit us soon and and this way we will be more than happy to have a chance to make your stay unforgettable!

Kind regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is situated in a fantastic location, overlooking the beach one side and the harbour the other, we felt welcomed on arrival, the room was exceptionally clean, spacious and had a balcony over looking the harbour, we felt very relaxed.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mrspotdorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your kind words about Melia Alicante, we really appreciate your nice comments.

We are extremely happy to hear that on the arrival you felt welcomed, this is the biggest goal what we are trying to achieve by our day by day work - the satisfaction of our guests.

Hope to see you once again in Melia Alicante and in this way to have a chance to make your stay enjoyable and pleasant!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,550 reviews
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
689 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
1,320 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#25 of 50 in Alicante
443 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: $98 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing