We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to this place!”
Review of X Hostel Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
X Hostel Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The best hostel in Spain, mostly because the staff were ridiculously good looking and awesome but it's also clean, close to the city centre and beach and caters to a wide range of different people from different backgrounds and age groups. If you do go to Alicante, I can honestly say that going to this hostel is on par with going to Alicante's giant castle, actually this hostel is probably better. If you like to chill out, or party or eat good food and enjoy premium quality service whilst making life-long friends then go to this place. I can honestly say without a shadow of a doubt that visiting this hostel is more worthwhile than re-watching the film Inception after spending months researching what that film is actually about. And trust me, re-watching Inception knowing exactly whats going on is pretty worthwhile. The only downside is eventually you have to leave and go back to your real life, just like in Inception.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robiniho92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 108 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Alicante is quiet in the cooler months but I still had a blast. X hostel is a home away from home. It's Clean & quiet, it has everything you want and need in a hostel. The common room is great for meeting people and there is a terrace on the roof to chill outside.
The staff were fantastic, and always happy to help whether it was booking onward journeys or showing us a great time in town. It feels like a big family. I'd love to come back when the weather is hot!! A fantastic hostel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is by far the best and most unique Hostel I have ever stayed in. It is organized in such a way that all the guests get to meet each other and hang out together through various activities set up by the staff. The staff are awesome and also hang out with all the guests. Each night there are different events set up that all can partake in. The place is safe and clean but offers so much more than that... you will end up not wanting to leave :) Highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

X Hostel... Now I've only ever stayed in one other hostel but I can't imagine they get much better. Everyone is completely sound, from the guests, to staff to management. I really couldn't fault the hostel in anyway...

The kitchen is clean, roof terrace is great, common room is awesome... I just can't emphasise how good it is all round.

On a side note I would like to thank all the girls and Alfie who made my stay awesome - absolute legends - wish you all the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomhicks229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at X Hostel Alicante and would recommend it if you are looking to a lively place to party as well as sleep! The staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you out, they are also very social and will lead you on events each night of the week. Rooms were comfortable and the rooftop terrace is an awesome place to spend the evening! The breakfast was nothing to write home about and they just need to make sure someones available to check you out at 9AM!

Light sleepers dont fear as the party moves on from the hostel early to ensure everyone enjoys their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Te_Tuakana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have just returned from staying at X Hostel...it was amazing! All staff were friendly and helpful, and the organised tapas nights and pub crawls were fantastic. It is perfect for solo travellers as drinks on the roof terrace is a perfect way to meet others. It was clean and had a really good atmosphere. Many travellers I met extended their stay -as it was such a good vibe! It's the best hostel I've stayed in. I will definitely be returning ....to beat Alfie at table tennis :O)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehappycouple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My friend and I were on foreign exchange in England and wanted a break from the weather and went out on a limb and booked a last minute flight to Alicante. We got so lucky choosing this hostel. The people who worked there were so nice and so mellow and it was so easy to get to know everyone. It was the off season while we were there which is why it was so quiet and relaxing (which was exactly what we were wanting) but I'm going back this summer and am looking foreword to the more up- beat summer festivities. The Hostel people put together a really great pub crawl which we didn't go on but that i plan on going on this summer when i go back.
Also everything was really clean, there was a great kitchen, computers downstairs to use and great character all around the hostel. Theres a nice terrace out on the roof which is great because of how hot it gets.
The location is amazing too. its set up from the hectic touristy area but in perfect walking distance from everything to do and theres a supermarket around the corner.
its just a bus and a few blocks from the airport too and only a few blocks up from the train station which is great for backpacking.
Im so glad i stumbled upon this treasure!! Im excited to stay here agian

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,379 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#25 of 49 in Alicante
447 reviews
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#15 of 49 in Alicante
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albahia
#12 of 49 in Alicante
629 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
La City
La City
#20 of 49 in Alicante
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X Hostel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X Hostel Alicante

Address: Calle Tucuman 28, 03005 Alicante, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Alicante
Price Range: $17 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only true Backpackers Hostel in the dynamic city of Alicante and the proud winner of the 2014 Certificate of Excellence! X Hostel is strategically located in the heart of the city with supermarket, restaurants, pubs, 24 hour shop, train station, pharmacy, tram stop, and airport bus stop all within a 5 minute walk to the hostel. We are in a quiet neighborhood just far enough from the noise but close enough to walk to all that Alicante has to offer. Alicante has year round warm weather, beautiful sandy beaches, and an amazing and unmistakably Spanish nightlife that is sure to surprise. Join us for one of our weekly pub crawls which takes you on an unforgettable night through the narrow streets of El Barrio, the historic center. Whether you are looking to party, relax, recharge, or meet other travelers, X Hostel Alicante is your destination of choice. We are not your average hostel. We are unique and honored in saying that together with our affiliate and sister hostels located in Bulgaria and Romania we have over two hundred past guests that have an X tattoo. As amazing as that sounds, it just goes to show the bonds, friendships, and memories formed at X Hostel. Tired of the usual holiday? Why wait? Come join the X Hostel family and have the time of your life making new friends. Special features include: ~ Fully equipped self-service kitchen with oven and stove tops. ~Complimentary breakfast served in the kitchen every morning (toast, jam, butter, nutella, coffee, & tea) *Available Nov. thru March Only* ~ Rooftop terrace great for relaxing, having drinks, or simply enjoying the sunshine ~ Large casual common room great for meeting other travelers. ~ Owned and operated by experienced travelers. ~ Free WiFi and Free internet computer usage in the common room. ~ Linen included ~ Book swap ~ Multi-lingual staff ~ No curfew (Reception closes at midnight) Check in: 2:00 PM Check out: 11:30 AM Reception Hours: 9 AM till Midnight (No reception available after Midnight) Credit Cards Accepted Cancellation Policy: Please notify us via email at least 72 hours in advance of arrival date. If cancellation is received within 72 hours of arrival date, you will be automatically charged for one nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your X Hostel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
x Hostel Alicante Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing