We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to get some nightlife”
Review of X Hostel Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
X Hostel Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a great place for young people who want to get some Alicante nightlife. But probably not for anyone else.

The shared sleeping rooms have the bare necessities. There are lockers for your stuff for 1€, towels for 1€ also. The staff is friendly, helpful and fun and organise night outs which you can join. They know some cool locations.

Almost all the other guests where international people from ages 20 to 30. Most of them are travelling alone, some in small groups. English will be necessary to communicate properly otherwise you risk having noone to talk to.

If you pick a shared bedroom you will probably be sleeping with at least one person that snores loudly. My advice is, to go out with the rest of the people, have fun, and get at least so drunk, you dont care about the snoring anymore.

Theres a kitchen where you can make yourself some food. Common room with computers you can use for free, tabletennis and a large common balcony. A supermarker is just around the block. Lots of places to eat also.

If you want to have some fun, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for X Hostel Alicante
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was in Alicante for 5 nights and stayed at X Hostel. Whether it was organizing a pub crawl or just heading out for some food and drinks, the staff were keen to show everyone a great time. The bedrooms, kitchen and common area are all great. Overall, great experience and plan to return in the summer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Hostel is well situated! Staff Xtremely friendly! Rooms are spacious and nothing to complain bout beds or bathroom facilities. Hostel has lockers in rooms and sells cheap locks in case there is a need for one. Theres a rooftop terrace- perfect for summer days! Hostel arranges tours also by request!
And Xtra special mention for Alfie who gives good advice and tips for what to do and where to go on the days in Alicante and around

Room Tip: Any room- all floors have toilets and shower facilites!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauloissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying at this hostel!! The staff were super friendly and keen to answer all our questions with a smile on their faces...tom and the team took us on great pub crawls. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable, Great location, walking distances to the main attractions. Safe area full of restaurants and cool places to see. Can't wait to stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Babalu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hostel is like place for irritation, I stayed two days though paid for the three days. This was my worst stay during the trip. Lots of noise, unfriendly staff and chilling cold. I couldnt sleep well. They have kitchen but its too old.

This place dont have so many hostel I recommed to choose budget class hotels with breakfast they are good options. If you are travelling in group of 2/3 person you may look for pension or multibed room in hotel.

And by last resort, if you happen to stay here, read all the rules clearly to avoid hidden cost you may asked for at your checkout.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nabin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Granted, this is my first hostel experience, so take this all with a grain of salt.
We arrived at Hostel X and very few of the 9 of us had stayed in a hostel before. We entered into a large room that had comfortable lounge chairs scattered around, a large mattress nestled in a nook, and a ping pong table in the middle. The most striking feature of the common room was that it was covered in graffiti that the staff is allowed to paint when they work there, so it was all very comfortable and gave off a "hey, you can lounge here all day" kind of way.

The rooms were fairly basic- ours was equipped with 5 bunk beds where we were all given a pillow, pillowcase, and a flat/fitted sheet. The bunks were squeeky, but aren't they all? Our room had a window and a fan, so circulation was not an issue at night and the temperature was very comfortable. There were also sizable lockers available for use. Each floor had a bathroom or two, each of which was a distinct layout but all were clean and usable.

The owner of the hostel was very friendly (as well as all of the staff) and told us about a pub crawl where it was ten euros for 3 bars (with a complimentary shot at each one) and a club at the end. We were impressed with how we avoided lines and went to places that seemed very hip and non-touristy. I decided to bail out early, but the people in our group who stayed out said they'd had a great time with the group.

Overall, I was very pleased with this experience. Now, if you're the kind of person who doesn't like conversing with friendly strangers and being a little more outgoing than usual, this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmb1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

...but only if you are up for a wild time! Be warned! The parties, bar crawls and social events they have here are absolutely epic in every way, the folks are really friendly, everyone mingles and the staff are great fun! I was made to feel very welcome and was asked along to all the socials which was great seeing as I was here alone. The staff were really helpful and sympathetic after I was pickpocketed and had my phone and key stolen. They know loads of good places to eat and have partnerships with many bars in town to get discounts (which is both good and bad because they tend to go to and recommend the same places a lot and they may not be to everyone's taste).

On the flip side, if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay then I'd probably not go here. The rooms are nice and clean, the bathrooms are great but the beds are squeaky, the location is very noisy with people parking and riding motorbikes right outside and the party doesn't start until midnight (this is Spain afterall) and usually people stagger in at 5-7am in the morning. The hostel has a rule that people should be quiet after 11.30pm but they don't enforce it as far as I can tell. There is possibly a 3-4 hour window where you may stand a chance of getting to sleep... of course, this won't matter if you are there to party every night! I loved the party nights but I also wanted a quiet night but I found relaxing and sleeping very difficult.

To sum up this place is a great, clean and friendly hostel with an amazing social atmosphere and great party nights. It is not a quiet little place to escape the madness of life! If I came to Alicante again I'd probably spend the weekend here to party like crazy and book a quiet b&b for the rest of the week for balance.

Room Tip: The 10 bed dorm is too much. Go for the 8 bed which is a similar price but the same size room with l...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PotterNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
B&B Hotel Alicante
#24 of 50 in Alicante
425 reviews
Centro
NH Rambla de Alicante
NH Rambla de Alicante
#10 of 50 in Alicante
568 reviews
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Alicante
#19 of 50 in Alicante
263 reviews
Ibis Hotel Alicante
#22 of 50 in Alicante
222 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X Hostel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X Hostel Alicante

Address: Calle Tucuman 28, 03005 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Alicante
Price Range: $23 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only true Backpackers Hostel in the dynamic city of Alicante and the proud winner of the 2014 Certificate of Excellence! X Hostel is strategically located in the heart of the city with supermarket, restaurants, pubs, 24 hour shop, train station, pharmacy, tram stop, and airport bus stop all within a 5 minute walk to the hostel. We are in a quiet neighborhood just far enough from the noise but close enough to walk to all that Alicante has to offer. Alicante has year round warm weather, beautiful sandy beaches, and an amazing and unmistakably Spanish nightlife that is sure to surprise. Join us for one of our weekly pub crawls which takes you on an unforgettable night through the narrow streets of El Barrio, the historic center. Whether you are looking to party, relax, recharge, or meet other travelers, X Hostel Alicante is your destination of choice. We are not your average hostel. We are unique and honored in saying that together with our affiliate and sister hostels located in Bulgaria and Romania we have over two hundred past guests that have an X tattoo. As amazing as that sounds, it just goes to show the bonds, friendships, and memories formed at X Hostel. Tired of the usual holiday? Why wait? Come join the X Hostel family and have the time of your life making new friends. Special features include: ~ Fully equipped self-service kitchen with oven and stove tops. ~Complimentary breakfast served in the kitchen every morning (toast, jam, butter, nutella, coffee, & tea) *Available Nov. thru March Only* ~ Rooftop terrace great for relaxing, having drinks, or simply enjoying the sunshine ~ Large casual common room great for meeting other travelers. ~ Owned and operated by experienced travelers. ~ Free WiFi and Free internet computer usage in the common room. ~ Linen included ~ Book swap ~ Multi-lingual staff ~ No curfew (Reception closes at midnight) Check in: 2:00 PM Check out: 11:30 AM Reception Hours: 9 AM till Midnight (No reception available after Midnight) Credit Cards Accepted Cancellation Policy: Please notify us via email at least 72 hours in advance of arrival date. If cancellation is received within 72 hours of arrival date, you will be automatically charged for one nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your X Hostel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
x Hostel Alicante Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing