We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like hanging out with foreign friends”
Review of X Hostel Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
X Hostel Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More like hanging out with foreign friends”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Granted, this is my first hostel experience, so take this all with a grain of salt.
We arrived at Hostel X and very few of the 9 of us had stayed in a hostel before. We entered into a large room that had comfortable lounge chairs scattered around, a large mattress nestled in a nook, and a ping pong table in the middle. The most striking feature of the common room was that it was covered in graffiti that the staff is allowed to paint when they work there, so it was all very comfortable and gave off a "hey, you can lounge here all day" kind of way.

The rooms were fairly basic- ours was equipped with 5 bunk beds where we were all given a pillow, pillowcase, and a flat/fitted sheet. The bunks were squeeky, but aren't they all? Our room had a window and a fan, so circulation was not an issue at night and the temperature was very comfortable. There were also sizable lockers available for use. Each floor had a bathroom or two, each of which was a distinct layout but all were clean and usable.

The owner of the hostel was very friendly (as well as all of the staff) and told us about a pub crawl where it was ten euros for 3 bars (with a complimentary shot at each one) and a club at the end. We were impressed with how we avoided lines and went to places that seemed very hip and non-touristy. I decided to bail out early, but the people in our group who stayed out said they'd had a great time with the group.

Overall, I was very pleased with this experience. Now, if you're the kind of person who doesn't like conversing with friendly strangers and being a little more outgoing than usual, this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    17
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
1
10
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

...but only if you are up for a wild time! Be warned! The parties, bar crawls and social events they have here are absolutely epic in every way, the folks are really friendly, everyone mingles and the staff are great fun! I was made to feel very welcome and was asked along to all the socials which was great seeing as I was here alone. The staff were really helpful and sympathetic after I was pickpocketed and had my phone and key stolen. They know loads of good places to eat and have partnerships with many bars in town to get discounts (which is both good and bad because they tend to go to and recommend the same places a lot and they may not be to everyone's taste).

On the flip side, if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay then I'd probably not go here. The rooms are nice and clean, the bathrooms are great but the beds are squeaky, the location is very noisy with people parking and riding motorbikes right outside and the party doesn't start until midnight (this is Spain afterall) and usually people stagger in at 5-7am in the morning. The hostel has a rule that people should be quiet after 11.30pm but they don't enforce it as far as I can tell. There is possibly a 3-4 hour window where you may stand a chance of getting to sleep... of course, this won't matter if you are there to party every night! I loved the party nights but I also wanted a quiet night but I found relaxing and sleeping very difficult.

To sum up this place is a great, clean and friendly hostel with an amazing social atmosphere and great party nights. It is not a quiet little place to escape the madness of life! If I came to Alicante again I'd probably spend the weekend here to party like crazy and book a quiet b&b for the rest of the week for balance.

Room Tip: The 10 bed dorm is too much. Go for the 8 bed which is a similar price but the same size room with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PotterNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best hostel I have ever stayed in. Extremely friendly staff, who organized crazy pub crawls, all my stay was awesome! Good location, reasonable prices, everything you might need (e.g. kitchen, beach stuffs). I recommend this hostel to everyone who is looking for a real party hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ágnes O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a great hostel in Alicante. The staff all make you feel like friends all on holiday together! We went for a week in April/May. The weather was good and the nights out were amazing. They even moved their legendary weekly Saturday pub crawl to the Friday night just so we could go along. Will defo be going back!xxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roo_mcmahonon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here with a friend a few months ago, just got on TA and really wanted to write a review.
This hostel was by far the cleanest, friendliest and best hostel I have ever stayed in. To start, the price and location were awesome. Right in the city center and not far from the beach.
The staff were amazing, friendly and easy going. They were so wecoming and eager to get us involved in getting to know them and the other people staying.
The hostel was clean and comfortable, no complaints what so ever, the only complaint was that we had to come home!!!
If you are travelling and looking for a hostel to meet people and have a great time, this is the one, if you are looking for a hostel to chill out and have a good rest, this is the one!!!
Full kitchen available, long stays welcome, roof terrace for the more sociable and smokers then do not have to go outside onto the street.
Next time I am in Spain, I would go out of my way to come back here and meet everyone again, truly the experience of a lifetime, thank you all so much!!!!

Room Tip: any and all were good, bathrooms were new and clean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0ldi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Amazing staff (Catherine Hannah Ieva Claudia) that made our trip in Alicante really cool. They are all available and ready to help at any moment. Rooms are daily cleaned (thanks again the staff). Not talking about the pubrawls (among te best ones), really nice atmosphere in this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvain_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fortunately came across this brilliant hostel and it made our entire trip. After originally only planning to stay for a couple of days, we ended up rebooking ourselves in again and again and again. Such a friendly place, clean and comfortable, amazing night life, easy access to the beach, close to the local supermarket and home to the worlds best staff! Thank you X Hostel for the best week ever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipp127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
B&B Hotel Alicante
#23 of 49 in Alicante
398 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
La City
La City
#22 of 49 in Alicante
159 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#7 of 49 in Alicante
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
613 reviews
Chameleon Hostel Alicante
#28 of 60 in Alicante
57 reviews
Mercado
Hostel Ole
Hostel Ole
#3 of 60 in Alicante
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X Hostel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X Hostel Alicante

Property: X Hostel Alicante
Address: Calle Tucuman 28, 03005 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only true Backpackers Hostel in the dynamic city of Alicante and the proud winner of the 2014 Certificate of Excellence! X Hostel is strategically located in the heart of the city with supermarket, restaurants, pubs, 24 hour shop, train station, pharmacy, tram stop, and airport bus stop all within a 5 minute walk to the hostel. We are in a quiet neighborhood just far enough from the noise but close enough to walk to all that Alicante has to offer. Alicante has year round warm weather, beautiful sandy beaches, and an amazing and unmistakably Spanish nightlife that is sure to surprise. Join us for one of our weekly pub crawls which takes you on an unforgettable night through the narrow streets of El Barrio, the historic center. Whether you are looking to party, relax, recharge, or meet other travelers, X Hostel Alicante is your destination of choice. We are not your average hostel. We are unique and honored in saying that together with our affiliate and sister hostels located in Bulgaria and Romania we have over two hundred past guests that have an X tattoo. As amazing as that sounds, it just goes to show the bonds, friendships, and memories formed at X Hostel. Tired of the usual holiday? Why wait? Come join the X Hostel family and have the time of your life making new friends. Special features include: ~ Fully equipped self-service kitchen with oven and stove tops. ~Complimentary breakfast served in the kitchen every morning (toast, jam, butter, nutella, coffee, & tea) *Available Nov. thru March Only* ~ Rooftop terrace great for relaxing, having drinks, or simply enjoying the sunshine ~ Large casual common room great for meeting other travelers. ~ Owned and operated by experienced travelers. ~ Free WiFi and Free internet computer usage in the common room. ~ Linen included ~ Book swap ~ Multi-lingual staff ~ No curfew (Reception closes at midnight) Check in: 2:00 PM Check out: 11:30 AM Reception Hours: 9 AM till Midnight (No reception available after Midnight) Credit Cards Accepted Cancellation Policy: Please notify us via email at least 72 hours in advance of arrival date. If cancellation is received within 72 hours of arrival date, you will be automatically charged for one nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your X Hostel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
x Hostel Alicante Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing