We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expected to be good and was” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“expected to be good and was”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights recently on a room only basis and was not disappointed. Nice room with A/C and a lovely view of the sea and beach which provided many 'sights'. In a great location for everything Alicante has to offer from the beach to the marina to the old town to the shopping areas and all within easy walking distance. Staff were in general very friendly and helpful with one exception - the girl on the bar on a couple of nights was not so pleasant or friendly and drinks were served with a bit of 'attitude'. Other bar staff were good and pleasant. Would recommend this hotel for the location, room, facilities, friendliness of most staff and price. Some work and drilling going on the basement increased the noise level during the day but it did not interfere as we were out then

Room Tip: if you want a good view get a room on sea and/or beach side as other side looks onto the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    1,446
    563
    175
    89
See reviews for
842
1,785
129
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Had a overnight stay with wife and our two kids. Booked a family room to be able to get the kids asleep and still be able to spend some time.
The hotel is OLD and run down. It was due for refurbishment in the late 60s but they were so busy housing tourists that they decided to opt out and keep the hotel running until it fell apart which is happening now.
Rooms are dirty, floor is dirty, lamps dont work, electrical outlets have dropped out of the wall, balcony doors in BOTH rooms lack any type of lock mechanism and you can just imagine that with a 5 year old. Its a hazard to live in and you cant leave your kids unsupervised for 2 seconds.
On top of that restaurants dont open until 8,30 pm, room service cant supply anything resembling to kid adapted food until that time.
Is it worth the money, no, would I ever consider staying here again, never.
Its a absolute disgrace to call it a Melia hotel. I have stayed in plenty and never have I experienced anything even close to this.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilMAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Recently returned from our all time favourite place in the med Alicante staying at our all time favourite hotel The Melia.
This is a lovely hotel with extremely pleasant staff. We have stayed at the Melia a number of times and would normally give 5 star rating however on this occasion we had a very upsetting experience of sharing our accommodation with " Cockroachs" these appeared on three separate occasions . On reporting to reception we were told housekeeping will attend to it, this did not happen. So to anyone considering staying at this very lovely hotel l would recommend you ask has this problem been resolved!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nosila372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A really good hotel.Central and with easy reach of Alicante for a meal in the evening. The room had a beautiful sea view. The breakfast was brilliant so much choice and very relaxing. All the hotel staff were very helpful. We would go back for a longer stay next time

Room Tip: Go out into Alicante at night and away from the sea front.Lovely restaurants three roads back. Go up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a six day, half board stay at the Melia and have only positive things to stay about this hotel . Great location , convenient for the beach and exploring the city, with very helpful and pleasant staff , We stayed on the level in a marina view room, great if you enjoy evening sunshine on your balcony. Breakfast can be taken in the private level lounge area or in the main dining room . We used the level lounge each day and found the choice of hot and cold food provided was more than enough for us. Dinner with wine was provided in the Terra restaurant with table service. We found the food to be of excellent quality although the restaurant was always on the quiet side with most guests opting to eat in one of the many eateries around the area. The room was spacious and well presented, I did have some minor difficulties with the safe but these were fixed promptly. We asked for an iron and board and this was also provided for the duration of our stay.The private reception on the level was always staffed with friendly people who could not do enough for you in terms of advice and guidance. There were no issues with extending our checkout time by a couple of hours. A really enjoyable stay and we certainly will be going back . The complimentary branded drinks and snacks provided in the level lounge and in the room mini bar also helped to make the stay different.

Room Tip: Rooms on the marina side have afternoon/evening sun, Seaview rooms have morning sunshine Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 501ABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed with my husband for a week. this is a wonderful hotel. lovely breakfast, location excellent and near the beach. downside would be the pool area but this was not a negative for me as i am not a pool person, prefer the beach. the beach in Alicante is wonderful, loved it, cant wait to go back. Hotel staff were very nice, no problem with room. Had a sea view. Room was serviced every day with fresh towels and toiletries. Did not have dinner at the hotel as there are numerous restaurants nearby. Alicante is a lovely city, very much like a small Barcelona, loved it and cant wait to go back. Will stay at the Melia again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishtallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We'd give this a 3 or 4 star rating. The location was fabulous with amazing views on both sides of the hotel. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. There are limited amenities in the hotel itself ( you have to pay to use the next door wellness centre) and the hotel pool and adjoining area is quite small. However, the beach is right alongside the hotel. As is usual for hotels, expect to pay a bit more for drinks, although they did a great offer on glasses of Cava! We must have got a room which was awaiting a refurbishment (seats were ripped and lights hanging off!) but it was clean (mostly) and the view from the window made up for it! Overall the location and in general the overall ambience of the hotel was very good, just felt like it needed a bit of money spending on it to bring it up to the standard it should be. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwavasLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Property: Melia Alicante
Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing