We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in October 2012 for 4 nights. It's a great hotel, staff friendly. I stayed on a mixture of business and pleasure. The city of Alicante is bustling and easy to walk around. We did not eat at the hotel, because there is so many restaurants close to the hotel. Yes, ok, probably the pool isn't in the best place, but the beach is next door. The beach is very clean and you can go quite far out in the sea as it shelves gently. We had a Junior Suite and chose a high floor based on previous reviews. Chose a sea view, and it was a good choice, especially in the morning when the sun was coming up. All in all a good hotel, with good facilities - toiletries in the bathroom, mini bar, etc.

Room Tip: As other travellers have said - ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueH010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

All our team is extremely happy to hear that you had a nice and pleasant stay with us in October and we appreciate a lot taking your time to write your comment and to share it with other Tripadvisor users.
Also, we are happy to know that you enjoyed staying in our Junior Suite with a sea view. It is not a secret that in Melia Alicante we are proud of having amazing views and we are happy to share them with our guests.
We hope to welcome you again soon and to do our best of making your stay nice and comfortable!

Kind regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    1,542
    595
    191
    94
See reviews for
921
1,911
144
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for long weekend in September 2012.It was a lovely hotel in a ideal location with lovely views and within walking distance for town centre and restaurants,word of warning don't eat on front street as food was garbage better to go streets behind.
We paid extra and stayed in level rooms which was worth it,you have open bar and snacks available morning till night,it's ideal as you can have a few drinks throughout day a few before going out for dinner and few on way to bed ideal.
Hotel has pool with sun beds which was small but fine and spa,never had dinner but food looked okay.
Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Level room are adult only and worth extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simbaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you a lot for your sharing your experience in Melia Alicante with other Tripadivsor users.
All our team is happy to hear that you had a nice and pleasant stay on our The Level floor and you enjoyed by using it's extraordinary service.
We hope to see you back soon in our Hotel and in this way to have a chance to make your stay unforgettable by doing all the from our part.

Kind regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht,Holland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our biggest problem when we go away is that because it is not very often and I can only ask my parents to take the children for a few days before guilt hits us; we tend to choose perhaps a nicer hotel, or more luxurious one at least and the result has been that our 'expectation bar' is now quite high. The Melia's reception of us and subsequent help was first rate. we stayed on 'The Level' and were not disappointed. Free mini-bar was well received and sadly not abused! Facilities were what one would expect, yes, people reserved sunbeds but they were the minority and there were more than enough to go round. Lots of restaurants in the area, lots of shopping and a beach nearby, what more do you want? (And a Great breakfast!) We liked it that much, we're going back this September, something we do not normally do.

Room Tip: Harbour view or sea view, is just personal choice, both lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Osbornes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Osborn,

All the team of Melia Alicante wants to thank you for taking your time to share about your experience in our Hotel.
We are extremely happy to know that you left Melia Alicante satisfied and you are coming back again in near future! These facts make us very proud and encourage to continue working hard day by day and in this way to achieve the satisfaction of our guests, what we consider to be one of the most important criterions.

Recieve kind regars and we look forward to meeting you in September!

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Twelve months from our last visit, we returned to this hotel as we liked its location, room and view. Once again building work was taking place, but we are now aware that hotels will do reburbishment work in the quiet months of January/February. It may have stirred us at 8am but it wasn't really an issue.

We were given a large room although we'd booked a standard room and once again were pleased with our stay. I thought E10 was steep for a Jack Daniels in the bar, but there are so many cafes and restaurants within minutes, you are not tied to the hotel bar, although its service was excellent. Great trip, good hotel, Alicante and its people were lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Sasha,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post your comments and in this way to share with everyone about your recent stay in Melia Alicante.
The whole team of our Hotel is very happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and we hope to have a chance to see you back in a short time!

Kind regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hi. I booked this hotel online using trivago after i had booked my flights. During the process of booking on my ipad i clicked on the wrong arrival date. I realised my error and returned and changed it to the correct date. I then continued on and confirmed my booking by paying by credit card. I then read the confirmation i received and saw that the original incorrect date had been booked even though i had gone back and changed it. I contacted the customer service within 4 minutes to explain this. I had to ring back the following day. I did this twice and was eventually told the booking could not be changed. I was not looking for a refund. I then rang the hotel directly and got through to the hotel reservations manager. As soon as he heard my name he put me onto a assistant. The call centre had just been onto him regarding this. I again explained very nicely to the assstant what had happened and also that this was my third time staying at this hotel and that we are due in alicante again next week. I was told again that the booking could not be changed. I checked in the meantime and the hotel is not full. It is very obvious that there was an error, initially by me and then by the process of booking. The date booked is exactly one month after the date i required. Very few people can afford to throw away 86 euro and i am very unhappy with melia, alicante. I also explained that by not honouring the booking that i was not going to book in at the end of this month but will go else where for the three nights. They must be doing well to turn away customers!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you a lot for taking your time to express your opinion and to share it with others about your stay in Melia Alicante.
We are sorry once again for all the inconveniece you might had regarding your booking as I already contacted you personally regarding this issue.
All the team of Melia Alicante hopes yo see you here again and in this way to have a chance to change your negative impression about us.

Kind regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Really lovely hotel. All staff were really friendly and helpful. Very centrally placed, just 2 minutes walk into town. Breakfast also great with everything you could ask for. Internet in the lounge, wifi didn't seem to work in the rooms (was available) but worked in the lounge. Rooms spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Robio123,

In all the name of Melia Alicante I would like to thank you for taking your time to post the comment in Tripadvisor.
It is extremely nice to know that all our staff made a good impression to you as we always try to do our best of being nice and friendly to all our guests.
Concerning the Wifi in our Hotel, please let me to remind you that you have it availible not only at the lounge, but also in all the rooms. In future, if you have any kind of problem by connecting, please let us know and we will be more than happy to help you to get it work.
We really hope to see you here back soon!

Best regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stay on The Level(top floor)! Free bar with tapas and snacks from morning till evening, and free minibar. Nice rooms. Ours were on the harbourside, but it is also nice to look down at the beach from the other side. Great breakfast!

Alicante was boring, but the hotel was great!

Room Tip: Book on "The Level" It costs a bit more, but is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vigg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you a lot for being so kind and post your coment in Tripadvisor!
Please do not doubt that all the team of Melia Alicante is extremely happy and proud to hear that you had an enjoyable stay on The Level - the floor of our superior rooms with an exclusive lounge.

We really hope to have a chance to see you here soon again and to make your stay nice and pleasant as you deserve!

Kind regards,

Laura Redondo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,441 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
613 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
760 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Property: Melia Alicante
Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing